We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice room, fantastic onsen” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kohantei

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kohantei
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice room, fantastic onsen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Good: Fast email response, one of the open air onsens is fantastic, nice view from room, convenience store is nearby.

Drawback: No vegetarian dinner, no free bus service from JR Toya

============================================

Room stayed: Jap style room with view of Mt Yotei and Lake Toya

Hotel is in front of the lake. Fantastic view from the hotel lobby. Wi-Fi provided at the lobby, so you can surf internet and enjoy the view at the same time.

Front desk staffs are very friendly. One of them can speak English quite well. They have quick response to enquiry email. I am so concern on this because not all hotels I booked in Hokkaido during this trip had replied my email, even though the hotel is grand.

One of the open air onsens has fantastic view. I was lucky to 1st experience the open air onsen when it was snowing, cool!

Room is big (especially I stayed alone). it has good view of Mt Yotei and lake.

Hotel doesn't provide vegetarian menu, so the room rate I paid is considered slightly higher (6500yen including onsen tax, without any meal). Anyway I feel still worth it.

Too bad that no free bus from JR Toya is provided. Although they provide bus from Sapporo, not practical for me to go back Sapporo from Noboribetsu just to take the free bus.

You may take Donan bus in front of JR Toya to Lake Toya bus terminal (320yen). Quite a far distance to walk to this hotel from the bus terminal though. But take it as opportunity to explore the area.

I did take the bus from hotel to Sapporo. It passed by Niseko and Jyozankei. Enjoyable journey because of the nice scenery after snowing.

Never try but you may ask the hotel staff if they allow you to alight at Jyozankei Onsen bus station. Since they response to email, drop them message so that you can make neccessary planning to save cost and time on transportation.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank etherchia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    125
    75
    26
    20
See reviews for
134
46
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Bring along a book and walk around the lake, do some reading, enjoy the sculptures and serenity. We also took the 50 min. boat tour ( Yen 1320) across the lake. That was what we did for this one day trip to Lake Toya (not a big volcano fan. Otherwise, should take the robeway to see Mr Usu).
We followed the instructions on the website and booked their free bus service ( 2.5 hr ride). There is one 15-min stop over for you to use the bathroom , buy some drinks etc. The staff at the special counter at the bus station don’t speak English. But hey, you are in Japan. You know they need to finish their Japanese scripts and greetings. So do let them finish it. They will then give you a paper number tag, showing which bus you will take and which seat you are assigned to. They will then ask you to queue up starting 130pm and they will bring you to the right bus stop. Just follow the crowd.
I never like big resort hotels. But since we want to find a hotel with an excellent lake side view, we chose Kohantei. Everything is what I had expected – excellent view from your room ( of course you need to book a lake side room). In case you are on a budget and book a room with no view, you can still enjoy the view from the lobby. You can walk to the lake promenade directly from the hotel lobby. Their daily summer fireworks ends at end of Sept. At night, everyone wore their yukata and slippers , and enjoy the fireworks at the promenade.
We chose the dinner to be served in our room. Compared with the set dinner at other Japanese resort hotel/ryokan, I must say that the dinner is only so-so. Breakfast is buffet style ( In Japanese, they refer buffet as “biking”, from the word Viking) Again, breakfast is so so.
I do enjoy the serenity at Lake Toya but not really the hotel. If you seldom have the opportunity to use outdoor onsen/onsen in a very natural environment, you will enjoy their public bath on the top floor.

It cost us Yen 13000/night dinner and breakfast inclusive. Similar to many Japanese ryokans , there is no CCN/BBC channel. Wi-fi in the lobby.
From Lake Toya, we went to Josankei by Donan bus ( ~ around 2 hrs) . If you want to know how, do drop me a line.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nammay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

There are many hotels by the side of Lake Toya . Kohantei is one of them. My wife and I was in Japanese Room with en-suite bathroom and on the lake side. The building showed quite sign of age but is well-maintained and very clean. Onsen (public bath) is located on 9th floor with the stunning lake view, and there is outdoor bath also.
Everything was good and we really love our time there. However, one thing that I'd like to point out is that the dinner and breakfast should have been better. It is buffet style and has variety and quantity, but lacks a bit in quality. May be because there are a lot of tour group staying and buffet may suit everyone taste.
There is no shuttle service from JR Toya Station and hotel, but you can board Donan Bus which departs every hour (approximately) and costs 320 yen. And get off at Motomachi bus stop, it's in front of the hotel. You can find timetable at http://www.donanbus.co.jp/bus2/toya_onsen/index.html
It's in Japanese, but you can use Google translate.

Room Tip: Please make a reservation for room with the lake view. It's a lot better than mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank agsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Japanese hospitality has never been better. Located at the end of the entire Toyako stretch, it was initially one of our last choices when planning for our trip. However the experience that I had there was wayy beyond my expectation.

As we cycled from the train station, we had the problem of finding a suitable parking our rented bicycles because unlike Sapporo, there are no bicycle parking areas. The staff offered us to park our bicycles at their parking lot. A first win.

Language is a barrier, but the difficulties were manageable, as the staff was extremely helpful, we managed to find a common understanding amidst a lot of gesturing, bad Japanese and broken English.

The experience in the room was amazing, dinner includes a lot of local specialities, spring vegetables. The tantalizing local flavors are not to be missed. 

Some things to note for a better traveling experience:
Buffet in Sapporo is known as ビーキング(Viking)
The public baths will swap, i.e. Around 2 am, the male baths would become the female baths and vice versa. And it would change again after the morning cleaning at 11.
Buying a ticket in the tourist office could allow the guests to use the onset of other surrounding ryokans.
Ryokans charge by number of nights.
浴衣(yukata) are provided, so are toothpaste ands toothbrushes. Combs, soap, shampoo, rinse, shavers(males), rubber bands(for tying up women's hair) are provided in the baths.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank -Cheng-Hui-__-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

We arrived in taxis from the JrToya railway station to be greeted with the most incredible view from the lobby. On checking in we found our rooms to have the very same views over the lake, and they were very clean and spacious. We were in heaven. We spent two very energetic days walking on the many trails in the area and discovered we could have spent another two nights there and still not doubled up on places and things to see and do. The staff were always polite and helpful and thanked us profusely for not cancelling our trip to Japan after the earthquake and tsunami. In fact we have been getting this message everywhere we have been. It seems that the tourism industry is very badly hit by cancellations, even in areas hundreds of kilometres away from the devastated zone. We enjoyed our stay, were impressed by the inexpensive price of goods in the drink machines and souvenir shop, and found the buffet meals to be plentiful with a reasonable selection from which to choose. Some of us were able to sit in the outdoor spa on the roof of the building and watch the sun setting over Mt Yotei and all of that reflected in the lake on our doorstep.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

Only I can recommend this hotel is for the excellent view from the onsen (hot spring) at the top of the building. It's simply magnificent and you can forget about all the negative and old fashioned style about this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank W_and_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

Our travel agent reserved this hotel for us. When we checked in during the late afternoon, the tour groups also came. Our first impressions of the hotel were bad. Even as we were walking to our room, an old musty smell hit us (presumably from the carpet?). We were shocked that the room was old, very small, with the same musty smell. It is badly in need of renovations. Cigarette smoke filled the air. We had no place to put our luggages. In the end, we put them on top of the armchairs.

There was a good variety at the buffet dinner. However, the big pot they served the miso soup in looked like it belonged to the junkyard! There were many scratches all over the pot, inside and outside. It makes you lose your appetite.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jadewee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Toyako-cho hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toyako-cho hotels
Toyako Onsen
The Windsor Hotel Toya
The Windsor Hotel Toya
#2 of 15 in Toyako-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Hotel Cocoa
#10 of 15 in Toyako-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Toyako Onsen
The Lake View Toya Nonokaze Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Toyako Onsen
Toyako Manseikaku Hotel Lakeside Terrace
Toyako Onsen
Toya Kanko Hotel
Toya Kanko Hotel
#7 of 15 in Toyako-cho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Toyako Onsen
Hokkai Hotel
Hokkai Hotel
#9 of 15 in Toyako-cho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kohantei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kohantei

Property: Kohantei
Address: 7-8 Toyako-onsen, Abuta-gun, Toyako-cho 049-5721, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Abuta-gun > Toyako-cho > Toyako Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Onsen Hotel in Toyako-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kohantei 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and JAPANiCAN so you can book your Kohantei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kohantei Hotel Toyako Cho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing