We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect”

The Old Chapel House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Mabyn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Chapel House
Ranked #2 of 3 St. Mabyn B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Ginny and Des are the ultimate B&B hosts - incredibly thoughtful, fantastic chefs and easy-going people.

The breakfasts were amazing, as was the local knowledge and setting of the Old Chapel.

We will be back! (and in the interim, recommending it to all our friends).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
36
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Ginny and Des, who run this marvelous B&B, should be awarded with a trophy for Cornwalls most wonderful hosts! We couldn't have felt more at home and as a couple, you won't find a lovelier pair than these two. We stayed in room 2, which was very comfortable and equipped with everything we could need on our stay. The breakfast was fantastic, so good in fact, you'd find yourself looking forward to the next mornings breakfast, when you could experience it all over again! The view from the conservatory takes in a lovely small country garden and you can watch a variety of birds feed from the bird tables whilst dining. As animal owners ourselves, we were delighted to find a very loving cat and dog were part of the bargain at The Old Chapel House and spent some quality time relaxing in the lounge and conservatory with them as we miss our own pets when away on holiday. The B&B is ideally situated for exploring both North and South coastlines, which we filled our days doing. At least 4 places we visited were suggested by Des and Ginny who know the area so well and we are very grateful to them, as we discovered some real gems. We will most definitely be staying with Des and Ginny again (I've developed an addiction to the gorgeous biscuits Ginny leaves in the room!) and with all these great reviews, I hope we'll get a room.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittenkat808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Have just returned after a weeks stay at this lovely B&B. We stayed in room one a fantastic room very comfortable and well equipped. Our hosts Ginny and Des made us feel very much at home. The breakfasts were delicious,and nothing was too much trouble for our lovely hosts What a find!! Location wise it was ideal for touring this part of North Cornwall

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Beautiful rooms, great cream tea on arrival, delicious breakfasts and genial hosts. A delight!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fusspot36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a short holiday in Cornwall. It was our first visit and it lived up to expectations. Our visit was made all the more enjoyable by our stay at The Old Chapel House. Des and Ginny were wonderful hosts and made us feel very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Our room was delightful and included tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast was excellent! There was a wide choice of food and it was of a high quality. We hope to revisit Cornwall and would certainly stay at The Old Chapel House. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith186466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

My wife and I wanted accomodation close to the St. Mabyn Touring Park where our daughter was staying. This was a mile up the road. We couldn't have wished for better. The hosts, Des and Ginny, are a very friendly and helpful couple. Our room, Room 2, was very comfortable and well equipped. The breakfast in the Conservatory was excellent - you can have exactly what you want and it was cooked to perfection. The lounge is still full chapel height with original stained glass windows. Delightful! Our only concern is that it is probably going to be fully booked when we want to go there again! John and Pam, Cheltenham.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

This was our third visit to The Old Chapel House, St Mabyn. Des and Ginny are truly welcoming hosts. The breakfast is wonderful and a real treat. Each visit has been consistently great. We have stayed in Room 1 which is the largest room which contains a very luxurious double bed, a futon and a small put me up bed which our son uses. There are delicious homemade biscuits and tea and coffee in the room and lots of board games or DVDs to use plus a tv.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Mabyn
9.6 km away
Lanhydrock Hotel and Golf Club
2.4 km away
Tredethy House
Tredethy House
#1 of 1 in Tredethy
185 reviews
3.5 km away
Trehellas House
Trehellas House
#1 of 1 in Washaway
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Trelawney House Bed and Breakfast
6.2 km away
Trewint Farm Bed & Breakfast
5.8 km away
Wadebridge Bed and Breakfast
Wadebridge Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 26 in Wadebridge
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Chapel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Chapel House

Property: The Old Chapel House
Address: Old Chapel House Chapel Lane, St. Mabyn, Bodmin PL30 3BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bodmin > St. Mabyn
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Mabyn
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Chapel House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Chapel House has a real wow factor, and is situated on the edge of one of North Cornwall's most popular villages, St. Mabyn. Surrounded by beautiful countryside and panoramic views; there is easy access to the coast, moorland, golf courses and country pubs and restaurants. Padstow is just 11 miles away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing