We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little worn at the edges ..”
Review of Hotel Skansen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Skansen
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bastad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Second time here – and somewhat of a letdown. Still a nice property, but when booking a romantic stay for 2 with spa package, I don’t expect to have two single beds pushed together in the room. The room only featured one towel – but two robes and slippers. Shower head holder was broken, so you had to hold the shower head when showering, etc. Not quite up to par.

3 course dinner was included in our package – and although the food was nice – the service was lacking. Sure the restaurant was busy – but not that busy. Breakfast OK – but at these prices, actually expected a little more than a standard hotel breakfast.

Staff nice all around, SPA nice and we had a great time.

Ill still recommend this property, but its getting a little rough at the edges. Not the first place Ill look for a package next time around.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HansR66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

My parents had given me and my boyfriend a spa package weekend together with them. We got access to the spa immediately even though we arrived more than two hours before check in. The spa facilities were good and varied with Japanese bath, steam sauna, dry sauna, rain showers, cold bucket shower, 32 degree pool, relaxation area and luxurious soap, shampoo and conditioner in the ladies shower. There were clean towels and free cold water and apples. There is also a outdoors "winterbathing" facility with saunas, a hot Japanese pool and a relaxing area with a small bar.

I took the chance and used one of their programmed work out's. Core and stretch. It was decent. Good but with room for improvement. For example, during the stretch part maybe chance the music to something more relaxing than power workout musik.

Included in our package was afternoon tea that will make you burst at the seams. So many delicious things to try. Go early so you still can eat dinner later. We had a three course dinner also included and here the quality fell a bit. The meat was not as tender as one would expect and the service not very attentive. Lovely with the live piano music and singer.

The rooms had everything expected (except for a view) and we had a good night's sleep. The ironing board and iron were so so regarding quality and I wouldn't trust it with my more delicate fabrics but to put a finishing touch on a shirt it's fine.

Breakfast was all you could ever want and with a lovely view.

All in all we had a very relaxing stay eating way to much food.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Everything in and around the hotel is nice and in high quality. The staff is extremely service oriented and positive. Great food in the restaurant
The spa section is nice, but the selection could be better and broader, considering the huge number of guests

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Henrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Skansen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Hello Henrik,

Thank you for your review. If it is the selection of spa treatments you are referring to, we can mention that we've just added a few new once from Elemis to the list, for both women and men.

We are really happy that you enjoyed the food and that you were taken well care of.

Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Skansen for an extended weekend. Beautiful hotel in beautiful surroundings. A very peaceful and relaxing atmosphere fills the place. We went as a couple. Enjoyed the adjacent restaurant, a stroll along the beach, a drink by the fireplace.... What's not to love!! Looking forward to next visit!! Didn't try the SPA.. will do next time!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kidsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Skansen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you so much for the kind review!
I absolutely agree - a stroll on the beach and a drink by the fireplace can be magical.

We are looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Was staying in the area with some friends and they had arranged a trip to the spa for us early in the morning. Spent a wonderful couple of hours swimming in the sea, chatting in the hot tub, sauna, and then more sea swimming. Had worked up an appetite so then had breakfast across at the hotel which was really good. The range of food on offer was substantial and of great quality. Loved being able to make my own waffles! Having read some comments on service, I don't quite get what the problem is. They may be young, and perhaps a bit unpolished in the service style, but they do seem to care about making sure the clients are being looked after, and their character does come through, which to my mind is more important.
So, I could be picky and find fault if I really wanted to, but I was there to relax, and relax is what I did!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank StephenOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Skansen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thank you so much for your detailed and nuanced review.

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and was able to relax.

And hey - those waffles are really good, aren't they?

Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Have frequented this place sine 1997 and unfortunately as the standard of the physical complex has gone up so has the service deteriorated! It doesn't help that the hotel as well as restaurant is staffed to 70% or so with students from the local restaurant school. At their best they are still not professional enough for the prices charged. This time around the trouble started before we arrived with parking hassle where the hotel claimed they had. O parking, which simply is not acceptable. Their parking might be full but then you can fix this somehow. Their suggestion was that we should park 1 km away from the hotel and walk back! When we finally arrived at the hotel the staff gave us attitude about the parking situation and the I had to tell them that a) there were still spots available in the hotel parking since I had observed this, and b) there was parking available on the streets close by as well. After some bickering we got our parking tickets. Then we got incorrect directions to our room, this could of course be an honest mistake. In the room which in it self was nice and clean there was no shampoo, soap or any thing else for personal hygiene. We called the front desk and this was remedied quite quickly. We eventually found the products when we noticed that the toilet wastebasket was missing. We found the waste basket under the sink and in the waste basket the products.
We wanted to use the spa at the hotel, bit were informed that this would be an additional 70 € this on top of the 240€ for the room and 15€ for parking. i.e more than most of the hotels in any of my reviews from Berlin, New York, Verona, Hamburg etc. To say that this was a massive disappointment is to tread lightly. The only thing that keeps this from being 1 or a horizontal - is that the hotel is uniquely situated and the buildings in them self a nice and modern. The morning staff was also very professional and service oriented.

For the dinner se separate review.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Non_Plus_Ultra2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, Informationsansvarig at Hotel Skansen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are so sorry that your stay wasn't satisfactory. Since we don't know your real name, we would really like to hear more about this to understand where communication went wrong.

The booking confirmation should state that spa is additional if you book a room and breakfast. Spa is only included in the price if you book a spa-package.

If you have the time, please contact us via e-mail on our "info-address" so that we can inform us with the specifics of your stay. Refer to this review and undersigned.

Kind regards
George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

I've heard much talk about how relaxing a stay at Hotel Skansen is.
The whole atmosphere is not easy to describe you just have to experience it yourself.
The room we stayed in was clean and with a good view to the sea. The restaurant offered very good courses and the suggested wine menu was perfect paired.
The spa was also great, placed perfectly with a view to the sea.
If you want to go outside a visit to Hovs Haller is really worth it.
For cyclists the area offers both easy and harder rides.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building is preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bastad
2 km away
Hotel Riviera Strand
Hotel Riviera Strand
#1 of 4 in Bastad
143 reviews
24.3 km away
Hotel Rusthallargarden
27.2 km away
Hotel Kullaberg
Hotel Kullaberg
#1 of 2 in Molle
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.8 km away
Hotell Erikslund
Hotell Erikslund
#1 of 2 in Angelholm
109 reviews
24.7 km away
Hotel Tylosand
Hotel Tylosand
#3 of 12 in Halmstad
487 reviews
1.8 km away
Pensionat Enehall
Pensionat Enehall
#3 of 4 in Bastad
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Skansen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Skansen

Address: 2 Kyrkogatan | Bastad, Bastad 269 33, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Bastad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bastad
Price Range: $298 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Skansen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Skansen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing