We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Side view of annexe
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Side view of annexe
Welcome Front view showing ample parking on drive
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Side view of annexe
Welcome
Front view showing ample parking on drive
Guest garden
Patio with view of Brecon Beacons
Extension with superb views
Living room with sofa bed
Living room
Kitchen/dining area
Double bedroom
With ample storage
Bathroom/wetroom
Walk in shower
Views from extension
A hybrid bike free to use
Hybrid bike you can use free of charge with pannier
Homemade bread as part of a generous starter pack
White homemade bread. Delicious and light.
Homemade cake on arrival
Homemade rich chocolate cake.
Victoria sandwich- homemade of course
Homemade fruit scones.
Sun rise on a beautiful day from the conservatory
Another beautiful sunrise
Beautiful sunset from bedroom window
A stunning sunrise from the conservatory. Not to be missed.
Local waterfalls
Local waterfall you can walk behind.
Local waterfalls
Family cycling on Taff trail
Brecon mountain railway in Merthyr
Museum of Welsh life, St Fagans
Three cliffs bay, the Gower penninsula
Pen y fan
The Bike Parc Wales, Merthyr Tydfil
Pen y Fan on a snowy weekend
Llyn Onn reservoir on route to Pen y Fan
Stunning view of snowy Brecon Beacons from the village walk.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Aberdare, Rhondda Cynon Taff, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
collette...
1 review
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed November 12, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We spent 3 days here and enjoyed every minute of it. The cottage was beautiful, clean and had everything we could have needed, the owners are very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this cottage to anyone visiting south Wales and will hopefully be returning in the summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2015
Thank you Colette for the lovely review. We are both glad you enjoyed your stay in the holiday annexe and would love to welcome you here in the future.
Kindest regards
Karen and Phil Hurd
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonytheti...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed November 9, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Stayed for two nights , 6th till 8th November , arrived just after 1pm on the Friday , the holiday cottage is quiet remote so it's not walking distance to any shops , there is a pub across the road . We were welcomed by Phil and Karen, they were very helpful and really friendly, could do do enough for us, they showed us round the cottage , they had made us home made bread and cake ,which was really nice of them . Living area was roomy with fold out sofa bed , tv ,DVD ,Xbox, nice lighting ,and well decorated . Kitchen was new , with loads of draws cupboard space and loads of utensils , inc micro/combi, also a elec hob . Table for four ,fridge / freezer . Bedroom was good size with built in wardrobes , with a few handy items inside one them , fold up cot,vacuum ,fan heater . Bathroom was big with draw space , walk in shower and a abundance of fresh clean towels .cottage also had a conservatory which was really nice to sit in and chill and admire the views . Out side conservatory was table and chairs and parasol with a small bbq , ideal in the warmer weather . We stayed as a family with two toddlers , so it was just a chilled weekend break for us , but the cottage is ideal for any break either mountain bikes hill walkers or like us just a chill out . Would we stay here again 100% yes . Thank you Phill and Karen X

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything so new and clean
Liked least: Waiting for cooker
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
Dear Tony and family,
Thank you for your excellent review and we're so glad that you enjoyed your weekend in the holiday annexe. We would love to see you all again in the future.
Kindest regards
Phil and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHepbur...
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal location for Bike Park Wales. Fantastic hosts.”
Reviewed November 1, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Used this cottage for 2 nights to ride at Bike Park Wales. Very reasonably priced and only 15 minutes from the trails.

The place was neat and tidy with plenty of space for us both. The owners were more than kind . We arrived to home made cake (which sadly had nuts in and my husband couldn't eat and we were made a non nut one - which was beyond expectations and so very kind). We also found fresh bread and milk in the bread bin just as we were about to leave (oops).

We were even allowed to bring our bikes into the house (we are the type to respect other peoples propertys and they were reasonably clean).

We booked to go away for a week next August before we even left.

Plenty of offroad parking and very quiet location. We hope to use the outside BBQ next summer too.

Many thanks

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely owners, safe bike storage, WiFi useful for trip plans, quiet location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for your review and kind words. We do try to please our guests and welcome you to the valleys. We very much look forward to seeing you again next August and will make you a nut fee cake next time to welcome you. Kindest regards
Karen and Philip Hurd
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
999celine...
Rueil-Malmaison, France
1 review
“A good moment”
Reviewed October 31, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Very pleasant moment with my family
. A very cute cottage, charming and clean
. Suggestion of good place to visit
. A wonderfull welcome cake

I recommande this adress
Be carefull, for a stranger people, take a map to find out Where is the cottage - it's hard to find.

Havé a good trip.
Céline

Travelling group: En famille élargie
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2015
Dear Celine,
Thank you for your nice review. It was lovely to welcome fellow rugby supporters. We would very much like to welcome you back to Wales if ever you wanted to visit in the future. Best wishes for your new arrival.
Kindest regards
Karen and Philip Hurd
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sven L
Friedberg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good location and stunning view from the annexe”
Reviewed October 30, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at Swn y Gwynt for six days in October and very much liked the location of the property. If you're planning on do some walking in the Brecon Beacons, this is surely close enough to tackle many of the best walks there. The owners Karen and Philip were very friendly and caring and even offered to wash our clothes, which was very helpful. The only minor issue we had was the somewhat sparsely equipped kitchen. There's only a small mircowave/grill combo and we couldn't find a peeler for fruit / vegetables. But then again, everything else was there and there's even an XBOX 360 with I'd say all the best games of the last two or three years. We didn't find the time to use it, but nevertheless, this thing is definitely an asset if you're traveling with children!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and View from the annexe
Liked least: Absence of some kitchen utensils and the small oven
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2015
Dear Sven and Marez,
Thank you for the nice review which was helpful to us. We hadn't thought of a peeler as we always use a knife but having read your review, there is now one added to the cutlery drawer! We have already ordered an oven to be added to the kitchen as we were aware that some guests found this to be an issue, but we have got to wait for a quiet spell for it to be installed.
We glad you enjoyed your stay. It was very nice to meet both of you.
Kindest regards
Philip and Karen Hurd
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babybev
2 reviews
“Magical”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We arrived to home made bread and crumble, our hosts were so welcoming and friendly, they gave us local information for our trip which was perfect for our plans and they made our anniversary stay so memorable we can't wait to return, the annex was modern and beautifully styled to provide a relaxing restful retreat in a lovely location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2015
Dear Tina
Thank you so much for the fantastic review. It was so nice to be able to welcome guests with a passion for cycling. We would love to welcome you again in the future to stay in our holiday annexe.
Kindest regards
Phil and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargT0611
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic location with great hosts!”
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Location, accommodation and comfort was perfect. We took 2 days to recharge in this lovely self contained annex, even managed a home cooked meal. Karen and Phil did everything to make sure our stay was memorable. We would highly recommend this place.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2015
Dear Margaret and Craig,
Thank you for the lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to recharge your batteries. Hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday in uk and Ireland.
Kindest regards
Phil and Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing