We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
59
19
7
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
19
7
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ticket office the bus car park walk up wear good shoes tour guide per person drop off point take photos loose gravel worth the climb take your time bring water active volcano incredible views crater rim half an hour
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 92 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2017

The "Vesuvius" dominates the sky in Naples. Its grandeur is clearly evident. The drive up the mountain reveals incredible views of Naples and surrounding countryside. Once you reach the point where cars park it is another 1000 feet to reach the top. The walk is not for the meek as it quite uphill. You can make it if you take your time. Once at the top there are more incredible photo opportunities. There are in fact gift shops at the top as well. There is still steam seeping from the crater. One down side is the rest rooms are 1 euro.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank mlbjzsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 12, 2017

my wife and i decided to visit Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii (separate review) in one of our four nights in Rome.

due to time constraints, we booked a tour.

we visited on a day when the head of the volcano was "crowned" by cloud cover. She certainly looked beautiful....so majestic...so Graceful ....high up in the clouds.

our tour bus dropped us at the start of the climb. the climb itself was amazing. the views as one climbs higher, is breathtaking. the air thins out and it does get fractionally cooler at the higher levels.

personally, i would recommend a good walking shoe as the terrain may cause you to fall. this is largely loose stones / rocks and sand. upon reaching the summit, tourists are met by 3 gift shops along the crater rim.

i advise tourists to check prices at the little stalls at the bottom before the climb. The walk is not difficult but a general degree of fitness is required.

Date of stay: November 2017
Thank Adhir_Maharaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2017 via mobile

We decided to drive up to the last carpark. There are two car parks, so be aware. The first one still leaves you with a bit of a walk to get to the entrance to the park. Parking costs 5 euro for the day. Depending on space they may not allow you up to the second parking area. We decided to stay overnight in our camper so we could get away early to walk up to the top. It opens at 9am and closes at 4 pm in the winter and 5 pm in summer.
As you drive up you become aware of the amount of litter strewn around the edges of the road. Very sad, but one bright point was a small army of volunteers we saw trying to clean up. Italians are very bad at throwing litter out of cars which we see daily.
The ticket office for the park is a few hundred metres before the park entrance. Tickets are not available at the entrance.
The path to the top is all gravel and rocks in parts. Its a decent track but wear good shoes or boots as it can be slippery especially downhill. A nice gradient makes this walk comfortable for all types of walkers.
Walking sticks are available for hire and are a good idea if your a bit infirm.toilets are not available up on the top so use the ones just before the park entrance where you will pay a Euro for the privilege.
On top of Vesuvius you have massive vistas of Naples and beyond to the Amalfi coast. Inside the crater are steaming fumerols and you can see sulphur deposits in places. The shear vertical walls of the crater are impressive.
A few little cafes offer food and refreshments at the top for a reasonable price if you don’t want to carry your own.
A must do if you are in the area.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jellyontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2017 via mobile

My partner and I have had the most incredible day visiting Mount Vesuvius. The walk to the top is quite steep, and VERY tiring, however completely worth it! The views are beautiful, the tour guides are full of information and humour. One of our best days here in Italy was at Mount Vesuvius!! I wouldn’t recommend this if you struggle to walk, as there is a rocky path, big steps, and not to mention the length and gradient. Lovely day out, this is a must have excursion on your trip :)

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile

10 euros pp gives entry to the mountain path to the top. A few battered wc.s and a tacky gift shop before an almost constant steep and dusty Hill climb along at times quite slippery gravelled surface makes sensible footwear a must and if you are not reasonably fit and able then don't attempt it ! A half hour slog later and another miraculous tacky gift shop puts you at the edge of a roughly 500m wide 150m deep hole in the ground filled with rubble . Impressive after all that effort it is not , I guess it's the pompey story that's draws most to it ? If you want a proper volcano go and visit mount teide in tenerife which really is impressive and you get a cable car ride to the top. Me _ well after vesuvius I got to limp like a crab for a few days ....not worth the effort sorry despite the incredibly sad story.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank howiehols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews