We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good summer holiday hotel”
Review of Hotel Sunce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sunce
Ranked #25 of 32 Podstrana B&B and Inns
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Very good summer holiday hotel”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Hotel is located straight on the beach, so close to the sea that you feel almost immersed in the Adriatic. Great views to the islands and bypassing yachts make it really a relaxing stay.
Big, sunny terraces help you to enjoy the landscape.

Clean, modern rooms. Good breakfast. Firendly and helpful staff.
Free wi-fi all over the place.
Indoor swimming pool and sauna for free for the guests.

Hotel parking might be challenging due to small space..

The gravel beach is suitable for children.
Entry into water easy even without swimming shoes.
Sunbeds and umbrellas free for the guests, but if the hotel is full the selection might be limited (still, we could always find a palce for us).

Hotel manager always smiling and making your day 8-)
Really good family hotel.

Room Tip: make sure you get the sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miramaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    28
    15
    10
    21
See reviews for
21
57
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2011

The Hotel has a good scenery, Split is very closed and also Brac Isle.
The Hotel has 16 rooms but on the beach there are only 4 beach umbrellas so you have to wake up in the morning early at 6/7 a.m. in order to place the towels on the sea bed under the beach umbrellas , during our holiday we had to find another beach nearby because someone else took all the available places on the beach during the morning rise. No beach service, they could clean the beach from the seaweed... but nobody do it. The bar opens at 11.20 a.m., restaurant service is really bad you have to wait 1 h and 15 minutes to start to eat, you have to pay in cash the dinner, the owner and her daughter are not so friendly, the owner speaks only german and croatian language. there's not an elevator and nobody helps you with the luggages, we had a double room on the third floor and it was not comfortable for us.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertobianchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsunce, Manager at Hotel Sunce, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
There are some things, that hurts very much the feelings of the staff, when the review is based on half mentioned facts.
It is true there is no elevator, which can be seen on every site we're in.But no guest isn't left with the baggages to lift them up to their rooms by their own. They are always helped.
There is no see weed on the beach, I don't know where our guest has seen it, and for the beach service, all our guests are getting all info on the arruval, among that is the fact that beach bar opens around 11.30 am, but in the mean time they can get whatever they want from the rstaurant above.
It is true that owner doesn't speak English, but she is elderly lady, who at least tries with mimes to get to comunicate. All other staff speaks at leat English, some of them Italian, Spanish, and there is always someone of those people around.
So with this review, I feel personaly touched, and I'm very sorry that we are not 5 stars resort, where the mentioned guest would have all he was dreaming about, on three times higher price then ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Podstrana hotels

Brighton
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Sunce for 4 nights and thought it was great. The hotel is modern, very clean and the staff are very friendly, especially the receptionist who spoke very good English and had a good sense of humour! Our room had a balcony probably only 10 metres away from the sea. The hotel has its own section of beach which has sunbeds, umbrellas and tables which are free to use. Breakfast was a buffet style with a good selection. The only minor negative comment is the coffee left a lot to be desired...The hotel is quite a way out of Split city centre in a place called Podstana, therefore you would need to get a bus or taxi into town. The bus stop is about 100 metres from the hotel. I would reccommend getting the Dalmationac minibus as it is had aircon and the radio is playing! It stops at the same stop as the bus...There is very little in the way of things to do or see in Podstrana so if you are looking for a lively time you would definately need to go into Split. I would reccommend getting the ferry from Split to Brac Island. We also got the bus the Omis which is very pretty.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWI1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We had a great week at Hotel Sunce. The hotel is right on the beach and we loved the view of the sea from our room/balcony. We also loved the fact that the place was so quiet in the night that we could sleep with the door open just listening to the waves. .
The staff was very helpful, the owner too. We arrived at midnight but she was very nice to us. It is not true that she speaks English. She only speaks German and Croatian but she is trying her best to understand what people say in English. Neither is it true that the prices in the restaurant is higher than in other restaurants in the area. The prices were excactly the same as in a restaurant nearby and as in the restaurant in Split. It is also commen that the restaurant do not take visa cards. The food in the restaurant was good.

Altogether I do not understand the critics in some of the other reviews. We had a great holiday and Hotel Sunce is one of the best hotels we have stayed at.

If I should mention one negative side, it would be the music in the beach bar - more fitting a disco than a beach where people just want to relax.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneJO80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Adorable staff, great food, the hotel is situated ON the beach, good air-conditioning. It's the perfect hotel. One thing missing though, no pina coladas on the drink menu :)

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filipbiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2011

After reading the other reviews im shocked. i stayed at this hotel while visiting from Canada. Both the owner and receptionist went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable with no suprise costs and great customer service. they were extremely nice and very enjoyable to speak to even with the language barrier. The breakfast was very filling and more than you could ask for as far as selection goes. great view and very cozy rooms. i recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to avoid the hustle and bustle of big fancy hotels downtown with all the noise and people. It's very close to the city and a cab ride there is only minutes away after a simple call from reception. Only issue i had was WIFI was intermittant at times in the rooms but always worked well in the lobby or you could use the hardline in the room with a laptop. Loved this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadian_sailorguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

The hotel is located 9km or 20 Min by public bus from the city harbour of Split or 1h from the Airport Kastela-Split using the public buses. It is on the mainstreet in direction to Omis and directly on the beach.
Busstation is 5 Min away. There is every 20Min. one who brings you downtown or back. Parklanes avalaible at the hotel for your car. The rooms are on three floors. No elevators. A small swimming pool 9M ist available. Massage on demand. Sauna too. Great and affordable kitchen. Breakfast buffet has jam, some fruits, cereals, juice, coffee, tea and some warm meals like scrambled eggs.
The pictures of the rooms and the beach are up to date at this moment I write the review.

Only minor things:
- No beach-towels. Must have your own or can be rented on site.
- Keep in mind that the last public bus to Podstrana leaves at 23:30h from Split.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler200810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Podstrana hotels
1.6 km away
Hotel Split
Hotel Split
#2 of 8 in Podstrana
242 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#3 of 8 in Podstrana
140 reviews
1.3 km away
Villa Jerkan
Villa Jerkan
#6 of 8 in Podstrana
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel San Antonio
Hotel San Antonio
#8 of 8 in Podstrana
93 reviews
0.6 km away
Pansion Zanic
Pansion Zanic
#1 of 84 in Podstrana
65 reviews
3.1 km away
Hotel Neva
Hotel Neva
#6 of 32 in Podstrana
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunce

Property: Hotel Sunce
Address: Grljevachka 146 | Podstrana, Split, Podstrana 21311, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Podstrana
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Podstrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sunce 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sunce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunce Croatia/Podstrana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing