We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull Accomodatio and People”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fuocomuorto Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 30 Ercolano B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 January 2014

"We really enjoyed our stay with Vincenzo and his family,
It was much more than “accommodation”, it was an experience of the Italian lifestyle and their family went “above and beyond” with making our stay enjoyable.

My father really enjoyed being shown the vineyards and the crops, Vincenzo even showed him how to peel a fig. We enjoyed our meals, cooked by Vincenzo’s wife, which were lovely and made even better by dining with his lovely family.

The accommodation was good, the rooms were very nice and cleaned daily. There was storage for our clothes, and a nice sized bathroom. My father had a nice big room in the downstairs area with a private bathroom. The downstairs area was nice and open, with a kitchen, and lounge-room.

The accommodation was very quiet and peaceful, and had a lovely large balcony/sundeck overlooking the vineyard, and also the bay of Naples in the distance – it was a lovely setting that we enjoyed having our breakfast and lunch on.

Vincenzo was extremely helpful, especially with organising our transport and helping to be a translator for us. He picked us up from the airport on the first day – and believe me this was worth it as the taxi-drivers in Naples will charge you a fortune!!!

Vincenzo is a lovely host, when I left my wallet behind after we checked out – he drove all the way to Pompeii to give it to me.

We are extremely grateful to Vincenzo and his family for the lovely time we spent there. We
are very glad we stayed in Erculano instead of busy Naples. It was very convienient for us as we were able to get to see the ruins, the car ride to Naples was very quick, and we could get to see Mt Vesuvius.

The accommodation was lovely, but most importantly it was the experience and the people that made it so memorable. If we ever have the chance to go back we would stay here again!

From Peter, Vanessa and Diana from Australia (stayed October, 2011).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nessa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in this nice place, perfectly located to visit Pompei and Vesuvio. Very friendly and helpful family. We enjoyed also a very nice dinner and their own wine but don't forget to visit their cellar first!
The only thing we can say that rooms are not 100% acoustically isolated, but this is a detail.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huesi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Great place to stay if you want to be away from the craziness and noise of the city but with easy access to Mt Vesuvius, Herculaneum, Pompeii, and Naples. The property is on a small, narrow, paved road on the slopes of Mt Vesuvius, just outside the town of Ercolano. Both the highway and the train station are just a km or so from the B&B. If you don't have a car, either Alessandra or Vincenzo (the owners) may come get you at the train station. If you do have a car, they provide secure parking on site. But beware that our Garmin GPS and Google Maps on my iPhone had trouble finding the address. If you get lost, just ask. It's a small town. As others have noted, the owners are quite genial and very accommodating. The main house and adjacent guest house are set on a little farm where Vincenzo and Alessandra grow local wine grapes (lacryma christi del vesuvio) and fruit trees. Vincenzo is the fifth generation to live and work on this land and he is quite a good wine maker, especially his red. Buy some from him when you get there (or when you leave), along with some of their home grown and home-processed green olives. The best part about the B&B is the large covered terrace overlooking the Bay of Napoli where you can spend hours at the end of the day watching sunset and sipping wine. It is up on the second floor with a great 180 degree view. The guest house also has a full kitchen that can be shared among the guests. We made many of our own meals saving money and hassle. The owners provide some yoghurt and sweets and meat, etc., in the kitchen, along with an espresso maker. With that, you are on your own for breakfast. You can come and go as you please. The wireless Internet is only available downstairs in the wine room/office. But it is always open to guests and has a comfortable table and chairs. The guest house only has three rooms: two doubles and a single. We stayed in the upstairs double. We recommend the downstairs double instead. The upstairs double doesn't have an in-suite bathroom, and the bathroom is shared with the single room, and it is very small, and when we were there the toilet leaked and you could smell sewer gas. The owners said they were going to have it fixed after we left. Still, we recommend the downstairs double. Be prepared to go away feeling like you have made two new friends.

Room Tip: Ask for the downstairs double. Be aware that the beds are pretty hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed two nights here as a base for the Pompeii, Heraculaneum, Mt Vesuvious and Naples thing. It is well placed to get to all of these by car. It is also in a relatively prosperous part of Ercolano and there are some nice bars/restaurants within an easy walk.

However, the best thing is the welcoming attitude of the owners. They made us feel very at home and did everything to try and make our stay enjoyable - for example offering to drop us off at the nearby railway station so we could go into Naples on the train and bring us home made pastries.

The accommodation is of a good enough standard for the price and has a great sun terrace that overlooks the bay and foothills of Vesuvious.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markpjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2009

This country property comprises the owner's house and family vineyards and the bed and breakfast house, which sleeps six, is in a recently renovated old country property that has the historic family cantina for winemaking situated underneath. There is a very large, superd private terrace overlooking the bay with the sun setting behind the island of Ischia. Fuocomuorto is on the road up to Vesuvius so the summit rises directly behind the house and is , therefore, just a short drive away.

If you come to Fuocomuorto by train the owners, Vincenzo and Alessandra, are more than happy to drive you down the hill to the Herculaneum site or other nearby places of interest and there is a really good local pizzeria nearby. Whilst out in the 'campania' or country this bed and breakfast, therefore, offers complete privacy, warmth and hospitality, tranquil surroundings with access to the sites whether or not you are in your own transport.

We had a wonderful weekend of site-seeing and rest in this recently modernised house with its lovely traditional bedroom and spanking new bathroom. The terrace is perfect and the vineyard a joy to walk around. We would recommend this accommodation to discerning travellers who like a stong sense of place coupled with tranquility. Vincenzo and Alessandra were marvellous hosts whom I hope we will meet again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SadieMahala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rémy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vindic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ercolano hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Herculaneum
Hotel Herculaneum
#1 of 6 in Ercolano
406 reviews
1.5 km away
Villa Signorini Events & Hotel
2.7 km away
Andris Hotel
Andris Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ercolano
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Miglio D'Oro Park Hotel
Miglio D'Oro Park Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ercolano
396 reviews
1.3 km away
Eco Hostel Floreale
Eco Hostel Floreale
#2 of 8 in Ercolano
39 reviews
2.0 km away
Herculaneum B&B
Herculaneum B&B
#4 of 30 in Ercolano
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fuocomuorto Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuocomuorto Bed and Breakfast

Address: Contrada Croce dei Monti, 80056 Ercolano, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Ercolano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Ercolano
Price Range: $66 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The fuocomuorto b&b came into being when we renovated an old 18th century rural building. We can accommodate 5 people in 3 rooms and there is also a sizeble bathroom and kitchen.the kitchen is at the full disposal of our guests, and they can use it to prepare lunch and dinner whenever they wish. All rooms are equipped with heating, television and internet access.the b&b also has a free, private adn constantly supervised parking space for at least 2 cars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fuocomuorto Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing