We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveller rating
197
168
57
19
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
168
57
19
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbath housecourse dinnercold bathconference facilities areincluded in our packagenice restaurantgreat sparelaxing areathe congressspa packageonly negative thingbeautiful hotelromantic getawayfantastic foodbeautiful surroundingsspa accesssingle bed
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 449 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile

My parents had given me and my boyfriend a spa package weekend together with them. We got access to the spa immediately even though we arrived more than two hours before check in. The spa facilities were good and varied with Japanese bath, steam sauna, dry sauna, rain showers, cold bucket shower, 32 degree pool, relaxation area and luxurious soap, shampoo and conditioner in the ladies shower. There were clean towels and free cold water and apples. There is also a outdoors "winterbathing" facility with saunas, a hot Japanese pool and a relaxing area with a small bar.

I took the chance and used one of their programmed work out's. Core and stretch. It was decent. Good but with room for improvement. For example, during the stretch part maybe chance the music to something more relaxing than power workout musik.

Included in our package was afternoon tea that will make you burst at the seams. So many delicious things to try. Go early so you still can eat dinner later. We had a three course dinner also included and here the quality fell a bit. The meat was not as tender as one would expect and the service not very attentive. Lovely with the live piano music and singer.

The rooms had everything expected (except for a view) and we had a good night's sleep. The ironing board and iron were so so regarding quality and I wouldn't trust it with my more delicate fabrics but to put a finishing touch on a shirt it's fine.

Breakfast was all you could ever want and with a lovely view.

All in all we had a very relaxing stay eating way to much food.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

Everything in and around the hotel is nice and in high quality. The staff is extremely service oriented and positive. Great food in the restaurant
The spa section is nice, but the selection could be better and broader, considering the huge number of guests

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Henrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Skansen, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Hello Henrik,

Thank you for your review. If it is the selection of spa treatments you are referring to, we can mention that we've just added a few new once from Elemis to the list, for both women and men.

We are really happy that you enjoyed the food and that you were taken well care of.

Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Skansen for an extended weekend. Beautiful hotel in beautiful surroundings. A very peaceful and relaxing atmosphere fills the place. We went as a couple. Enjoyed the adjacent restaurant, a stroll along the beach, a drink by the fireplace.... What's not to love!! Looking forward to next visit!! Didn't try the SPA.. will do next time!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kidsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Skansen, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Thank you so much for the kind review!
I absolutely agree - a stroll on the beach and a drink by the fireplace can be magical.

We are looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2017 via mobile

Was staying in the area with some friends and they had arranged a trip to the spa for us early in the morning. Spent a wonderful couple of hours swimming in the sea, chatting in the hot tub, sauna, and then more sea swimming. Had worked up an appetite so then had breakfast across at the hotel which was really good. The range of food on offer was substantial and of great quality. Loved being able to make my own waffles! Having read some comments on service, I don't quite get what the problem is. They may be young, and perhaps a bit unpolished in the service style, but they do seem to care about making sure the clients are being looked after, and their character does come through, which to my mind is more important.
So, I could be picky and find fault if I really wanted to, but I was there to relax, and relax is what I did!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank StephenOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Skansen, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2017

Thank you so much for your detailed and nuanced review.

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and was able to relax.

And hey - those waffles are really good, aren't they?

Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile

Have frequented this place sine 1997 and unfortunately as the standard of the physical complex has gone up so has the service deteriorated! It doesn't help that the hotel as well as restaurant is staffed to 70% or so with students from the local restaurant school. At their best they are still not professional enough for the prices charged. This time around the trouble started before we arrived with parking hassle where the hotel claimed they had. O parking, which simply is not acceptable. Their parking might be full but then you can fix this somehow. Their suggestion was that we should park 1 km away from the hotel and walk back! When we finally arrived at the hotel the staff gave us attitude about the parking situation and the I had to tell them that a) there were still spots available in the hotel parking since I had observed this, and b) there was parking available on the streets close by as well. After some bickering we got our parking tickets. Then we got incorrect directions to our room, this could of course be an honest mistake. In the room which in it self was nice and clean there was no shampoo, soap or any thing else for personal hygiene. We called the front desk and this was remedied quite quickly. We eventually found the products when we noticed that the toilet wastebasket was missing. We found the waste basket under the sink and in the waste basket the products.
We wanted to use the spa at the hotel, bit were informed that this would be an additional 70 € this on top of the 240€ for the room and 15€ for parking. i.e more than most of the hotels in any of my reviews from Berlin, New York, Verona, Hamburg etc. To say that this was a massive disappointment is to tread lightly. The only thing that keeps this from being 1 or a horizontal - is that the hotel is uniquely situated and the buildings in them self a nice and modern. The morning staff was also very professional and service oriented.

For the dinner se separate review.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Non_Plus_Ultra2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George A, Informationsansvarig at Hotel Skansen, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2017

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are so sorry that your stay wasn't satisfactory. Since we don't know your real name, we would really like to hear more about this to understand where communication went wrong.

The booking confirmation should state that spa is additional if you book a room and breakfast. Spa is only included in the price if you book a spa-package.

If you have the time, please contact us via e-mail on our "info-address" so that we can inform us with the specifics of your stay. Refer to this review and undersigned.

Kind regards
George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews