We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (341)
Filter reviews
341 results
Traveller rating
50
94
93
51
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
94
93
51
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafeteria stylemini marketupstairs barco edcatamaran ridesoupbeds were comfortablespectacular settinghour hikeshared bathroompisco sourscouchonsitedormitorypacks
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 341 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2010

We stayed here for two nights after trekking over from Torres Central. The hostel is in a stunning location next to the lake and with the mountains as a backdrop. We booked ahead at the Vertice office in Puerto Natales and paid $95 per person full board. For this we got a private room (which we were not expecting!) with a bunk bed. Sheets, towels and shampoo were provided and the shared bathroom was ok (two showers, always with hot water, no queues). There is a bit of a problem with noise whete people stomp through the corridors in their boots until around 11pm and from 6am. The dinner was probably the best of the three meals although the vegetarian option is always egg based. Breakfast is pretty basic and the box lunches are pretty poor. There is a very nice bar with fantastic views (bottle of wine for around $15 or a beer for around $4)

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Lion_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2010

I've read a lot of complaints on this site about the staff, but they couldn't of treated us better. I messed up our reservation and got my partner and I a dorm room, but when I told them it was our honeymoon they moved us to a private room for no additional cost. I also see everyone complaining about the cost; go camping if you're so concerned about economy (oh yeah, and don't go all the way to the end of the world!).

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleApalachicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2010

My perspective of rating Paine Grande is comparing to other options in TdP.

We didn't want to pay $200+USD for a crappy hotel (if you see their ratings), so we went with the $95ish USD option for full board and bed with sheets.

The positives:
- great location, especially to do Grey glacier and French valley hikes (as I call the "v")
- lets you do some hiking without carting around a lot of gear and backpacks
- Vertice (the company you book through) was pretty responsive and answered a lot of questions
- staff were good to deal with and spoke English well
- lots of food and some decent variety. Don't expect anything fancy, but a nice filling cafeteria meal.

The negatives:
- you have to share a bathroom (it is a refugio) and the male one especially was a bit dodge
- they don't necessarily explain their process of how meal tickets work, so there was some confusion
- the doors didn't lock
- restricted access

Keep in mind this is a refugio, so you are going to get a bunk bed but at least a private room. In TdP pretty much every stay is going to have a great view (clouds considering), so I would rather have the best value.

One thing to note is that there are only three trips by the catamaran per day (in high season), so it limits what you can do in a day. Since traveling by bus ended up adding a day to our schedule, we hired a car and left it for two nights in the parking lot. It seems that this was common and safe to do.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winesoakedjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2010

Paine Grande is accessed by the ferry (you can park at Pudeto on the other side), which is a trip in itself with free hot chocolate. We used Paine as a base for two day hikes - one to the French Valley and the other to Gray Glacier. The rooms are pretty good and there was always hot water. Food is expensive slop but there are no self catering facilities so you have little choice. The hostel is lacking in communal areas for just relaxing so we often felt confined to our room. Our biggest annoyance was realising they had only booked us in for one night instead of two - they later corrected this after I showed them the original reservation but it took them overnight to sort it out (during which time were were panicking about having nowhere to sleep!). Overall, this is a good choice if you want somewhere for day hikes and need a budget option (TdP is v expensive)

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneKirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2010

This place is well run and organised. It's massive and it lacks the personal feel and atmosphere of other similar refugios that we have stayed in. It's expensive for what you get. It's fine for a night, but get out asap and go to Grey or Cuernos which are smaller and more personal.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenandAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews