We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bluebay in July 2012”
Review of Blue Bay Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tobermory
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Bay Motel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Tobermory
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bluebay in July 2012”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Hi,
The location is awesome and staff friendly. However they do not have AC and one night we stayed it was really hot. Other motels close by have AC and free continental breakfast for the same rates.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank sbandeWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Innkeeper at Blue Bay Motel, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinions. For environmental and health reasons we have chosen not to install air conditioning; due to its adverse effects on the environment and peoples health we can not condone its use. However, since your stay we have installed window fans to help draw in the cool peninsula air. As our temperatures do not reach that of the city(we sit around 25C with no humidity) and 'hot and muggy' days are few and far between we believe this is the wiser option. Unfortunately we are not equipped to offer a continental breakfast; a fact we make guests aware of when booking should they ask. We hope you find the rooms to be more to your liking on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    118
    18
    11
    2
See reviews for
83
174
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Unfortunately we booked our stay only the night before and could only get one night. However, the room turned out to be "the Harley Davidson" room, we ride a BMW and welcomed the biker friendly setting. Very clean, nicely appointed with freestanding "cadt iron" electric fireplace, flat screen, free wifi, table with two lounge chairs etc. very pleasant and friendly place with perfect view of Harbour. Stay up past dark and watch the Harbour lights. It's a beautiful place.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BMWtourerEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Much better than some 4* hotels. First time at Blue Bay but not to Tobermory. Blue Bay Motel is by far the nicest and cleanest. There aren't too many options in the area if you don't want a cottage so I was happy to find a modern and sparkling, centrally located accommodation. Mini fridge is the typical mini far too small and without freezer for our family but we were offered to keep our ice packs overnight at the reception which greatly helped keeping snacks while hiking/kayaking cool and fresh.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms have view, but all units have outdoor cafe style seating for 2. We enjoyed room #4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWOnt_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Did a 2.5 week holiday to Canada. This was not the cheapest hotel I stayed in and by far wasn't the most expensive, but I really enjoyed my stay here and consider it the best value for money of all the hotels I stayed in. The owner was really friendly and drove me out to Cyprus Lake so I could walk the Bruce Trail back into town...you wouldn't get that kind of service from a big hotel ! Enjoyed watching TV in the room relaxing in the big leather arm chair, with a few cold beers from the off liscense next door after my 17 mile walk !

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Unlike other motels, it is not "dumpy" and is very nice, and very clean. I love the fact that is is environmentally friendly. The people there are so nice. The rooms are very nice, but there is one things that stands out the most for me about the room, the beds. SO comfortable. The mattresses, the pillows, wish I had them at home. Love the motel, and love the location. So convenient, so close to everything!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennieDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

A very nice by the bay location, with awesome service from Kelly the owner. She even walked us to our room, and answered all our questions. My wife loved the remodeled bathroom! Could have used some A/C, but brought a fan to put in the window for fresh air.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailorjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

been to tobermoey every year for this weekend, for the last 10 years, and by far the best and friendliest place I have stayed. So close to downtown, yet you are away from the traffic...you can be downtown after a 10 minute walk. If your looking for the "sheraton", stay home. This motel felt like a home away from home,or their owncottage/ vacationhome. Staff and management are happy that you opted for their motel. Was I ever impressed to get a thank- you e-mail for staying at their establishment

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tobermory
1.1 km away
Big Tub Harbour Resort
Big Tub Harbour Resort
#7 of 12 in Tobermory
108 reviews
0.0 km away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
22 reviews
0.4 km away
Escarpment Heights Motel
Escarpment Heights Motel
#8 of 12 in Tobermory
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Peacock Villa Motel
Peacock Villa Motel
#5 of 12 in Tobermory
97 reviews
0.6 km away
Cedar Vista Motel
Cedar Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Tobermory
53 reviews
0.5 km away
Grandview
Grandview
#12 of 12 in Tobermory
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Motel

Property: Blue Bay Motel
Address: 32 Bay Street | Little Tub Harbour, Tobermory, Ontario N0H 2R0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bruce County > Tobermory
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tobermory
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tobermory
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tobermory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Hotel Tobermory
Blue Bay Motel Tobermory, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing