We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great vfm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Bay Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Bay Motel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great vfm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Did a 2.5 week holiday to Canada. This was not the cheapest hotel I stayed in and by far wasn't the most expensive, but I really enjoyed my stay here and consider it the best value for money of all the hotels I stayed in. The owner was really friendly and drove me out to Cyprus Lake so I could walk the Bruce Trail back into town...you wouldn't get that kind of service from a big hotel ! Enjoyed watching TV in the room relaxing in the big leather arm chair, with a few cold beers from the off liscense next door after my 17 mile walk !

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    107
    18
    11
    2
See reviews for
68
161
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Unlike other motels, it is not "dumpy" and is very nice, and very clean. I love the fact that is is environmentally friendly. The people there are so nice. The rooms are very nice, but there is one things that stands out the most for me about the room, the beds. SO comfortable. The mattresses, the pillows, wish I had them at home. Love the motel, and love the location. So convenient, so close to everything!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennieDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
105 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

A very nice by the bay location, with awesome service from Kelly the owner. She even walked us to our room, and answered all our questions. My wife loved the remodeled bathroom! Could have used some A/C, but brought a fan to put in the window for fresh air.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailorjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

been to tobermoey every year for this weekend, for the last 10 years, and by far the best and friendliest place I have stayed. So close to downtown, yet you are away from the traffic...you can be downtown after a 10 minute walk. If your looking for the "sheraton", stay home. This motel felt like a home away from home,or their owncottage/ vacationhome. Staff and management are happy that you opted for their motel. Was I ever impressed to get a thank- you e-mail for staying at their establishment

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathroy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

The Bluebay is a clean, pleasant and comfortable abode which I visit once or twice a year. It is convenient for walking to meals, the staff are most pleasant, the scenery terrific and the country nearby has so much to offer. Singing Sands, Cyprus Lake, Emmett Lake, Halfway Log Dump, Larkwhistle garden, Cabot Head, the Bruce Trail, Flowerpot Island and more are all so close.
My family and I have enjoyed the Bluebay so many times in the past, and the feeling never ebbs. Excellent. Far better than nearby estabishments I've been to, when the Bluebay was booked up.

Room Tip: I like the second floor facing the harbour, but all rooms are very good. The view is better especial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
295 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed at this great motel on the weekend of June 22 to June 24 and we enjoyed the experience. The check-in was quick and the girl at the front dest was very helpful.
The room was on the second floor with a lovely view of the harbour. The two queen beds were very comfortable. The room was spotless! The motel is also in a good location in town as it is right in the center of the activities of shops and the harbour. Most everything in town was within easy walking distance for me. There was a book in the room that detailed all of the local attractions and restaurants. This was very helpful for us.

Room Tip: The second floor gives a great view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KitchenerJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed at the Blue Bay for the "first weekend of summer" celebrations in Tobermory and had a wonderful time. We'd booked the 1st floor corner room with a deck, which was great to sit outside and watch the world go by. The room was spotless and I loved the effort that had gone into the in-room guide to the area, it was really personal and the recommendations were very useful for us, as first-timers to the area. The staff were also very helpful and friendly. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this and hopefully one day we'll be back to sit on the deck and watch the sunsets.

Room Tip: If you want something special, go for one of the luxury rooms with a deck - we had the first floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
1.1 km away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#8 of 12 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 km away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.4 km away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.5 km away
Grandview
Grandview
#12 of 12 in Tobermory
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.6 km away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Motel

Property: Blue Bay Motel
Address: 32 Bay Street | Little Tub Harbour, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tobermory
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Hotel Tobermory
Blue Bay Motel Tobermory, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing