We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent service - peaceful vacation!”
Review of Melia Buenavista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melia Buenavista
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Oshawa, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, excellent service - peaceful vacation!”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

If you are looking for a vacation spot to just relax and chill out in a nice environment…look no further. We spent a week here Mar 23-30 and loved it. Very zen, very friendly and service oriented. Great atmosphere, lovely people – would return in a flash. Décor was perfect – restrained contemporary yet comfortable and Caribbean in feel. Hard to achieve and we loved it. It was clear that careful thought had been given to the design of this resort and the public areas. I would agree with some that say the vegetation needs to mature – and even in spite of that – it still felt luscious.
Rooms: spacious, well-appointed, lots of storage; beds and pillows are comfortable and furniture is sturdy. We never had a problem (mentioned in an earlier review) getting towels or facecloths. Maid service was always prompt and detailed – thanks Eva! Butler service – fantastic, engaging and made the week so much more special. Huge thanks to Aylin and Joel.
Food: the food was good at all 3 restaurants and the resort has made a genuine effort in food presentation and quality. There was the occasional item that I couldn’t eat, but that was really preference vs food quality. It has been 10 years since we have been to Cuba, so I am not certain if there is an overall improvement with the food – or it is just this resort. (It did feel like this resort was making a bigger effort.) There was not always a ton of food (as people are used to at buffets) but there was always enough. Especially at the a la carte dinners - personally we FAR prefer a la carte dining, so that was a definite plus in choosing this resort. Not sure how the resort would fare for vegetarians however, esp at dinner times.
Restaurants & service: Servers were pleasant and responsive to requests; no issues.
Los Caribes which we really enjoyed 3 nights - esp the Cuban night and really good service by all the servers we encountered. The host/greeter was a little preoccupied and it did feel like we were interrupting his day by asking to be seated. Nice atmosphere and good wine list (see later);
Los Navigantes which we enjoyed 1 night (good but my least favourite for atmosphere, service and food); and
Los Marinos which we really, really enjoyed (seafood….lots of it, and it was good) 3 nights. This was also the restaurant for breakfast and lunch.
Room service: Yes! Genuine all day room service at this resort. Had breakfast a few mornings, a dinner and lunch several times. Food was good and the set up in the room was great. There is a nice mix on the room service menus – the pizza was great. The guys who deliver the room service were fantastic…very friendly and service oriented.
Bar service & beverages: ok, so as a wine drinker – I have very low expectations that any resort in Cuba is going to have wines that we like. This was not bad. The sparkling wines were good – esp the rose. On occasion we could get Chilean wines, which we prefer. As well, in Los Caribes we were able to order from a fairly decent selection of different wines. We did not mind the nominal additional fees for this in order to really enjoy our wine. Really appreciated this option.
The cappuccinos at the lobby/main bar were incredible. Had great service from the bar staff here – esp Leionous (spelling?). Beverages were all good with premium quality spirits. Enjoyed the gin and tonics. Nice port and Sambuca for our after dinner drink.
Spa: Serene and peaceful. Great massage with Carlito.
Pools & beaches: Now we are getting to my favourite part of the vacation. There are 3 beaches – west, central and east. West was peaceful – saw Herons and starfish; had a very secluded spot; nice day. Central beach – quite good snorkeling, lots of coral and interesting topography; just off the main pool. East beach – preferred for the view, and snorkeling is not too bad. Beaches really do need a few more covered beach chairs – more palapas or at least umbrellas. And there is lots of open space to add some. The pools – main one is too busy for my liking. Lots of people hung out there and seemed to enjoy it. The quiet pool was right in front of our room. Loved it. Loved the island. Great bar service from the pool/beach servers.
Finally the manager – Ernesto – is always around. Very talented, friendly and service oriented. As many others have said, this is a small quiet resort. This was the biggest selling feature for us. We enjoyed the environment, company, relaxation and the service. It was a blissful retreat from the pace of our everyday lives.

Room Tip: Pool view room - ground floor...felt like we were walking out to our personal deck & pool. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, Director General at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We do thank you for your recent visit and more over for your full detailed feedback.

Comments like yours are definitively nice to read and let us know that our hard work achieved our goals.

Thank you for taking the time to share them with other Trip Advisor’s readers.

With Best Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,834
    468
    194
    68
    34
See reviews for
151
2,058
46
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This adult-only, small resort provides a high level of service, high grade accommodation, and very good food. Staff went out of their way, with lovely touches, to make our stay memorable. The atmosphere was quiet and restful yet there were activities when we wanted them, that were fun and enjoyable.
It was a great place to relax, unwind and do what we wanted.
We'll come back.

Room Tip: Request sea view or near the 2nd pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, Director General at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We do thank you for your recent visit and more over for your full detailed feedback.

Comments like yours are definitively nice to read and let us know that our hard work achieved our goals.

Thank you for taking the time to share them with other Trip Advisor’s readers.

With Best Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

My Husband and I had the perfect holiday at the Melia Buenavista in February. My only complaint is that it was for only one week. Let's start with Lucas our wonderful butler who on our arrival made sure we were comfortable. He had a wonderful fruit plate and some yummy drinks waiting for us in our fabulous room. After a long trip from Edmonton the treats were very much appreciated. From then on Lucas arranged all of our delicious dining experiences, left bouquets of flowers in our room, made sure we knew of all the amenities available to us and on one occasion drew us a wonderful bubble bath complete with cigar and rose petals. He is such a lovely man and we felt very well 'cared for'. We'll see you in September Lucas! Our room was the largest we have ever had at an "all inclusive". Well appointed and comfortable. Yuleidy our day maid left us little' happy' notes and always made sure our room requests were fufilled. We never met our evening maid but we could tell she was a sweetheart by the way she turned down our bed and left us candies and heart shaped towel art with a sweet good night note.The gardner! We never found out what his name was because I was always so busy smelling and adoring the magnificent flowers he picked for me daily. One morning we were up very early and missed him because he was still in the garden shed gathering his tools. When my husband went to the room later that morning to get the camera we had forgotten the gardner stopped him and gave him a flower so he could bring it to me. I must mention the lifegaurd! Do NOT leave the resort with out going snorkelling with Reynald the life gaurd! The fish are so amazing and he knows where to find them (see picture below)! And people...please DON'T stand on the coral reef!! The waters are shallow and the coral reef is within meters of the beach. The main beach is where the shallow reef lies and we saw many people just standing on the coral not knowing that every step they took was causing the permanant distruction and death a very beautiful living thing. It's very rocky and full of coral. If you want to just wade, swim and float in some really beautiful waters we recommend going just east on the main beach where the Palapa umbrellas are (see the picture below). The water is clear blue and just right for a little swim with a lovely soft sandy bottom and you can still enjoy full bar service! We parked ourselves at the last umbrella one day and were surprised at how many times the bar tender checked on us to make sure we were well 'hydrated'. You are never thirsty at this resort. The service is the best we have ever had. Even the hard working guy who tucked in our towels onto our lounger!! What a treat! This resort is so clean! Mario at the main bar (who makes the BEST cappuccinos by the way) picks up every straw with a tong not with his hands! I saw A LOT of hand washing too. Ernesto the manager is everywhere! He keeps a close eye on every aspect of the Buenavista from the meal service to the rocks that were delivered for one of the gardens to the application of bamboo for the showers and always making sure the guests are satisfied. We went to Cayo Santa Maria to visit and exchange some money. Ernesto was there for a meeting and offered to drive us back to the Buenavista. The man works day and night! And knows every guest! Now about the food....people.... the food was FABULOUS!!!! Seriously! If you are looking for bangers and mash or gravy for your fries stay in your own countries. If you want the most delicious buttery croissants served with cafe au lait, fabulous fresh made thin crust pizza (see picture below) or a delicious grill for lunch or the succulent fresh fish, chicken or beef at dinner then you will be very satisfied.There are also buffets for breakfast and lunch or room service if you prefer. The wine is good and in abundance and the food is more of a mediterranean fare and prepared very well. The musicians are amazing. Please make sure you get to have dinner when the musicians are playing. You won't be sorry. Have I said enough? No..I'm sure I have missed so much and if I have I am sorry. The resort was a perfect get away for us. We found many things to do and many wonderful people to meet. Hi John and Lee! Hi Leanne and Rick! You can be as social or private as you want. If you want to drink and dance on the table tops butt naked and perhaps find yourself on Youtube...you may want to try somewhere else. You'll just get alot of stares from about 200 guests. It's a small quiet resort but the best one ever!

Good Job Buenavista! We'll see you again in September 2012!

Stephanie and Rick - Edmonton, Alberta

Room Tip: We don't think there is a bad room. Ask for the pillow menu!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rickNsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, Director General at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Dear Friends;

Thank you very much for all your comments; we are glad to know that you enjoyed your holidays and we are working very hard to ensure that all our guests feel important and we are glad that you really felt that all the staff took care of you.

We hope see you very soon.

Best regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We just returned from our first trip to Cuba. Lets begin with the resort. From the time of arrival to the time of departure, everything was perfect. The staff at this resort are wonderful. We arrived early morinng and just wanted to lay down for a rest. Our room wasn't ready so they asked us to have breakfast and they would get the room ready. They walked us to the restaurant and were back within the hour letting us know the room was ready. Very quick and efficient. When we arrived at the room we could not believe how much space we had and how very clean it was. Mabel, our maid did a wonderful job each and every day we were there. She worked very hard and kept everything spotless. The staff at the Los Marinos were exceptional, especially Belkis and I wish I could remember his name but they both worked the same section at breakfast and lunch and gave exceptional service. As for the four gentleman at the pool bar, Orestes, Norge, Noe and Osmany, you are the best. Always smiling, happy to be serving and never forgt what you drank. They were the best you could ask for and we are happy to have met such wonderful people. Our butlers, Joel and Aylen, unbelievable. They really do take such good care of you and never excpected anything in return. They make your dinner reservations for you and got you whatever you require. It was a treat to have such great people looking after you. Then there was the gardener, Armando, he was absolutely the happiest person I have ever met. He always took time to shake your hand and say hello and looked after the flowers , etc which were beutiful. Thankyou for the flower, coconut and just being the happy person you are.

All in all, I cannot say anything bad about the resort or the staff. If you want to be pampered and spoiled, this is the resort to go to. The rooms are incredible and the staff unbelievable. We wanted a week of just rest and relaxation and we got it. You could lay around at the pools and still received great service from the bartenders and there was never any really loud music blaring or kids running all over the place. Just great great people visiting who all wanted to do the same, rest and relax.

Further aside from all the great staff, we met some incredible people while we were there. Maria and Isolino, Richard and Susan, James and Beth, Dr. Rhonda, her husband and her wonder parents, and of course Mrs. CEO and Mr. Chief of Police, it was such a pleasure to meet you all.

Once again, thank you to ALL THE STAFF at this great resort.

Room Tip: We were in roon 1611 and absolutely loved it but I don't think there is a bad room there. They t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto O, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you immensely for taking the time to share your detailed experience with others and for your nice comments about our resort.

I am overjoyed to read that your visit to Melia Buenavista was a dream trip and that our staff made you feels welcomed and loved. We will keep on working hard to provide the best of all ourselves. Our goal is always to exceed our guests´ expectations.

Our main commitment is to maintain the high standards you have experienced through consistency training to our staff; of whom we are very proud and believe is the finest in Cayo Santa María.

Thank you for your kind remarks about Armando, Joel and Ayleien. They will be very happy and pleased to read throughout your review. Comments like yours encourage our staff to be better.

If you would like to return for a bit of more pampering, please contact me. I look for forward to welcoming you back to Melia Buenavista very soon.


Best regards,


Ernesto Osuna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, Somerset
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We visited in February via a Virgin Holiday and flights. We upgraded to Premium Economy and flew in the bubble of the Jumbo (Boeing 747) what used to be first class and that is just what it was a delightful 1st class trip. Upon our arrival in Havana we went to a hotel Parc Central for the night or so we expected but we were then told our transport for the onward flight to Cayo Santa Maria was arriving at 0330 to collect us. As we had not arrived at the hotel until after 8 PM we did not seem to be going to get too much sleep so you could say our holiday had gone from the sublime to the ridiculous. However we got a few hours kip before embarking a coach for the trip to the local airport about 40 minutes away on the somewhat rough Cuban roads a bit like UK after the frosty winter! The local airport was a joke and the complete opposite from our serene flight over from UK as it was a small building rather like a large garden shed with a customs area with no English speakers who were trying to ask us to pay for a baggage excess in a currency we had had no chance to acquire (namely CUC) as this cannot be bought in advamce of arriving in Cuba! We eventually got a seat on a 40 seater turbo prop aircraft and arrived after 40 minutes more at Cayo Santa Maria's airport again very small but quite cute and pretty and bagge handling was excellent. This is about 20 minutes away from our Melia resort of which the Cayo has several, but the Melia Beaunavista is definitely the best one of this groups offerings. We were welcomed with a champagne cocktail and a very swift and efficient check in before being whisked off to our huge apartment overlooking the sea by our butler (all guests here get allocated at least one we got two who are then able to take turns to give very good cover for the whole of you stay from 0700 to 2300 each day). Unlike some other feedback we have seen our two smart courteous and extremely helpful butlers (Javier and Michel) were always around and seemed to have extra sensory perception as anytime we wanted help one would appear as if by magic. I fully agree with other visitors comments that this resort is not for the activity driven mountain climber, hang-glider, skydiving types looking for thrills, but if you want to relax in a fantastic well managed Caribbean oasis of a resort then this is the one for you. We did notice that the British visitors there were few and far between mostly Canadian (95%) and all I can say is more should come you will not be disappointed. The beach is hassle free no touts whatsoever only the resort waiters offering to bring any drink you want from the full repertoir of international makes unlike other cheaper resorts who only offer local booze. The apartment was well fitted out and easily large enough for the two of us with a bath and outside shower and the delightful view out to sea over the volcanic rock outcrop running most of the way along the sea side of the resort but still leaving considerable amounts of beach to enjoy snorkelling or swimming from. The snorkelling is superb and even have lessons and escorted trips provided as usual all included, even down to providing the equipment. Some exciting fish were seen by some such as Baracuda and the like but no man eaters here so if you like sharks go elsewhere. My wife had an accident when she slipped and hurt her back outside the shower this could have ruined our holiday but an ambulance was called (a doctor and three assistants who arrived within 10 minutes) a pain killing injection was given and the doctor decided X Rays were needed so all into the Ambulance (old but it worked) to the clinic straight in to the X ray department (slightly old fashioned but OK) and to our huge relief no breaks were found. Obviously we had to pay but the whole bill was less than expected and we had insurance anyway. We did not have cash but the resort Director arrived to see we were OK and took control of everything on our behalf even down to arranging for food (we had missed a meal) to be brought to our room and a cash changing transaction to pay the bill via reception staff, I cannot thank him enough for his consideration above and beyond the call of duty methinks (thank you Ernesto).

Room Tip: There are two choices really a pool view or a Sea view do I need to say more? The aircon was excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ValandNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, Director General at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We do thank you for your recent visit and more over for your full detailed feedback.

Comments like yours are definitively nice to read and let us know that our hard work achieved our goals.

Thank you for taking the time to share them with other Trip Advisor’s readers.

With Best Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My wife and I, along with another couple we invited to join us, spent the Ontario March break at the MBV, to start off, I would like to say that is was our second time there (same time last year) and we enjoyed it so much that we wanted to go back and wanted our friends to enjoy what we had experienced. As a group we are all experienced travellers and mainly are interested in adult only/5 star resorts as our first choice when searching out "all inclusives".

The MBV offers a different approach to most resorts, it is somewhat secluded( perfect for long walks of privacy, it is very secure to the point of which, if my wife wanted to go for a long stroll alone I would feel comfortable and not be overly concerned( that cannot be said in most 3rd world environments)and a great place for those who are travelling solo , It is a small resort that brings things to a very personal and comfortable level where you feel the warmth of a small town or Maritime culture (well known to all Canadians) where everyone is friendly and in a good mood but at the same time not too nosey that you feel you are intruded upon.

I will not go on about the obvious things such as rooms ect as this has been told (positively) many times by others and I will say is that it is all true. I rarely visit the same place twice but we enjoyed ourselves so much and were able to escape the "rat race" of society and just unwind..this is where this resort sets itself apart from most of the others, if you are in serious need of charging your batteries, this is the place for you, for those that come to this resort expecting the normal full blown bells and whistle approach, I recommend you keep searching and researching as this is not a place for big excitement or for the 20 something crowd unless you are a mature and relaxed type ( you most likely will be bored as there is no disco, no loud music, no screaming coordinator pool person trying to get you to play group sports ect) but the bonus is you can go do those things at the other melias , party, eat ,drink and come back on the free shuttle and escape back to your shangrila.

The staff and management make this resort completly enjoyable as they truly know what the term "service" means and they do it with vigor and with genuine smiles and don't have the hand out expecting a tip..(tipping to us, is still something that is provided as it is at home, when good service is provided and it is in turn appreciated by the staff).

I would like to thank our new friends from France, Regis and Pauline, Merci beaucoup!, our friends from Coburg, Jeff and Charmaine (see you this summer), our Serbian singing friends from Saskatoon and Vancouver Yurri and his girlfiend Dina and of course our travel budddies Stef/Yvonne for sharing a amazing time together yet once again! and all others that we had the pleasure of spending time chatting over a well poured drink watching the sun go down or over a delicious meal, I hope are paths cross again, maybe even the MBV round 3.
Finally I would like to thanks all staff and management and amazing musicians( I hope you enjoy your nylon guitar strings !!) at MBV for making our trip as complete as the first.

Mucho gratias Ernesto for all of your professional assistance when we arrived we hope you enjoyed the ice wine!!

Room Tip: Room 322 has an amazing view of the sunset upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, Director General at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We do thank you for your recent visit and more over for your full detailed feedback.

Comments like yours are definitively nice to read and let us know that our hard work achieved our goals.

Thank you for taking the time to share them with other Trip Advisor’s readers.

With Best Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We really enjoyed the Melia Buenavista, the only reason I havent given it a 5, is the quality of food. However dont let this stop you from going as it really is heavenly, its just that for our tastes it was very repetive; over-cooked and bland. Most of the other guests (Canadians) seemed to enjoy it, so maybe our British taste buds are different!
Rather than repeat all the lovely things here, I will just summarise & offer some tips, as I find that most useful when reading reviews, rather than a day by day account.

The good things:
The rooms - huge, clean, spacious. Plenty of clothing area (inc hangers). Indoor jacuzzi bath (which they often fill with bubbles & petals); outdoor shower area (great in the evenings under the stars). Free mini bar including champagne, which was a nice touch.

The beaches - white sands and blue seas. Windy & deep on one side and calm & shallow on the other. Lovely snorkelling when not too windy to go in.

The service - as everyone has said you couldnt fault the service at all. Everyone was smiley & friendly, especially the waiters, bar staff and butlers.

The Spa - not cheap but really nice to treat yourself to a couple of massages. They will do it together for you if you go as a couple, which is always nice.

The Drinks - most all inclusives use local drink brands, however here it is all International Top Brands, such as Johnie Walker; Martini; Baileys etc and they werent stingy with the measures either! Unlike in the UK where you get a dribble, here its a positive waterfall! All cocktails were delicious.

The location - as you know its Adults only, so it was mainly couples and friends. Everywhere was lovely and relaxing; quiet by the pool (no screaming kids or fighting for pool seats). Its further along the coast than the other the Melia resorts and I think that's why it works so well.

The not so good things:
The food - as mentioned, we found it rather repetitive and over cooked. The soups werent great.
Music in the dining room - most evening they had local musicians in the diniing rooms, which was fine for a bit, however sometimes they were so noisy, we had to shout at each other across the table just to be heard! If it was for 5-10 mins that's fine, but it went on for the whole hour or so!

Catamaran Trip - marketed as an all day trip (10 to 5), but its actually only 3-4 hours on board. The rest of the time is hanging around the dolphin place; eating in their communal dining hall with a meal of chicken & chips; a sealion show, then finally onto the boat. The boat bit was lovely and the snorkelling was good, although they decided as soon as we set off to have really loud pop music blaring out from start to finish - again, we just wanted some peace & quiet.

Our tips -
Careful of the luggage difference between your main carrier and the internal flights. We saw a couple try and get over charged for a bag, when it was actually fine.

Take beach shoes, as the rocks are too sharp to walk on and if you want to snorkel without fins on, you will need them to cross into the sea.

Do the walk along the beach to the other resorts. Its windy but warm. Also good exercise walking in the deep sand! Good to get a glimpse into the louder, bigger Melia hotels.
Careful of the naturists that occupy the closest end, otherwise you may get an eyeful! :-)

The panoramic bus basically goes from resort to resort, so is handy for that (costs 1CUCpp), but doesnt show you much else.

That's it, hopefully thats been helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel as its got everything most people would wish for if you want special time away with your partner. If you want lots to do, its not for you.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. We had a pool view not a sea view, but dont think we missed out as you can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jpktrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ernesto O, Manager at Melia Buenavista, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We heartily thank you for writing this nice review on our resort. It feels indeed very rewarding for us to acknowledge how guests are able to appreciate our efforts to achieve their full satisfaction.

I understand there are certain issues that require some improvement, so we are already working on them.

I hope future travellers will take into account this reliable source of information when choosing the right destination for their next vacation.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you once again in Melia Buenavista so you can enjoy another lovely and relaxing stay among us.

Sincerely,

Ernesto Osuna
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Santa Maria
9.7 km away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
1,180 reviews
5.3 km away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
3,019 reviews
4.0 km away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#4 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
#10 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4,271 reviews
2.7 km away
Iberostar Ensenachos
Iberostar Ensenachos
#1 of 1 in Cayo Ensenachos
5,286 reviews
4.8 km away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#6 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Buenavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Buenavista

Property: Melia Buenavista
Address: Punta Madruguilla, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Buenavista 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located west of Cayo Santa Maria in a privileged ecological environment, and surrounded by beaches and coves. All-Inclusive five-star resort with 105 junior suites and suites, and the Villa "Zaida del Rio." Designed for adults over 18 years. An entire hotel featuring Royal Service. Recommended for couples, weddings, honeymoons and wellness/spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Buenavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Buenavista Hotel Cayo Santa Maria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing