We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place !”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool Area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool Area
Sundeck Garden view on town Split
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
Pool Area
Sundeck
Garden view on town Split
Recreation zone
Garden area
Pool area
First floor apartmenMaria" (1st floor) Lounge
Resident unit 'Maria' (1st floor) Terrace
Resident unit 'Maria' (1st floor) Kitchen
Resident unit 'Maria' (1st floor) Bathroom
Resident unit 'Maria' (1st floor) Master Bedroom
Resident unit 'Maria' (1st floor) Secondary Bedroom
Penthouse unit 'Lucia' (Top floor) Terrace
Penthouse unit 'Lucia' (Top floor) Lounge
Penthouse unit 'Lucia' (Top floor) Kitchen
Penthouse unit 'Lucia' (Top floor) Master Bedroom
Penthouse unit 'Lucia' (Top floor) Secondary Bedroom
Penthouse unit 'Lucia' (Top floor) Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Podstrana, Split-Dalmatia County, Dalmatia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Candice W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa but not appropriate for large groups”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We rented out all three apartments in September (a group of 13). The apartments are very nice indeed, but not suited to big groups of people looking to have dinner parties or drinks on the terrace as we were asked to keep the noise down (/ go inside) from 11pm. Town is a steep 10/15 min walk downhill (uphill is a killer!) and a short 20 min bus ride away. Lovely pool and recreation area with lots of games although you are not aloud to eat, smoke or drink by the pool and the family live on the ground floor so will be checking! Also there are children who run around and use the pool so if you are looking to rent out all the apartments you will not have this area to yourself anyway. Split is so lovely and has lots of excursions, a great holiday destination. We enjoyed our holiday very much as split is gorgeous and the apartments are nice but it was ruined by the fact we were told not to make any noise past 11 (and rudely scolded when we did) and by noise I mean dinner parties on the terrace and drinks, not wild parties, noise of which should be expected of 13 people in one place. Upon arrival we were advised to go into town if we wanted to be outside past 11, as we were not to make noise on the terrace or by the pool and recreation area due to the neighbors, which was quite disappointing and we wished this had been communicated to us before we arrived. Evidently we were told this was the first time they had rented all apartments to one group, so perhaps they will not do this again. There was also little privacy as the owners often walked into our apartments unannounced, and while some were a delight (i.e. the lovely older lady we thought to be the owner's mother) others were quite rude which was a shame. I would highly recommend this place to a small family looking for a relaxing time. if you are looking to drink and have late evenings and dinners on the terrace I would not recommend.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Dec 2014
Dear guests,

Firsty we are sorry because of your disappointment with your stay at our property.

Although we initially thought of ignoring this after the long and exhausting season ended everybody from Villa Maria agreed that we will not be disgraced and ashamed publicly.
Disgrace and shame was everything we felt during the entire stay of this group.It was the very first time that we were forced to ask the group to leave the house before it was originally arranged (with refund of the means for the rest of the stay and with organised transfer to their next destination).
The fact that family is living in the house is stated very clearly during the communication between us and the person who sends the inquiry.Also all rules (including the one thats repeatedly stated in this review ,the 11pm rule) are made clear in communication before guest even decides about booking.Since we realized that 11pm might just be a bit too much for a group of teenagers we even tried to be more tolerant and not react every time when we hear screaming,loud music,smashing doors,glass shattering…

As seen on our advert on Holiday Lettings villa is situated in residential zone where neighbours don't have a lot of understanding for any kind of noise in early morning hours. We tried to warn the "group leaders" that noise will result in police interventions that could have lead to even more serious trouble.

Out of respect that we have for every group of guests that goes through our house we will not even try to name all incidents that we experienced during the stay of this group but we must state that during the entire stay of this group everyone in the house remained calm and respectful of our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siv L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place !”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Villa Maria during The last weekend in september and first weekend in oktober. The weather was fantastic. We were two families, 4adults and 4 small children in the age between 3months and 6 years. We stayed all in villa Maria. The villa was a good size, clean and all the necessary kitchen facilities. Silvio, the owner, arranged a transfer to and from the airport ) We were taken for a trip in the car and Silvio showed us everything to know about in podstrana and surronding areas. On the return we were taken to the supermarket to get provisions for the villa. Great service! The villa is in the good location but is a walk up a steep hill from the beach. The beaches in the area is clean and Nice. In the evenings we went by taxi or the owner arranged private transport. There is a bus stop at the bottom of the hill to access Split. There are one really cheap fast food place near the beach where you can buy the best chicken sandwich and gyros ever! The lokal bakery close to the villa provided lovely bread every day :) Silvio and his familiy did everything for us to make our stay fantastic! The last evening they arranged BBQ for all of us! So good! Overall we were very impressed with Villa Maria and the owners, such generous and welcoming people. We would definitely recommend this for other families with children.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maisie W
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous and Welcoming Villa, Great Pool!”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Villa Maria during September and the weather was warm. We're six girls in our early twenties looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday away from busy London and found this villa perfect. The villa was a good size, clean and all the necessary kitchen facilities. We arranged a transfer from the airport with the owner for a good price and on our arrival were greeted with a cool drink until the villa was ready (arrived on an early flight before check-in time.) We were taken for a trip in the car by the owner where we did a little tour of the local area inc, beach, shop and recommended restaurants, on the return we were taken to the supermarket to get provisions for the villa. Great service! The villa is in the good location but is a walk up a steep hill from the beach so we walked most of the time but did taxi back from Split after a meal out. For older travellers I would recommend renting a car. There is a bus stop at the bottom of the hill to access Split for a better price, here we visited the local market. There are some fabulous local restaurants all within walking distance to Villa Maria. The villa is set on the higher level with a large terrace, great for evening meals (the owners live downstairs.) The view overlooks the garden, play area (with trampoline and table tennis) and the pool and was a great spot for watching the beautiful sunsets. The pool was a good size and warm enough as it was nearer the end of the season, the pool area was very comfortable with a toilet/change room and lots of comfy sunbeds. During our stay, one of the party had teeth troubles and the owner did not hesitate to drive her to the local dentist, very kind. Overall we were very impressed with Villa Maria and the owners, such generous and welcoming people and what worked out as quite cheap accommodation for 6 people. We would definitely recommend this villa and would love to visit again. Brilliant!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the villa, huge terrace and great pool.
Liked least: The hill leading to the property but great view of the sunset!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fimacfi
York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Completely perfect, relaxing and spotlessly clean”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Villa Maria is a beautiful, clean, serene and friendly place. We were made to feel most welcome in the beautiful surroundings of Podstrana. This is an ideal place for anyone to enjoy a break with views across the coast and to the mountains. A truly beautiful location, totally worth the climb. The hosts were absolutely fantastic, always available but never over-bearing. Joseph and Silvio made our holiday so easy, anticipated all of our needs and always with a smile. The apartment was spotless and had absolutely everything that we required to enjoy our stay. We were welcomed with a gigantic bowl of fruit and a bottle of Croatian wine, which was delicious and Joseph was kind enough to drive us to the supermarket to stock up our fridge.

The pool area, sun loungers and garden were also immaculately maintained and a pleasure to relax in.

I think we could have all stayed much longer and I'd very much like to visit again.

Thanks again to Silvio, Joseph and their lovely family for an amazing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the service and the cleanliness
Liked least: Having to go home.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minja K
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely villa with excellent view!”
Reviewed 19 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Villa Maria. The apartment was clean and spacious, and had all the utilities one might need (you can cook, do laundry etc.). The house is located high on a hill, which is not the most pleasant road to drive, but it was still ok. We did trips to nearby locations (Skradin, Omis) by car, and the bus going to Split is very convenient to take as the bus stop is close to the villa.
Silvio and his family were very helpful & friendly, and they even had welcome basked with fruits and wine waiting for us.
I would definitely recommend this place for anyone going to Split area for holidays. The garden and pool are nice, the view is spectacular (love the sunset...)! There are supermarkets closeby, and nice restaurants within a walking distance too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The apartment, the view
Liked least: The road to the apartment as it's situated high (but that's why the view is so great)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1987Oli
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I want to do it all over again!”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have recently come back from an amazing stay at Villa Maria, we were fortunate to stay in two of there self contained apartments, both a very well set up and finished to a high standard and the villa is beautifully situated. Our stay was made even better by how Silvio and Joseph really went out there way for us, recommending places, booking places for us and taking us to and from Split. You won't be disappointed if you go here.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eloiseals...
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended! Beautiful villa and super friendly & helpful hosts”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I cannot speak highly enough of this beautiful villa and lovely hosts.
We began our stay at Villa Maria with Silvio and Joseph very kindly picking us up from Split and driving us to Podstrana. We were a little before our check in time so we enjoyed the view from the sun terrace and Silvio brought us all a cold beer. The apartment was very clean and well presented, not to mention HUGE!
Once we'd settled in and unpacked, Joseph to us for a short drive, showing us the local beach, hotel and sandwich bar with "the best chicken sandwiches in the world". He also took us to the local shop to pick up some groceries so we didn't have to walk back up the hill with them.
We enjoyed our stay immensely, relaxing by the pool, going to the local beaches. On the last day Joseph also drove us an hour away to the national park where we got a boat to the beautiful waterfalls. He then drove us back, stopping off again at the local shop; all this for a very reasonable price in comparison to the bus tours from Split.
I would recommend this villa to anyone, the hosts are so friendly and helpful, but also give you all the space you need. And the location is stunning.
*****5 Star!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Mattress
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$247
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing