We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first time in cuba for seasoned travelers.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria
Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“first time in cuba for seasoned travelers.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Travel date 03/30/2012 to 04/06/2012.

We chose the Melia Cayo Santa Maria for our one year wedding anniversary. After reading tons of reviews, we chose this resort for it's ratings, reviews, price and our travel agents recommendation. We stayed in room # 2026 which is supposed to be one of the updated renovated rooms.

ARRIVAL:

-airport was smooth sailing. Got baggage within minutes
-walk right outside. Travel rep points out your bus.
-$1 beers outside. Partake. It's an 1.5hr bus ride with a washroom inside.
-at bus your provided room keys, bracelets, resort map, and personal info card to hand into check-in upon arrival. ***learn your map on bus*****
-upon arrival you walk yourselves to your room using resort map. If room # is 2026, 20 is your building #.
-baggage will arrive to room about 1-1.5 hrs after arrival. Tip bellboy at least $5.

PROS:

-beach party was fun
-entertainment staff great
-lots of alcohol in drinks
-rum punch great
-room mini bar (3 beers, 1 1500 ml water, 3 pops)
-staff/bartenders amazing. Better than staff in Dominican & Mexico
-size of resort-easy to learn even in the dark
-check in on bus
-beach and ocean are the best yet
-pools and swim up bar CLEAN AND BEAUTIFUL regardless of what others write!!!!!
-weather-not a drop of rain the whole week
-shops-situated between Melia Cayo Santa Maria and Las Dunas were great.
-disco and bowling also in between the two resorts. Disco was $2 entry each.
-Japanese and Italian a la carte were the best


CONS:

- once you arrive at the resort, the location is great, but the drive is long
- buffets were pretty good. Not a large choice, but the food they had was good
-on "a la carte" booking slips, she wrote the nationality of the food not the "a la carte" restaurant name, made it hard to locate the proper restaurant.
-large seniors population
-very very hard bed
-small tub shower
-little to no night life except disco
-had to get up early every day to reserve beach lounger under huts****tip--go down to the beach with your towels late at night to reserve your seats. No one likes getting up early on vacation with a massive hangover.
-french a la carte wasn't the greatest
-70% French Canadians, 25% English Canadians, and 5%Europeans, (Americans still cannot travel to Cuba)

TIPS:

-beach bartenders, Nestor and Yosvany are the best especially Nestor. Ozzy in the poolbar
-convert your Canadian $$ into CUC's at resort bank open at 9am. Conversion rate was not at par with Canadian $$. I think it was $1.037 to our $$.
-bring bubba mugs for the beach. Plastic cups are small.
-bring gift bags for maids. Fem products, hair and makeup, and toiletries.
-bring spf 45. Sun was strong
-bring your own snorkel gear. Watch for huge barracuda
-walk right down the beach. If you go left down the beach, it's on a harsh slant
-if you walk left down the beach, there is a nudist section. Parents with kids beware.
-TIP WELL. ON THE BUS RIDE YOU'LL SEE WHAT I MEAN.


Overall the resort was amazing. Staff were so friendly and courteous. Both of us did not get sick at all. We would recommend this resort to people looking for a quiet, relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: You can request king size bed, floor and building #. Also I emailed the resort manager for special r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scuba-J82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco M, Director General at Melia Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Many thanks for prefer Meliá Cayo Santa Maria and for describe your vacation on
Trip Advisor.

Luggages usually are brought much earlier to the room; when arrive many tourist at the
same time, someone has to wait a little longer.

About your cons:

The trip from the airport takes about 90 minutes and during late evening could be a little
boring, but if it were easier to reach, the nature of the place would not be so wonderful.

We are preparing two big maps with all the explanations about the facilities.

Why have a "large senior population" is a con?
Our main targets are couples over forty and families with children; we recieve many
clients under thirty, but they are daily activities lovers and we have the most complete
sport area of the whole cay.

We changed the mattresses in all rooms and we bought ergonomic ones, thinking in
our customers health. The vast majority of our clients appreciated the change.
I´m Sorry that was not to your liking.

Our tube shower are standard.

Like I have wrote talking about what our customers love, Meliá Cayo Santa Maria
(and all the Hotels of the cay, except may be Meliá las Dunas) don´t have a rocking
night entertainment as a priority.
For those who come to Cuba looking only for that, I suggest La Habana or Varadero.
Anyway, like you said, for the night lovers there is disco in the Pueblo near by the
Hotel, frequented by all young people hosted on the cay and the atmosphere is very busy.

I apologize if the French restaurant was not to your liking.

Cuba is the favorite destination for Canadians, but if you´ll come during summer, you´ll
find people from different places of Europe and South America.

We are glad to know that you have spent a pleasant vacation and we hope to host
you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,652
    1,386
    627
    323
    193
See reviews for
880
2,065
148
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

This hotel is tired, surprised at how fantastic the reviews are as a rule. The grounds are very neglected and have enjoyed much better food in Cuba. The people are wonderful and we had an excellent time, rock hard beds do not bother us! Definitely a lack of music, piano bar closed for renos and the lobby piano closed at showtime. Shows are well done but it is not what you want to do every night. In our opinion they need more staff, one waitress in the grill at times and gardeners almost nonexistent.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor with a view. Corners have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8953250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco M, Director General at Melia Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Many thanks for choose Meliá Cayo Santa Maria and for post a review on Trip Advisor.

In the same way that you're surprised about how many positive reviews we have
received, probably all those who wrote them are surprised by the negative review
you have posted.

The vast majority of guests have appreciated the fact that we have changed the
mattresses in all rooms; for you are too hard.

In all social forums our food is considered the best of the key; that doesn´t mean
that cannot be improved, and I assure you that are very focused on achieving.

About our Entertainment, is correct for our hotel typology: our main targets are
families, adults over 40´s and young customers who prefer daily activities instead
nightly entertainment.
Fun Pub is in renos (will open next week), but we offer the same program in the Lobby
Bar.
Every evening we have live music at the Lobby and in all the restaurants.
Every night we have show at the teather, but we end at 23:00 hrs. (except on Friday
when we have beach party).
This is the Entertainment program that our customers like.
For the night lovers, there is a disco in the Pueblo near by.

About the garden, with the due respect of your opinion, our gardeners are all
unless nonexistent; like every year at the end of the winter, they are working hard
pruning the trees that suffered for the strong winter winds and preparing areas
for replanting flowers and grass.

We are every sorry to know that, despite our efforts, we couldn´t satisfy your
expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vineland, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Once again we returned to Melia Cayo Santa Maria
We had a great vacation. The changes that Marco the general Manager is making are improving the Resort in a very positive way.
The return guest night is becoming a very enjoyable event and getting to eat and socialize with the staff is great. The wall of fame photographs is another nice touch
We have been going to this resort for close to nine years now and Deivy Garcia’s entertainment group is as good now as we have seen in last nine years.
Deivy is the life and sole of the resorts interaction with the guests.
I feel I must mention some staff members by name as they always go above and beyond.
Madeline in the snack bar is breath of fresh air so friendly and attentive, Ozzie on the swim up bar as the same traits as Madeline. We always get great service from Neomi at the beach restaurant. The beach barman Nestor is hard working and very polite, William the gardener who keeps the gardens at the Foyer immaculate. The food and beverage Manager Fernando attentive friendly and a very hard worker is all about guest service.
We see a big change in the food preparation and quality is much improved.
We hope to be able to return in May with friends we have met at the resort and are returning guests also. The large number of returning guests is a true reflection on this wonderful resort.
We hope this review helps you choose Melia Cayo Santa Maria for your next vacation and we are sure we will see you there Happy Traveling

Muriel and David Farrell (Vineland Ontario)

Room Tip: Rooms that are more central towards the beach 17,18,11,10 are good choices on the upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank peppero57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco M, Director General at Melia Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Many thanks for choose Meliá Cayo Santa Maria and for post a review on Trip Advisor.

The Repeat Customer dinner has been devised with the intention of thanking
our most loyal guests and those who choose Meliá Cayo Santa Maria for important
celebrations, like Anniversary or Honeymoon.

Wednesday after Wednesday has been gaining more acceptance and has become one of the most important events of the week.
This has encouraged us to keep improving it: the photos that we are taking during the cocktail will be displayed on the "wall of fame" in the Fun Pub (which we will be open next week, after finishing with renos), as a sign of gratitude to our loyal customers.

Like you said, the arrival of Mr. Kanashiro, our new Executive Chef, allowed us to further improve our food preparation.

Anyway, what really makes the difference in our Hotel is the quality of our Staff and those
you have mentioned are among the best.

It is a great satisfaction for all us to know that Meliá Cayo Santa Maria is still your home
away from home and will be a pleasure to host you again next May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Our group of 20 family and friends visited the Melia Cayo Santa Maria from March 15th – 22nd 2012. The bus ride to the resort is approximately 90 minutes’ long but we found it to be quite informative and entertaining. You travel through several towns along the way and can learn a lot about the local culture from your tour guide.
The resort is brimming with gardens, flowering hedges and trees. You can tell the gardeners take pride in their work by the condition of the grounds. It is a beautiful hotel with amazing beaches and even more amazing staff!!
A special thanks to Marco Mazzucchelli the general manager and his wonderful staff for the great experience we had while at the Melia. They looked after everything from check-in on the bus prior to arriving to all of the À la carte reservations for the entire group at each meal….well done!!
The entertainment was very good in the evenings with an enjoyable show each night as well as a beach party on Friday. Also all of the music provided during the day and early evenings by local musicians was very good.
Everyone enjoyed the food during our stay and found plenty of variety to choose from, whether it was a snack at the 24 hour snack bar or a full meal at one of the many restaurants it was all very good.
The rooms are well appointed and comfortable, with a sitting area, king bed and balcony. They also included a daily stocked mini fridge complete with water, soft drinks and beer.
Enjoy the Melia Cayo Santa Maria for yourself!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the second floor rooms with the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dapa81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco M, Director General at Melia Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Many thanks for choose Meliá Cayo Santa Maria and for describe your vacation on
Trip Advisor.

Receive in advance your requests has helped us, because we have had more time
to at least try to satisfy them.
Being a group, obviously you had certain needs that in high season could not be possible
to satisfy from one day to another.
Write us directly prior to your arrival made ​​our job easier.

We are very happy to know that we fulfilled your expectations and we hope to host you
again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was our first trip to Cuba after my wife wanted to go for four years. I was afraid to go because not so sure of the weather being close to Florida and people saying the food was not that good. Boy was I wrong. We went to the Melia Cayo santa Maria based on the research of trip advisor. We travelled with two other couples as well. I will try to break down my review in sections.
1) Travel to get there
We flew Air Transat in economy and were quite comfortable, try and get an exit seat which has more leg room and seems more spacious. Service on the plane was great and having the movie screen in the seat was great so as to watch what you wanted. Not that long of flight and food was ok. We left Toronto at 6 p.m

2)Arrival
We arrived at the airport approx. 9:15 and customs was a breeze. They also have people taking your luggage off the baggage claim area. Outside they have a beer cart where you can purchase for two dollars canadian. Bus was quite comfortable and sold beer as well. It is a bit of a ride 1.5 hours and you do not get to see alot at this time. Arrival at the hotel was a breeze packages all ready and luggage taken to room. We were in building 10 with an excellent view of the ocean and sunrise

The resort is beautiful. pools are great and plenty of chairs. The ocean is exceelent and water very blue. Were able to go in each day except one day. Very little undertow.

The restaurants we ate at were the meditrainean, japaneese and italian. The japaneese and the italian were excellent, the medetraineane was good. |Service was excellent in all restaurants and food was plentiful. Hats off to the staff at these restaurants who work hard to make your stay pleasant. We wer also invited to a special dinner from the general mangager which included cocktails and entertainment and ended up with a lobster dinner at the beach restaurant.

There is a 24 hour grill and many thanks to Madelaine who was excellent at making sure we were always taking care off. The buffet has food for everyone. If you come away hungry it is your own fault.

The beach bar very good and nester always remembered your name. The looby bar was great to meet before dinner and after before the show. Juan Carlos was an amazing waiter and would never let you carry your drinks to your table.

The staff at this resort always willing to help and could speak english. The gardeners to the maids always willing to say helloi and help in any manner.

This entertainment staff at the pool always willing to get all involved. This resort is a great place to come and relax, no vendors bothering you at the beach.

All staff work very hard to make your stay pleasant. The only complaint that I have is there should be asytrays around the buildings(rooms) so guest dont throw there butts on the ground.

Congradulations to Marco and his staff we will return

Room Tip: Ask for second floor ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank OneStopOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco M, Director General at Melia Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Many thanks for choose Meliá Cayo Santa Maria and for describe your experience on
Trip Advisor.

I think that your detailed review might be very helpful for those readers who are
interested to know about our Hotel.

Our gastronomy has always had a good level, in fact it is considered the best of the key
in most of the social forums, but with the arrival of Mr. Kanashiro, our new Executive Chef,
we further improved.

Many of our Staff Members deserve mention for the care and attention with which they perform their duties, but I´m particularly pleased that you are mentioning Miss. Madelaine and Mr.
Juan Carlos, because they are outstanding.

I appreciate your suggestion about more ashtrays near the bungalows and we´ll work on it.

We are very glad to know that our Hotel excedeed your expectations and that you are
planning another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Messines, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

My husband and I were at the Melia Cayo Santa Maria March 21-28. We had an amazing vacation. yes there were a few minor issues that were rectified right away. Please understand this is Cuba you want the best of the best go to a five star better yet go to another destination. The MCS, has an awesome atmosphere. there is always something going on. you don't have to go anywhere the fun is right there waiting for you. If you want the party all night life the MCS is not for you. oh they party at night the Lobby bar is always busy there is always a show at 10:00 in the theatre. they had a beach party one night, but it's not all night long. We enjoyed the food in the buffet the snack bar and the beach restaurant. The staff were all friendly. It is true that the buffet is really busy for breakfast but if you have a houseful of people everyone wants to eat at the same time you are busy too. We had one day with water pressure problems it was the hottest day of our vacation and it was before dinner so I believe everyone was getting ready at the same time, Once again if everyone showers at home your hot water runs out, It was only for a short time,actually it was so hot the cool water was appreciated. Everyone including the guests we have met are wonderful people. Many of the guests had been there before and several more than once. I have a sea food allergy and it was my choice not to have the a la carte dinners. Everyone we talked with enjoyed them, Anywhere you go for a sun destination vacation will have issues with chairs, Ocean or pool, Get up early and you'll get a chair. Yes some people take advantage and that is unfortunate. It;s not an easy situation to control The only thing we had a problem with was the beach. it was beautiful but due to previous weather conditions a hill of sand had built up along the beach. this was at the other resorts as well, The beach was still full. We chose to stay by the pool and it was beautiful. There is always someone working around the grounds.and everyone takes the time to say OLA They also work hard to keep the mosquito's away. and we never had a problem with any bugs. The best advice I can give is to try the Melia Cayo Santa Maria. If you have a problem the customer service is in the lobby and unless they know a problem exists they can't fix it. The resort has two story villas that are situated around the resort. Only so many can face the ocean the staff tries to accommodate everyone and if you make a request when you book your vacation they will try to fill your request the best they can. You can make some of the people happy some of the time but they really try to make all of the people happy all of the time. I would like to thank the management and staff for making our vacation a memorable one. We'll see you next year. Jocelyn and Lori

Room Tip: Book Early. the view is better on the second level,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank loriannmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco M, Director General at Melia Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Many thanks for choose Meliá Cayo Santa Maria and for post a review on Trip Advisor.

Our daily entertainment program is pretty varied, started at 10: 00 hours, in the pool area and on the beach with many activities. Besides, we have the most complete Sport Area of the whole key.

During evening we have live music in every restaurant and at the Lobby bar.
Six days a week we have live show at the theater, except friday, which is beach party.

The prototype of Meliá Cayo Santa Maria guest, regardless of the age, is a daily activities
lover, enjoy good live music and appreciates being in a place where the Entertainment is active but non-invasive.

For those who like the never ending party, side by side with the Hotel there is a disco.

Despite all our efforts, during rush hours breakfast is a bit crowded in high season;
this is the reason why we offer breakfast at the Snack Bar too.

We have received 150 new sun beds at the end of March, so the number of the chair at
the beach is not an issue anymore.
The practice to leave belongings on the sunbeds without allowing another guest to use it,
is actually very little educated and we are doing our best to erradicate it.

We are glad to know that you´ve enjoyed your stay and are planning another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I know I'm well behind in writing my review since many months have passed, BUT, with another trip since, I can put this Melia resort in better perspective; you see we stayed March break at Ensanachos a neighboring resort, and we are very seasoned Cuba resort vacationers. Melia at the new year was thoroughly enjoyable and and our second stay at this resort. We usually prefer to keep trying new experiences and it was the frist time returning to a resort. There is no question that Melia Cayo is quite well run and at a 4-4.5 star calibre for Cuba. Food had improved over the past trip in variety and preparation care.We have tried again and again at resorts testing the value of A la carte dining verus the buffet. Sadley we continue to find the restaurants trumped up and showey but falling short in dining pleasure. Ensenachos has Melia beat in this department but not by a huge margin. If you are expecting and capable of recognising food quality and quality dining experience, I continue to suggest a pass on the a la carte and simply use the buffett dining room for most evening meals. Melia does hoever have Ensenachos beat with Melias great beachside lunch spot and daily BBQ. Its a great lunch option with lovely setting, at the beach , with good selection and great service. Ensenachos is building such a facility but it wont be ready at this pace until next fall. The beach is very lovely with ample miles to walk, the rooms were clean and well decorated, the service typical of Cuba, warm and friendly with most staff offering a smile and waive to all guests. Where the resort fell short, was in management of space around the pool, which was pretty much committed by guests towels and bags reserving lounges first thing in the AM and never giving up the space despite hours of vacancy. A shame and resolvable with some staff overview so unoccupied space can be reappointed and personal stuff set aside. The Ensenachos resort has such staff management and at first it seems imposing and you will feel obliged to tip for this service; however despite the pool area there being extrememly popular, additional space was always available. Now we certainly don't go to resorts anywhere expecting fine evening entertainment ( I guess we should but years of experience has taught us otherwise). Santa Maria evening entertainment was typical and mediocre. Encenachos was a shocking delight with the hotel performers having hammered out thoroughly entertaining and well above average performances. A couple of evenings included off site performers that really ramped up the entertainment value. Fortunately so; for Ensenachos is otherwise very sleepy with few in sight after 10PM. Santa Maria offers however the adjacent disco and commercial shopping boutique plaza which will allow younger quests and older children much after hour activity.
Melia staff were very energetic and worked hard to generate guest participation, however the level of guest interest was minimal and the creativity of staff in offering such activities was poor. Same old mambo and salsa at poolside with same old music and monotonous repetition. The loud musical entertainment was blasted at the beach and poolside with little regard for guests acceptance. Most we talked to just grinned and beared it while few actually enjoyed it or complained. DJ is so far behind the times with music and appropriatness of choices that this is one disturabnce we could do without for sure. Ensenachos was far more laid back about such matters and tried to generate interest in Beach volleyball, fitness contests, yes and dancing, but in a more delicate and sophisiticated manner. The big difference is Melia staff simply run their show with little awareness of guest response while Enseanachos paid attention and changed tack where required.
My suggestion is Shop pricing differences as cost is relevant to juging differences, then look at Melia as more youth oriented (for an adult resort) and Ensenachos as more suitable to romantic couples and seniors who prefer a quiter more relaxed luxury atmosphere.Melia is one of the best of several resorts on Santa Maria and in the top 10 for all Cuba. Ensenachos is more luxurious overall, and has a very unique private island without other resorts nearby, and more protection from North East winds.

Room Tip: Email the resort a week or two ahead and request an updated room with best mattress. Then follow up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco M, Director General at Melia Cayo Santa Maria, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Many thanks for choose Meliá Cayo Santa Maria and for post a review on Trip Advisor.

It is not my intention, nor do I think ethical, making comparisons with other hotels.

Respect to last December, we have improved in several respects and the
success of this high season is shown.

Meliá Cayo Santa Maria has 5 Thematic restaurants, that during high season
open every evening, more obviously a buffet and a 24/7 Snack Bar,
which is not common for a Hotel of 358 rooms.
This detail clearly explains the importance we place on the dining; besides,
since the arrival of Mr. Kanashiro, our new Executive Chef, has introduced changes
that have further improved the standard of our gastronomic offerings.

In the central area of our hotel are located two big pools, with more than enough space, umbrellas and sunbeds for the number of rooms which have.
What happened during your stay was that, due to strong winds, for several days the guests
preferred to stay, in their huge majority, at the pool area, rather than going to the beach like
usually do.

About our Entertainment, it is varied and much appreciated by our guests; besides to have
two evening shows with off site performers (magician, acrobats and dancers), we have
live music at the Lobby Bar, Buffet and in every Thematic Restaurant.
Obviously, everything can be improved and that is our goal, but Meliá Cayo Santa Maria
customer wants an Evening Entertainment to enjoy, without being obsessive.

Once again, many thanks for your visit and your opinion. It is a pleasure to know that
you have enjoyed your stay and I promise you that your next one will be even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cayo Santa Maria hotels
7.2 km away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#3 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,242 reviews
2.7 km away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#9 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
3.3 km away
Memories Paraiso Beach Resort
Memories Paraiso Beach Resort
#12 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,375 reviews
2.6 km away
Melia Buenavista
Melia Buenavista
#2 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cayo Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cayo Santa Maria

Property: Melia Cayo Santa Maria
Address: Jardines del Rey, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Cayo Santa Maria
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#4 Spa Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Santa Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Cayo Santa Maria 5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an island paradise off the northern coast of Cuba stands the 5- star All-Inclusive Meliá Cayo Santa María hotel, especially designed for families, surrounded by beautiful beaches and lush tropical vegetation. This property (358 rooms) offers facilities for incentives groups and a special wedding and honeymoon program. A perfect complement for an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Melia Cayo Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cayo Santa Maria Hotel Cayo Santa Maria
Cayo Santa Maria Melia
Cayo Santa Maria Cuba
Santa Maria Cuba
Melia Cayo Santa Maria Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing