We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very welcoming all inclusive resort in a glorious location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Buenavista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melia Buenavista
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Yeovil, Somerset
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very welcoming all inclusive resort in a glorious location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We visited in February via a Virgin Holiday and flights. We upgraded to Premium Economy and flew in the bubble of the Jumbo (Boeing 747) what used to be first class and that is just what it was a delightful 1st class trip. Upon our arrival in Havana we went to a hotel Parc Central for the night or so we expected but we were then told our transport for the onward flight to Cayo Santa Maria was arriving at 0330 to collect us. As we had not arrived at the hotel until after 8 PM we did not seem to be going to get too much sleep so you could say our holiday had gone from the sublime to the ridiculous. However we got a few hours kip before embarking a coach for the trip to the local airport about 40 minutes away on the somewhat rough Cuban roads a bit like UK after the frosty winter! The local airport was a joke and the complete opposite from our serene flight over from UK as it was a small building rather like a large garden shed with a customs area with no English speakers who were trying to ask us to pay for a baggage excess in a currency we had had no chance to acquire (namely CUC) as this cannot be bought in advamce of arriving in Cuba! We eventually got a seat on a 40 seater turbo prop aircraft and arrived after 40 minutes more at Cayo Santa Maria's airport again very small but quite cute and pretty and bagge handling was excellent. This is about 20 minutes away from our Melia resort of which the Cayo has several, but the Melia Beaunavista is definitely the best one of this groups offerings. We were welcomed with a champagne cocktail and a very swift and efficient check in before being whisked off to our huge apartment overlooking the sea by our butler (all guests here get allocated at least one we got two who are then able to take turns to give very good cover for the whole of you stay from 0700 to 2300 each day). Unlike some other feedback we have seen our two smart courteous and extremely helpful butlers (Javier and Michel) were always around and seemed to have extra sensory perception as anytime we wanted help one would appear as if by magic. I fully agree with other visitors comments that this resort is not for the activity driven mountain climber, hang-glider, skydiving types looking for thrills, but if you want to relax in a fantastic well managed Caribbean oasis of a resort then this is the one for you. We did notice that the British visitors there were few and far between mostly Canadian (95%) and all I can say is more should come you will not be disappointed. The beach is hassle free no touts whatsoever only the resort waiters offering to bring any drink you want from the full repertoir of international makes unlike other cheaper resorts who only offer local booze. The apartment was well fitted out and easily large enough for the two of us with a bath and outside shower and the delightful view out to sea over the volcanic rock outcrop running most of the way along the sea side of the resort but still leaving considerable amounts of beach to enjoy snorkelling or swimming from. The snorkelling is superb and even have lessons and escorted trips provided as usual all included, even down to providing the equipment. Some exciting fish were seen by some such as Baracuda and the like but no man eaters here so if you like sharks go elsewhere. My wife had an accident when she slipped and hurt her back outside the shower this could have ruined our holiday but an ambulance was called (a doctor and three assistants who arrived within 10 minutes) a pain killing injection was given and the doctor decided X Rays were needed so all into the Ambulance (old but it worked) to the clinic straight in to the X ray department (slightly old fashioned but OK) and to our huge relief no breaks were found. Obviously we had to pay but the whole bill was less than expected and we had insurance anyway. We did not have cash but the resort Director arrived to see we were OK and took control of everything on our behalf even down to arranging for food (we had missed a meal) to be brought to our room and a cash changing transaction to pay the bill via reception staff, I cannot thank him enough for his consideration above and beyond the call of duty methinks (thank you Ernesto).

Room Tip: There are two choices really a pool view or a Sea view do I need to say more? The aircon was excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValandNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, Director General at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We do thank you for your recent visit and more over for your full detailed feedback.

Comments like yours are definitively nice to read and let us know that our hard work achieved our goals.

Thank you for taking the time to share them with other Trip Advisor’s readers.

With Best Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,702
    438
    190
    61
    32
See reviews for
136
1,921
41
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

My wife and I, along with another couple we invited to join us, spent the Ontario March break at the MBV, to start off, I would like to say that is was our second time there (same time last year) and we enjoyed it so much that we wanted to go back and wanted our friends to enjoy what we had experienced. As a group we are all experienced travellers and mainly are interested in adult only/5 star resorts as our first choice when searching out "all inclusives".

The MBV offers a different approach to most resorts, it is somewhat secluded( perfect for long walks of privacy, it is very secure to the point of which, if my wife wanted to go for a long stroll alone I would feel comfortable and not be overly concerned( that cannot be said in most 3rd world environments)and a great place for those who are travelling solo , It is a small resort that brings things to a very personal and comfortable level where you feel the warmth of a small town or Maritime culture (well known to all Canadians) where everyone is friendly and in a good mood but at the same time not too nosey that you feel you are intruded upon.

I will not go on about the obvious things such as rooms ect as this has been told (positively) many times by others and I will say is that it is all true. I rarely visit the same place twice but we enjoyed ourselves so much and were able to escape the "rat race" of society and just unwind..this is where this resort sets itself apart from most of the others, if you are in serious need of charging your batteries, this is the place for you, for those that come to this resort expecting the normal full blown bells and whistle approach, I recommend you keep searching and researching as this is not a place for big excitement or for the 20 something crowd unless you are a mature and relaxed type ( you most likely will be bored as there is no disco, no loud music, no screaming coordinator pool person trying to get you to play group sports ect) but the bonus is you can go do those things at the other melias , party, eat ,drink and come back on the free shuttle and escape back to your shangrila.

The staff and management make this resort completly enjoyable as they truly know what the term "service" means and they do it with vigor and with genuine smiles and don't have the hand out expecting a tip..(tipping to us, is still something that is provided as it is at home, when good service is provided and it is in turn appreciated by the staff).

I would like to thank our new friends from France, Regis and Pauline, Merci beaucoup!, our friends from Coburg, Jeff and Charmaine (see you this summer), our Serbian singing friends from Saskatoon and Vancouver Yurri and his girlfiend Dina and of course our travel budddies Stef/Yvonne for sharing a amazing time together yet once again! and all others that we had the pleasure of spending time chatting over a well poured drink watching the sun go down or over a delicious meal, I hope are paths cross again, maybe even the MBV round 3.
Finally I would like to thanks all staff and management and amazing musicians( I hope you enjoy your nylon guitar strings !!) at MBV for making our trip as complete as the first.

Mucho gratias Ernesto for all of your professional assistance when we arrived we hope you enjoyed the ice wine!!

Room Tip: Room 322 has an amazing view of the sunset upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, Director General at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We do thank you for your recent visit and more over for your full detailed feedback.

Comments like yours are definitively nice to read and let us know that our hard work achieved our goals.

Thank you for taking the time to share them with other Trip Advisor’s readers.

With Best Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We really enjoyed the Melia Buenavista, the only reason I havent given it a 5, is the quality of food. However dont let this stop you from going as it really is heavenly, its just that for our tastes it was very repetive; over-cooked and bland. Most of the other guests (Canadians) seemed to enjoy it, so maybe our British taste buds are different!
Rather than repeat all the lovely things here, I will just summarise & offer some tips, as I find that most useful when reading reviews, rather than a day by day account.

The good things:
The rooms - huge, clean, spacious. Plenty of clothing area (inc hangers). Indoor jacuzzi bath (which they often fill with bubbles & petals); outdoor shower area (great in the evenings under the stars). Free mini bar including champagne, which was a nice touch.

The beaches - white sands and blue seas. Windy & deep on one side and calm & shallow on the other. Lovely snorkelling when not too windy to go in.

The service - as everyone has said you couldnt fault the service at all. Everyone was smiley & friendly, especially the waiters, bar staff and butlers.

The Spa - not cheap but really nice to treat yourself to a couple of massages. They will do it together for you if you go as a couple, which is always nice.

The Drinks - most all inclusives use local drink brands, however here it is all International Top Brands, such as Johnie Walker; Martini; Baileys etc and they werent stingy with the measures either! Unlike in the UK where you get a dribble, here its a positive waterfall! All cocktails were delicious.

The location - as you know its Adults only, so it was mainly couples and friends. Everywhere was lovely and relaxing; quiet by the pool (no screaming kids or fighting for pool seats). Its further along the coast than the other the Melia resorts and I think that's why it works so well.

The not so good things:
The food - as mentioned, we found it rather repetitive and over cooked. The soups werent great.
Music in the dining room - most evening they had local musicians in the diniing rooms, which was fine for a bit, however sometimes they were so noisy, we had to shout at each other across the table just to be heard! If it was for 5-10 mins that's fine, but it went on for the whole hour or so!

Catamaran Trip - marketed as an all day trip (10 to 5), but its actually only 3-4 hours on board. The rest of the time is hanging around the dolphin place; eating in their communal dining hall with a meal of chicken & chips; a sealion show, then finally onto the boat. The boat bit was lovely and the snorkelling was good, although they decided as soon as we set off to have really loud pop music blaring out from start to finish - again, we just wanted some peace & quiet.

Our tips -
Careful of the luggage difference between your main carrier and the internal flights. We saw a couple try and get over charged for a bag, when it was actually fine.

Take beach shoes, as the rocks are too sharp to walk on and if you want to snorkel without fins on, you will need them to cross into the sea.

Do the walk along the beach to the other resorts. Its windy but warm. Also good exercise walking in the deep sand! Good to get a glimpse into the louder, bigger Melia hotels.
Careful of the naturists that occupy the closest end, otherwise you may get an eyeful! :-)

The panoramic bus basically goes from resort to resort, so is handy for that (costs 1CUCpp), but doesnt show you much else.

That's it, hopefully thats been helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel as its got everything most people would wish for if you want special time away with your partner. If you want lots to do, its not for you.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. We had a pool view not a sea view, but dont think we missed out as you can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jpktrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto O, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We heartily thank you for writing this nice review on our resort. It feels indeed very rewarding for us to acknowledge how guests are able to appreciate our efforts to achieve their full satisfaction.

I understand there are certain issues that require some improvement, so we are already working on them.

I hope future travellers will take into account this reliable source of information when choosing the right destination for their next vacation.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you once again in Melia Buenavista so you can enjoy another lovely and relaxing stay among us.

Sincerely,

Ernesto Osuna
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caraquet
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

What a wonderful resort! It's very friendly and a perfect place for having a rest. The staff at the pool bar is incredible and very fast. Oreste, Norge and Noe are very efficent! The lifeguard Raynald took good care of us and he share his best spots for snorkeling near the resort. We felt safe and we enjoyed the magnificience of the underwater world with a lot of fish! It was like swimming in an aquarium. AMAZING vacations!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto O, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of Melia Buenavista Team, we wish to thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us, and especially about the snorkel.

Oreste, Norge, Noe and Raynal will be very glad to know that their effort and genuine care for our guests is recognized.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience with others, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Buenavista soon.


Sincerely,

Ernesto Osuna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
580 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

This resort is very special but it is different from the other resorts as it is very quiet and is a resort for those who want to relax. If you are looking for active days or lots of entertainment, this resort is not for you. However, if you are looking to relax at the pool or on the beach or meet new people and socialise when and where you want to, Melia Buenavista is perfect.
The resort is far away from the others so the three beaches are populated only by guests. The beaches are not very well groomed and the surf is usually strong but the west beach ("Sunset Beach") is fantastic for walking and every evening champagne is served with music to watch the amazing sunset. The centre and east beach have terrific snorkelling where you can see thousands of fish of every colour imaginable. The wind is always strong in Cayo Santa Maria so you can't always snorkel due to the surf. When you can get in, the experience is superb. There is no rip tide.
The food is the best I've had in Cuba. There were some mediocre meals but the majority of them were good to quite tasty. A warning to those who have stayed at Mexican resorts: the quality is lower and the selection less, but the food is still good (this is Cuba, not Mexico). Our preference is "Los Caribes." Service throughout the hotel is excellent and all staff are friendly, especially if you speak whatever Spanish you may have.
There are no bad rooms. They are all beautiful and conveniently located to everything in the hotel. The outdoor shower is brilliant - a great way to start your day. The bar fridge is minimally stocked and does not come with hard liquor. Hard liquor is sold in the store and the rum is dirt-cheap. The best way to have the bar restocked generously with beer, pop and water is to leave a tip in the fridge - that worked very well for us.
Have the massage - it is AMAZING (and I am not a massage type guy)!
Fishermen: there is excellent fishing from shore.
There are two free internet terminals in the lobby but they are slooowwww.
The hotel did have supply problems. They were all minor when they occured (no sparkling water in the bar, limited wine availability in one restaurant, type of beer available) but the hotel would not cross-transfer commodities between their restaurants and bars. In other words, you might get fizzy water at one bar, but it was unavailable at the restaurant 100 metres away. While the staff dealt with the minor problems that occur during a stay, it sometimes took time or was a bit illogical in resolution. Overall, these issues were minor and did not detract from a terrific holiday - just be aware that they exist and may occur for you - be patient.
Overall, it took us a few days before we became used to the uniqueness of this resort in comparison to the mainstream resorts. Once we did, we realised what a gem it is. It is quiet, friendly and we met many great people from all over the world. I will always remember the sunsets and the long walks on the west beach. If relaxation is what you are after, this resort is a "must." If you want the party life or lot's of trips and beach games, I recommend going elsewhere.

Room Tip: West Beach to watch the amazing sunset from your balcony or ground floor at the east pool so you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Weerobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto O, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write of your recent experiences at our hotel. On behalf of our staff, I thank you for your kind words of appreciation, and your helpful feedback on ways we can further enhance our guests’ vacations.

We do take all our guests’ feedback into strong consideration. Indeed, your ideas are most helpful in guiding us to further improve the quality of our hotel. We invite you back soon as we continue to design and augment activities and events within our hotel that best cater to our clients’ desires.

I look forward to welcoming you again at our beautiful tropical resort. Your input is key to our success.

Best regards,

Ernesto Osuna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coldbrook, NS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed at Melia Buenavista from March 15 to March 22, and it was our first time in Cuba. I cannot say enough good things about this resort.

Food: The dining experience here was great. There isn't much for buffets; only one restaurant has a breakfast buffet (which was amazing) and a lunch buffet. If you don't feel like leaving your lounger at lunch time, you can order "snacks" like pizza, hamburgers and fries to the pool, or grab something from the poolside BBQ. There are no buffets for supper, but the a la carte restaurants lend to the luxurious feel of the resort. There are three restaurants: Los Marinos, Los Navegantes and Los Caribes. Los Marinos serves mainly seafood and has the same menu each night. Los Navegantes also has the same menu each night. Los Caribes has different menus/themes each night. We ate at all three. Although Los Marinos serves mainly seafood, when we told our waiter we didn't eat seafood, they changed the menu entirely to suit us, cooking us pork, chicken and beef. Los Navegantes is more of an upscale place for dinner. When we arrived there was a small trio of musicians playing beautiful music. We ate dinner at Los Caribes a few times, including Mexican night and Cuban night (Cuban night was my favorite). We had Seydel as our waitress for Cuban night, she was the best!! She was so sweet and outgoing. We also hopped on the shuttle twice, once to eat at the Italian restaurant at Melia Las Dunas and once to eat at the Japanese restaurant at Melia Cayo Santa Maria. While it was nice to see what the other resorts were like, we, like many others, couldn't wait to get back to our small and quiet spot. The lobby bar is a great place to socialize with other couples after dinner. The lobby bar also makes amazing cappuccinos.

Atmosphere: the feel of the resort is one of complete luxury, from the marble decor of the air conditioned lobby, to the spacious and beautifully decorated rooms, to the gorgeous gardens tended to by the gardener. We were able to meet the gardener, Armando, and were so glad we did - what a sweet, caring man he is. When my husband told him how much I liked flowers he would cut me one whenever I walked by. The feel at the pool is also very relaxing, with the serene music they play all morning you can just float along in the pool and feel all of your troubles fade away.

Drinks: We spent all of our time at the pool bar and never strayed from our seats there. This bar is tended by Norge, Orestes and Noe. These guys are truly spectacular. You read about them on here but to meet them is a whole different experience: they completely exceeded our expectations. They are so hardworking, friendly, kind and funny. We really got to know them and felt like they were family by the end of the week. To know we were leaving their company was the hardest part of leaving Cuba, and we will be coming back to this resort so we can spend more time with them. The pool bar is #1 and these guys are superstars!

Beaches & pools: the beaches here are so beautiful. There are 3 main beaches: the main beach, sunset beach (where the saxophone is played at sunset), and far beach near Los Marinos. Our favorite beach was the one closest to the pool. The beaches here are more natural, so to see seaweed and mangroves is typical. The snorkeling is great too, although the water was a bit rough to do so. If you want to do some snorkeling I'd suggest going farther down the beach where the small shipwreck is. The water is much calmer there - a better place for those who have never snorkeled before.

Royal butler service: We had Edel and Gerardo and loved them both - they were both so kind and accommodating. If we wanted something to be checked on, they would do so immediately. Upon arrival, Edel walked us to our room, giving us a tour of the resort, and showed us how the features of our room worked. On our first night after dinner we were so exhausted when we got back to the room, only to find that Edel had drawn us a romantic bubble bath with rose petals and champagne! I was so delighted I hopped in the tub and proceeded to fall asleep. Thank you Edel, for letting me unwind!! Gerardo also made us a bubble bath the last day we were there, complete with candles and soothing music. Gerardo was well adversed as to who we were and what our plans were for the week when he arrived, which was very impressive.

Night life: there isn't as much at this resort compared to most resorts, but we did get to watch a water ballet and also took part in the beach party another night, which included music and drinks by the beach while a magician did tricks.

We didn't participate in any excursions, but we did visit Melia Las Dunas and Melia Cayo Santa Maria each once and also rented a scooter at Melia Cayo Santa Maria to drive to Pueblo Estrella, where the shops were.

If you are looking for a quiet and relaxing experience without children, this is definitely the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ValleyMahoneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto O, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you immensely for taking the time to share your detailed experience with others and for your nice comments about our resort, food, and service.

I am overjoyed to read that: "you cannot say enough good things about these resort".

Serving our guests and making them happy at Hotel Melia Buenavista is the very essence of our resort. We remain dedicated to doing our utmost to meet your needs. Your input will assist all our clientele to experience the magic that is Cuba within the heart of our intimate and relaxing resort property.

Thank you for your kind remarks about our staff. They will be very happy and pleased to read throughout your review. Comments like yours encourage our staff to be better.

If you would like to return, please contact me. I look for forward to welcoming you back to Melia Buenavista very soon.


Best regards,

Ernesto Osuna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Where do i start, just got back this morning & I didn't want to wait to long before writing my review as i didn't want to forget anybody.

Let me just start by saying how amazing this place is, if you have no idea what a king & queen are treated like, you will definitely find out here at this amazing resort.

Rooms are amazing & spacious as you do not feel that you are in a hotel room, it is more like a condo. (Amazingly clean & our maid Mabel was always checking to see if everything was to our liking).

Restaurants are also very clean & very good. Our favorite restaurant was Los Caribes.

The entertainment staff Navi & Lilly are FABULOUS. (CANDELA)

What is there to say about the guys at the CARACOL bar that has not yet been said, the are amazing. they are always looking out to make sure that your are being looked after.
Orestes-Norge y Noe you are the best(CANDELA CANDELA) They do not treat you as a guest but as a family member which is totally amazing.

Our butlers Joel & Alyin, always ready to to help with any requests we had & always went above & beyond the call of duty. AMAZING

I have worked at a hotel & know how difficult it can be to please everybody, but i must make a special mention to Ernesto the hotel manager.
He is the most dedicated young man i have ever met, he makes a point of talking to all the guests making sure they are enjoying their stay & will do anything it takes to make sure you are happy.

Happy employees equals happy management & that is the secret of the success of this GEM of a resort.

NO ES UN ADIOS ES UN HASTA LUEGO muchos besos..

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fome1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto O, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write of your recent experiences at our hotel. On behalf of our staff and myself, I thank you for your kind words of appreciation.

Happy management make happy employes and happy employees makes happy guest. It seems we have the perfect combination.

I look forward to welcoming you again at our beautiful tropical resort.

Ernesto Osuna

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Santa Maria
4.0 km away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#3 of 13 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,783 reviews
2.6 km away
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
#6 of 13 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,015 reviews
375.1 km away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
370.0 km away
Hotel Playa Pesquero
Hotel Playa Pesquero
#1 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,172 reviews
225.2 km away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 62 in Varadero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,964 reviews
217.8 km away
Paradisus Princesa del Mar Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Buenavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Buenavista

Property: Melia Buenavista
Address: Punta Madruguilla, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Buenavista 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located west of Cayo Santa Maria in a privileged ecological environment, and surrounded by beaches and coves. All-Inclusive five-star resort with 105 junior suites and suites, and the Villa "Zaida del Rio." Designed for adults over 18 years. An entire hotel featuring Royal Service. Recommended for couples, weddings, honeymoons and wellness/spa. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melia Buenavista Hotel Cayo Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing