We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for snorkeling and relaxing”
Review of Melia Buenavista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melia Buenavista
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2012

What a wonderful resort! It's very friendly and a perfect place for having a rest. The staff at the pool bar is incredible and very fast. Oreste, Norge and Noe are very efficent! The lifeguard Raynald took good care of us and he share his best spots for snorkeling near the resort. We felt safe and we enjoyed the magnificience of the underwater world with a lot of fish! It was like swimming in an aquarium. AMAZING vacations!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mario G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto O, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of Melia Buenavista Team, we wish to thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us, and especially about the snorkel.

Oreste, Norge, Noe and Raynal will be very glad to know that their effort and genuine care for our guests is recognized.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience with others, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Buenavista soon.


Sincerely,

Ernesto Osuna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,126 - 1,132 of 2,671 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

This resort is very special but it is different from the other resorts as it is very quiet and is a resort for those who want to relax. If you are looking for active days or lots of entertainment, this resort is not for you. However, if you are looking to relax at the pool or on the beach or meet new people and socialise when and where you want to, Melia Buenavista is perfect.
The resort is far away from the others so the three beaches are populated only by guests. The beaches are not very well groomed and the surf is usually strong but the west beach ("Sunset Beach") is fantastic for walking and every evening champagne is served with music to watch the amazing sunset. The centre and east beach have terrific snorkelling where you can see thousands of fish of every colour imaginable. The wind is always strong in Cayo Santa Maria so you can't always snorkel due to the surf. When you can get in, the experience is superb. There is no rip tide.
The food is the best I've had in Cuba. There were some mediocre meals but the majority of them were good to quite tasty. A warning to those who have stayed at Mexican resorts: the quality is lower and the selection less, but the food is still good (this is Cuba, not Mexico). Our preference is "Los Caribes." Service throughout the hotel is excellent and all staff are friendly, especially if you speak whatever Spanish you may have.
There are no bad rooms. They are all beautiful and conveniently located to everything in the hotel. The outdoor shower is brilliant - a great way to start your day. The bar fridge is minimally stocked and does not come with hard liquor. Hard liquor is sold in the store and the rum is dirt-cheap. The best way to have the bar restocked generously with beer, pop and water is to leave a tip in the fridge - that worked very well for us.
Have the massage - it is AMAZING (and I am not a massage type guy)!
Fishermen: there is excellent fishing from shore.
There are two free internet terminals in the lobby but they are slooowwww.
The hotel did have supply problems. They were all minor when they occured (no sparkling water in the bar, limited wine availability in one restaurant, type of beer available) but the hotel would not cross-transfer commodities between their restaurants and bars. In other words, you might get fizzy water at one bar, but it was unavailable at the restaurant 100 metres away. While the staff dealt with the minor problems that occur during a stay, it sometimes took time or was a bit illogical in resolution. Overall, these issues were minor and did not detract from a terrific holiday - just be aware that they exist and may occur for you - be patient.
Overall, it took us a few days before we became used to the uniqueness of this resort in comparison to the mainstream resorts. Once we did, we realised what a gem it is. It is quiet, friendly and we met many great people from all over the world. I will always remember the sunsets and the long walks on the west beach. If relaxation is what you are after, this resort is a "must." If you want the party life or lot's of trips and beach games, I recommend going elsewhere.

Room Tip: West Beach to watch the amazing sunset from your balcony or ground floor at the east pool so you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Weerobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto O, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write of your recent experiences at our hotel. On behalf of our staff, I thank you for your kind words of appreciation, and your helpful feedback on ways we can further enhance our guests’ vacations.

We do take all our guests’ feedback into strong consideration. Indeed, your ideas are most helpful in guiding us to further improve the quality of our hotel. We invite you back soon as we continue to design and augment activities and events within our hotel that best cater to our clients’ desires.

I look forward to welcoming you again at our beautiful tropical resort. Your input is key to our success.

Best regards,

Ernesto Osuna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed at Melia Buenavista from March 15 to March 22, and it was our first time in Cuba. I cannot say enough good things about this resort.

Food: The dining experience here was great. There isn't much for buffets; only one restaurant has a breakfast buffet (which was amazing) and a lunch buffet. If you don't feel like leaving your lounger at lunch time, you can order "snacks" like pizza, hamburgers and fries to the pool, or grab something from the poolside BBQ. There are no buffets for supper, but the a la carte restaurants lend to the luxurious feel of the resort. There are three restaurants: Los Marinos, Los Navegantes and Los Caribes. Los Marinos serves mainly seafood and has the same menu each night. Los Navegantes also has the same menu each night. Los Caribes has different menus/themes each night. We ate at all three. Although Los Marinos serves mainly seafood, when we told our waiter we didn't eat seafood, they changed the menu entirely to suit us, cooking us pork, chicken and beef. Los Navegantes is more of an upscale place for dinner. When we arrived there was a small trio of musicians playing beautiful music. We ate dinner at Los Caribes a few times, including Mexican night and Cuban night (Cuban night was my favorite). We had Seydel as our waitress for Cuban night, she was the best!! She was so sweet and outgoing. We also hopped on the shuttle twice, once to eat at the Italian restaurant at Melia Las Dunas and once to eat at the Japanese restaurant at Melia Cayo Santa Maria. While it was nice to see what the other resorts were like, we, like many others, couldn't wait to get back to our small and quiet spot. The lobby bar is a great place to socialize with other couples after dinner. The lobby bar also makes amazing cappuccinos.

Atmosphere: the feel of the resort is one of complete luxury, from the marble decor of the air conditioned lobby, to the spacious and beautifully decorated rooms, to the gorgeous gardens tended to by the gardener. We were able to meet the gardener, Armando, and were so glad we did - what a sweet, caring man he is. When my husband told him how much I liked flowers he would cut me one whenever I walked by. The feel at the pool is also very relaxing, with the serene music they play all morning you can just float along in the pool and feel all of your troubles fade away.

Drinks: We spent all of our time at the pool bar and never strayed from our seats there. This bar is tended by Norge, Orestes and Noe. These guys are truly spectacular. You read about them on here but to meet them is a whole different experience: they completely exceeded our expectations. They are so hardworking, friendly, kind and funny. We really got to know them and felt like they were family by the end of the week. To know we were leaving their company was the hardest part of leaving Cuba, and we will be coming back to this resort so we can spend more time with them. The pool bar is #1 and these guys are superstars!

Beaches & pools: the beaches here are so beautiful. There are 3 main beaches: the main beach, sunset beach (where the saxophone is played at sunset), and far beach near Los Marinos. Our favorite beach was the one closest to the pool. The beaches here are more natural, so to see seaweed and mangroves is typical. The snorkeling is great too, although the water was a bit rough to do so. If you want to do some snorkeling I'd suggest going farther down the beach where the small shipwreck is. The water is much calmer there - a better place for those who have never snorkeled before.

Royal butler service: We had Edel and Gerardo and loved them both - they were both so kind and accommodating. If we wanted something to be checked on, they would do so immediately. Upon arrival, Edel walked us to our room, giving us a tour of the resort, and showed us how the features of our room worked. On our first night after dinner we were so exhausted when we got back to the room, only to find that Edel had drawn us a romantic bubble bath with rose petals and champagne! I was so delighted I hopped in the tub and proceeded to fall asleep. Thank you Edel, for letting me unwind!! Gerardo also made us a bubble bath the last day we were there, complete with candles and soothing music. Gerardo was well adversed as to who we were and what our plans were for the week when he arrived, which was very impressive.

Night life: there isn't as much at this resort compared to most resorts, but we did get to watch a water ballet and also took part in the beach party another night, which included music and drinks by the beach while a magician did tricks.

We didn't participate in any excursions, but we did visit Melia Las Dunas and Melia Cayo Santa Maria each once and also rented a scooter at Melia Cayo Santa Maria to drive to Pueblo Estrella, where the shops were.

If you are looking for a quiet and relaxing experience without children, this is definitely the place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ValleyMahoneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto O, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you immensely for taking the time to share your detailed experience with others and for your nice comments about our resort, food, and service.

I am overjoyed to read that: "you cannot say enough good things about these resort".

Serving our guests and making them happy at Hotel Melia Buenavista is the very essence of our resort. We remain dedicated to doing our utmost to meet your needs. Your input will assist all our clientele to experience the magic that is Cuba within the heart of our intimate and relaxing resort property.

Thank you for your kind remarks about our staff. They will be very happy and pleased to read throughout your review. Comments like yours encourage our staff to be better.

If you would like to return, please contact me. I look for forward to welcoming you back to Melia Buenavista very soon.


Best regards,

Ernesto Osuna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Where do i start, just got back this morning & I didn't want to wait to long before writing my review as i didn't want to forget anybody.

Let me just start by saying how amazing this place is, if you have no idea what a king & queen are treated like, you will definitely find out here at this amazing resort.

Rooms are amazing & spacious as you do not feel that you are in a hotel room, it is more like a condo. (Amazingly clean & our maid Mabel was always checking to see if everything was to our liking).

Restaurants are also very clean & very good. Our favorite restaurant was Los Caribes.

The entertainment staff Navi & Lilly are FABULOUS. (CANDELA)

What is there to say about the guys at the CARACOL bar that has not yet been said, the are amazing. they are always looking out to make sure that your are being looked after.
Orestes-Norge y Noe you are the best(CANDELA CANDELA) They do not treat you as a guest but as a family member which is totally amazing.

Our butlers Joel & Alyin, always ready to to help with any requests we had & always went above & beyond the call of duty. AMAZING

I have worked at a hotel & know how difficult it can be to please everybody, but i must make a special mention to Ernesto the hotel manager.
He is the most dedicated young man i have ever met, he makes a point of talking to all the guests making sure they are enjoying their stay & will do anything it takes to make sure you are happy.

Happy employees equals happy management & that is the secret of the success of this GEM of a resort.

NO ES UN ADIOS ES UN HASTA LUEGO muchos besos..

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fome1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto O, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write of your recent experiences at our hotel. On behalf of our staff and myself, I thank you for your kind words of appreciation.

Happy management make happy employes and happy employees makes happy guest. It seems we have the perfect combination.

I look forward to welcoming you again at our beautiful tropical resort.

Ernesto Osuna

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We just come back from Villa Buenavista and have found a real paradise in Cuba. Quite more expensive than the other resorts, but we receive high level personal services in consequence. Every aspects of the place is wonderful; staff is so dedicated and always asking if we have any request. Best room ever had in Cuba, would return there anytime.
The only frustration was to be victim of overbooking (or late check out politics); we just knew about it at our arrival to the Buenavista and were sent to Melia Cayo Santa Maria for the first night.

Room Tip: Better view of the ocean on upper level roomw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto O, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback on our hotel. Let me express gratitude for your taking the time to write about your stay at Melia Buenavista.

I want to apologize if you slept the first night in the neighbor hotel Meliá Santa María and I am very glad that we met your expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you again at our beautiful tropical resort.

Best regards,

Ernesto Osuna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

After 2 days of being at this resort we were planning our next trip back . Everything here was absolutely amazing,my wife is reluctant to write a good reveiw only to keep it our secret hideaway.
The bar staff Orestes,Noe, Norge and Osmany always smiling and happy made you want to stick around the bar all day. But all the staff even the grounds keepers were so friendly and always smiling.
The alacarte restaurants were fantastic, loved the breakfast buffet because always lots to choose from and a special thanks to Belkis for making our morning breakfast so enjoyable with her warm smile and friendly attitude.
Thanks also to our butler Lucas, he made our stay really enjoyable always making sure we had everything we needed.
Good job Ernesto, you clearly care that your visitors have a memorable stay THANK YOU

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto O, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback on our hotel. Let me express gratitude for your taking the time to write about your stay at Melia Buenavista not following your wife wishes. I am joking.

We pride ourselves in offering responsive and caring service to every guest.

In closing, we welcome you back soon to Melia Buenavista. It is our aim to do our utmost to serve our guests and to ensure that we can make your next stay even more memorable.

Best regards,

Ernesto Osuna

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We wanted to get away for a quiet, peaceful vacation during the March Break. Crowds and a noisy environment were not on the agenda and the appeal of an adult only resort got our attention. So, after careful investigation and reading many trip advisor reviews, we decided on the Melia Buenavista. Our expectations were definitely high after everything we had read, so we were not sure what to expect. All previous reviews met our expectations and then some. From our excellent butlers, Chacon and Lucas, to the staff working in the 3 restaurants, the housekeeping, the reception, the lobby bar, the gardeners and of course, the pool bar, Orestes, Norge and Noe, who all assisted in helping make this a wonderful week of peace and relaxation. It was a pleasure to see the hands on approach from the management and seeing Ernesto mingle with the guests and making sure that their needs were all met, is something we have not seen in other resorts.
The natural reserve this resort is set on was interesting in its contrast of manicured areas to natural settings and walking paths that offers a variety of activities. The beaches varied from protected coves to natural spaces that were not manicured. This, we see as a strength of this resort.
We believe that the approach this resort has taken with its restaurants is unique and has to be commended: the choice of breakfast and lunch buffet or a la carte ordering meets everyone's needs. The option for dinner of the 3 restaurants with different theme menus gives everyone the opportunity to try something different, even the pickiest of eaters.
For a new resort, the landscaping is starting to come into its own and you can see that in 3 to 5 years it will be lush vegetation complimenting the rest of the resort.
This was our first time to this resort, but will not be the last. We cannot wait for another opportunity to go and perhaps bring some friends or family with us.


Thanks for everything,
Isolino and Maria

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto O, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Dear Valued Guest Isolino and Maria,

Thank you for taking the time to write of your recent experiences at our hotel. On behalf of our staff, I want to thank you for your kind words of appreciation and for taking the time to tell us of your recent experiences at our hotel.

Serving our guests and making them happy at Hotel Melia Buenavista is the very essence of our resort. We remain dedicated to doing our utmost to meet your needs. Your input will assist all our clientele to experience the magic that is Cuba within the heart of our intimate and relaxing resort property.

Best regards,

Ernesto Osuna

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Santa Maria
5.3 km away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
3,087 reviews
4.0 km away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#4 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,623 reviews
2.6 km away
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
#10 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
4,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Melia Las Dunas
Melia Las Dunas
#8 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
8,344 reviews
225.2 km away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
5,524 reviews
221.0 km away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Buenavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Buenavista

Address: Punta Madruguilla, 52610, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range: $351 - $803 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Buenavista 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located west of Cayo Santa Maria in a privileged ecological environment, and surrounded by beaches and coves. All-Inclusive five-star resort with 105 junior suites and suites, and the Villa "Zaida del Rio." Designed for adults over 18 years. An entire hotel featuring Royal Service. Recommended for couples, weddings, honeymoons and wellness/spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Buenavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Buenavista Hotel Cayo Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing