We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“266 cottage Wales”
other travellers have booked this property
A Holiday is to Relax
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A Holiday is to Relax
Hot-Tub waiting - Romantic all Seasons.  Just add a loved one and a Bottle of Wine The Terrace at night - Awesome !
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
A Holiday is to Relax
Hot-Tub waiting - Romantic all Seasons.  Just add a loved one and a Bottle of Wine
The Terrace at night - Awesome !
Hot Tub, good friends, quality time together, Amazing!
Barbecue at any time - Canvas awning for those inclement moments.  Enjoy!
Comfortable, Roomy, Bright relaxing living area with Log Fire and Free films
Original Stonework, Log Fire.   Homely and Comfortable - You won't want to leave!
Totally Private Enclosed Playground especially for YOUR CHILDREN - they love the slides!
Twin Beds easily convert to a Super-King {zip and link beds} the choice is always yours
Original Welsh Dresser in hallway, Room for playpen when needed, high chairs, cots, babygates - free
Modern well-equipped bright kitchen with small breakfast bar
The Dan Yr Ogof Showcaves are not to be missed.  The Largest and most magnificent Caves in the UK
Put a Tin Hat on, go down in the original working miners lift and see the original coal mine shafts.
Penderyn Award winning Distillery, 15 minutes up the road.  Enjoy a Tour with tasters at the end!
This group of our Guests made it to the top of Pen Y fan with two babies!  No mean feat. Well Done!
Bike Park Wales is 15 Min's away, also central for other Cycling challenge tracks in South Wales
Outstanding Waterfalls - 15 mins away.  Walk for as long or short as you like - Spectacular! Picnic?
Cardiff Bay. Millenium Centre, Boat rides, restaurants, Techniquest, Dr. Who Exhibition, Cinemas etc
This beautiful little railway is loved by children and adults alike. Only 20 mins from '266'
Paintballing in Aberdare Country Park - 5 mins from 266  -  Views of mountains and lake - Awesome!
Horse riding, Mountain Walks, Centre, Lakes, waterfalls  in Aberdare Country Park - 5 mins from 266
Master Bedroom.  faces amazing, unrestricted  views of the mountain opposite.  Roomy and comfortable
2nd Bathroom, is quite large - plenty of room to spread out and enjoy a good hot shower.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Aberdare, Rhondda Cynon Taff, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joyce W
1 review
“266 cottage Wales”
Reviewed April 13, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a lovely 4 nights at '266' cottage in Wales and I would highly recommend it. We went as a group of 4 adults/4 children. After our exploring during the day the hot tub and barbecue area was ideal for the evenings. We visited Bike Park Wales when there which is just a 20 minute drive away, went to the dinosaur caves and the coal mines (free entry) we loved the mines. We would definitely be back, Diane was a lovely host.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2017
We're so glad you had a wonderful time Joyce. I was in awe of you all driving eight hours from Scotland! You didn't even look tired! Well done all of you for making such an effort to come to Wales. There'll always be "A WELCOME IN THE HILLSIDES" for you all. Still so much to see and do here, come again soon. Our very Best wishes from Diane and all the "266" Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doug420za
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great find for Mountain biking trips and even family holidays”
Reviewed April 13, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The property was well equipped with everything we could possibly need.We really enjoyed the hot tub after a long day on the mountain bike trails.Our host Diane was awesome and willing to help in any way possible. One member of our group fell off and injured himself on the first day, Diane was happy to allow him to stay at the property while we hit the trails the next day. We were supposed to check out that morning. This will be our first choice accommodation on our next Mountain biking trip, not sure it will be available once it becomes well known though.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2017
Thank you Doug for taking time to review. We felt so bad for your friend having an accident., hopefully he's well on the road to recovery. All being well, he'll still be up for another challenge on Bike Park Wales on your next trip. We are in the middle of preparing our 2nd Cottage, let's hope it'll be ready before the end of the season! Best Wishes to you all, Diane and the Team at "266"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marklaund...
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“Could not recommend this place higher!”
Reviewed March 6, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Absolutely brilliant stay! Diane is a joy and so full of beans!

It was wonderful to have someone so tentative and caring looking after us and recommending where to go in and around the local area.

The cottage is beautiful and so well maintained - a wonderful place to relax at the end of a day of driving or walking and the hot tub is an added bonus!

We highly recommend staying here!

I've never been to Wales before but now I plan on coming back every year to this cottage.

We always have one UK and one abroad holiday every year and it is so lovely to know that we can come here and be comfortable and looked after.

We have already been recommending to friends and family.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2017
Gosh thank you Mark an guys for your lovely review. AND for leaving me some of Sean's Birthday Cake!!! delicious. It was such a pleasure to meet you all, we really are looking forward to welcoming you all back, Best Wishes, Diane and the Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt P
1 review
“Another brilliant stay!”
Reviewed February 26, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This was the second time that we have been to the cottage.
With bikepark wales just around the corner, it is the perfect location for mountain bikers and is only 25 mins from Cardiff which is a beautiful city.
Once again, we had everything we needed. Diane couldn't do enough and even put an extra childs bed in to accommodate us!
We had a fantastic time and I honestly cant say enough good things about the owners.
Will definitely be back again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2017
Thank you for coming back and bringing your families also. Both families little girls were a delight. Let's hope there'll be a third time soon.
Best Wishes, Diane and 266 Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenhug...
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“266 is a beautiful cottage”
Reviewed February 26, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed at the cottage for a few days with our son and we had a fantastic stay. The cottage has everything for a nice family break. Our son really enjoyed the play area (great for children as all enclosed and safe)
The hot tub is great after a day out,very relaxing.
Diane is such a lovely host,we really appreciated how helpful and kind she was,our little boy now says "aunty diane" which is very sweet.We look forward to coming again soon and have told our friends and family about the lovely 266 cottage in a lovely part of wales with many attractions.

If you are looking for a family break anywhere in south wales we couldn't recommend this property more as it has everything needed for a wonderful stay
Thankyou Diane.
Jennifer,Steve & Ashley

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for your response Jen and Steve. Ashley was so sweet. Seeing him trying out the slide and whizzing down made my day. I've worked with children for years and I just love seeing them happy! We are looking forward to hosting you all again soon, Best Wishes, Diane and all the "266" Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jflockley
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely homely property with a fabulous hot tub!”
Reviewed February 20, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The property had many luxuries and was beautifully set up for a Christmas stay for our family of 5. The owner was extremely helpful and made sure that everything was to our satisfaction. The wifi was very useful and the hot tub very relaxing after spending the day visiting some of the many attractions nearby. These were brought to our attention by the owner with a really helpful handout which included all websites, phone numbers and post codes for the sat nav. We had a great few days away and would highly recommend to families as there is loads to do in the area, as well as the wifi to keep the kids entertained while the adults relax in the tub!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
We're so grateful you and your lovely family enjoyed yourselves. We were also encouraged that our information sheets had been helpful, I noted that you'd already booked Father Christmas for the children at Dan Yr Ogof showcaves, we love going there and always take any personal visitors we have. The caves are really not to be missed. Hope you'll be back soon, Best Wishes for the New Year from Diane and the Team at "266"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spankyman...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A fantastic cottage in beautiful surroundings! Very comfortable with great patio area/ hot tub.”
Reviewed February 19, 2017 for a stay in August 2016

Loved every minute we stayed in 266. Everything you could wish for and much more. Beautifully furnished, very homely with large bedrooms. The outdoor patio area is fantastic with nice privacy, mood lighting and a hot tub( appreciated after a day hard riding at bike park). Large kitchen with complementary tea coffee milk was very welcome after our four hour drive. At the front are nice views of the hills and a secure bike storage lockup. To top off the perfect stay Diane (the owner) was so helpful with everything and even arranged for us to go clay shooting in the hills on the day of our departure. I cannot recommend this property enough, not one thing i can think of could of improved our experience .Will defiantly be booking again for next year .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
Thanks so much for your kind words Mark. Our favourite pass-time is Clay-Pigeon shooting so we were delighted to organise this for you all. We are sincerely hoping you'll all return soon.. Best Wishes from Diane and the Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing