We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small & average”

Emerald Puteri Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Emerald Puteri Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Sungai Petani
Reviewed 15 November 2015

In terms of location, i think the hotel's location is OK - near 7E, KFC and restaurants. there's one mall behind the hotel. First impression was quite bad as there's no dedicated carpark so we just parked in front of the hotel. We got a room, the bed was OK, clean, and cozy but you quite noisy as you can hear ppl from the next door is talking. Didnt order for breakfast and it was a good decision - when i went down, not many breakfast choices are avaialble :P for room service, you can order the lunch set at only RM12 - for a complete set of rice, chicken curry, vege, sambal fried fish and a plate of fruits (tasty and worth it)

Room Tip: Asked for quieter floor :P
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hajar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2015 via mobile

Stay for 3D/2N, in executive room. Clean and pleasant environment. Restroom is in great condition.
However the management need to check the towel provided, although it is clean, but looks very old with some stitches loosen off.
Overall, it is OK.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
Thank azman690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2015

We booked and asked for large bed and upon check-in were given a small and run-down room. After complaint then we move to a twin bed (they do have a large bedroom but we were to pay extra like double rates due to different category). We asked for that room but they have the right not to give.
Upon check-out my wife wanted to settle first with the receptionist while I waited in the room for the bell man. She was asked to wait until I come down and the room being checked first. THEY DON'T TRUST THEIR CUSTOMER! As if they had lots of food or drinks in the room but actually ONLY HAVE 2 CUPS OF HOT MAGGIE MEE and they are afraid the guest won't pay for that. What a cheap skate to distrust your guest.
This hotel is locally manage and that's why they don't know customer service. The hotel owner should go for a Customer Service 101 course.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rosli23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2015 via mobile

Room quite ok, but, better dont pay for breakfast if u book online, just a plate of nasi lemak n tea.. taste nothing. Its ok cut the buffey breakfast, but must replace with some great food. Zzzzzzzzzzzxzzxxxxxxxxx

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
Thank pajen6610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2014

I paid a premium for nothing.. 4 Days I stayed here but no proper breakfast served. Everything was a shortcut a buffet breakfast hall. Road side stalls serve better breakfast. Swimming pool area was really creepy-situated at roof top of the building next to air-cond chiller. No human traffic at roof top swimming area... way to pool was wet, moldy and very slippery....even if you fall down and bleeding, no body knows. Carpet to the room was really smelly..... no proper lighting at lift area...... parking was another issue. Very narrow turnings in the parking area difficult for long MPVS to park. The hotel website is a over promise but in reality it was not up to par. In room menu also was way too much short cut.... instant noodle, fried stuff ... nothing was impressive in the menu card. Only good thing i had during my stay is a clear movie channel to kill my time.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing main road, very noisy due to traffic... ladies better don't swim a alone at r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Lechman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2014

Clean room & pleasant to stay.
Swimming pool is nice.
Breakfast is delicious. Enough choices.
Wanted to stay one more night, but already full house. So I guess that this hotel should be quite popular.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vvvictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

A small hotel near to the toll plaza and quite a busy street. The hotel is right at the corner to the street and they do not have space/ lobby for the car to drop us. It was raining and we got wet. The checking was smooth. The rooms are clean but have run down feeling to it. The meeting room needs a major overhaul. The carpet was stained and the PA system was not working.
Food is pretty average. Nothing to shout about and nothing to condemn as well for the rates we paid.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PunitaMy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sungai Petani
5.5 km away
Swiss-Inn Sungai Petani
Swiss-Inn Sungai Petani
#6 of 14 in Sungai Petani
87 reviews
0.4 km away
Park Avenue Sungai Petani
Park Avenue Sungai Petani
#2 of 14 in Sungai Petani
91 reviews
0.2 km away
The Pure Hotel
The Pure Hotel
#1 of 14 in Sungai Petani
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
T Hotel Sungai Petani
T Hotel Sungai Petani
#12 of 14 in Sungai Petani
57 reviews
4.1 km away
Sungai Petani Inn
Sungai Petani Inn
#11 of 14 in Sungai Petani
15 reviews
28.3 km away
Urban Inn
Urban Inn
#1 of 3 in Kulim
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Puteri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Puteri Hotel

Address: 50 Jalan Permatang, Sungai Petani 08000, Malaysia (Formerly MS Garden Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Kuala Muda District > Sungai Petani
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Sungai Petani
Price Range: $30 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Emerald Puteri Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Emerald Puteri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing