We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Refugio Vertice Paine Grande
Nearby Hotels
Lago Grey Hotel and Navegation(Torres del Paine National Park)
US$180
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Estancia Tercera Barranca(Torres del Paine National Park)
Awasi Patagonia - Relais & Chateaux(Torres del Paine National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tierra Patagonia Hotel & Spa(Torres del Paine National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
explora Patagonia - All Inclusive(Torres del Paine National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Patagonia Camp(Torres del Paine National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rio Serrano Hotel(Torres del Paine National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Torres Patagonia(Torres del Paine National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hosteria Mirador del Payne(Torres del Paine National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hosteria El Pionero(Torres del Paine National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
49
92
93
51
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
92
93
51
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsserved cafeteria stylecold toastmini marketlunch bagco edsingle bunk bedcatamaran ridehostel hotelset your expectationsdesk staffsoupsmall roompacked lunchdining room ismashed potatoeshour hikeshared bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 338 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2015 via mobile

The setting for the campsite was absolutely stunning at the foot of Mount Paine Grande and just off the shore of Lago Pehoe. Plenty of space but it is very exposed and wide open (WINDY!). We were lucky to have a sunny morning when we awoke to take some fantastic pictures. The cook shelter is large and has plenty of room to cook and eat, and also has tap water you can use for cooking and cleaning. Bathrooms were fine for a campsite.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank bguth11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalina B, RRPP at Refugio Vertice Paine Grande, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2015

Dear traveler,

Thanks for your comment! It makes us very happy to know you enjoyed your staying at our shelter. We hope you can tell your friends about your experience in Torres del Paine, so they would like to visit us too.

Bye and thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2015

This was probably the best of the refugios we stayed in on our W trek - not sure why it has so many bad reviews! It was our first experience of a Vertice refugio, and the quality was generally much higher than Fantastico Sur. It felt more like staying in a hotel, albeit with dorms. The (6 bed) rooms were very comfortable and clean, and much more homely than other refugios - they had carpets! Showers were great - I loved that each shower was a separate locking cubicle with a changing area, unlike anywhere else we stayed on the W. The dining area was massive and there was also a nice area with sofas and a stove, good for getting warm. Plenty of outdoor seating too. Staff were perfectly friendly. Meals seemed more organised than in other places and were ready promptly. We were only having dinners (we didn't want to pay the exorbitant prices for breakfast and lunch - would recommend bringing your own food for at least these meals) but the dinner here was the best we had in 4 nights. Best of all, there was salad and vegetables to help yourself to! First veg of the trek...
Yes, the prices for accommodation and food are totally ridiculous but this is the same with all the refugios, and in fact the Vertice ones are cheaper than the Fantastico Sur ones. I can't talk about the camping facilities, but if you're doing the trek staying in refugios, this is definitely a good one.

Stayed: October 2015
1  Thank Thelastdodo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalina B, RRPP at Refugio Vertice Paine Grande, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2015

Dear traveler, thanks for sharing your experience with us!
Since this is a mountain shelter, we are always trying to improve our service, in order to make our guests feel more comfortable and happier.
We hope to have met your expectations and that some of your friends come to visit us soon, so more people around the world will be visiting the park.
Bye, and thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2015

The worst place in our entire 4 weeks journey! the food was just awful, service really bad and prices extremely expensive! Such a bad experience! best to take your own food and eat in the room!!! I really do not recommend!

Room Tip: everything is bad…just best to avoid if possible!
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Desh1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalina B, RRPP at Refugio Vertice Paine Grande, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2015

Dear Traveler, could it be possible if you can write to us to central@verticepatagonia.com so you can give us some further details? This will help us very much to improve our service. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2015

Stayed overnight just before Christmas 2014 after backpacking from Refugio Grey. Very windy location with grass blowing sideways and tent area out back exposed to the cold winds. Ensure your tent is tied down well or it will be blown apart. Very busy place. Breakfast lineup took 2 hours so line up before 7am and food mediocre at best. No hot water showers on the 2nd floor is apparently a frequent occurrence. 2 sets of bunk beds per room. Beds comfortable and room clean though. Bathrooms satisfactory. Staff were nice. Lounge areas had some power outlets to recharge devices. Upper bar lounge is a nice relaxing area for a beer or glass of wine. 2.5 hour hike over easy terrain to Italiano Camping from this Refugio. If hiking to Refugio Grey from Refugio Paine Grande, try not to take your backpack as the 5k up hike to the viewpoint and 5k down hike to Refugio Grey is strenuous and super windy. You can leave your backpack on the front porch at Refugio Paine Grande. The catamaran ride From Pudeto to this Refugio was a wild ride over waves and in howling wind so wear a rain jacket. Catamaran launch at Pudeto has bathrooms and food onsite. No wifi.

Room Tip: ask for main floor room with hot showers as 2nd floor showers have faulty hot water
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ydianey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalina B, RRPP at Refugio Vertice Paine Grande, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2015

Dear Traveler, thanks for sharing your experience about Torres del Paine. We will take your advice and tell our guests about how to be more prepared when visiting the park.
Although december is high season and since its a mountain lodge is very difficult to meet all requirements of our visitors, we are trying to improve our service all the time, so thanks again for your comments.
Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2015

Stayed at the Refugio Paine Grande for two nights in April. I would try to plan the trek in a way where you avoid it, if starting from West to East, don't stay here:

Pros:
Nice bar/lounge area

Cons:
Expensive
Very RUDE staff. Staff across the property was un-accommodating to questions and extremely rude. Others we had met in the lounge and on the trail asked us if we'd encountered this too, so we weren't the only ones.
Odd stench in the rooms
Hot water ran out quickly
Tasteless food

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelGal418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalina B, RRPP at Refugio Vertice Paine Grande, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2015

Dear Traveler, could it be possible if you can send us an email to central@verticepatagonia.com with more details about your experience in our lodge? This will help us to improve our service.
Thanks!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews