We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Slice of Something Very, Very Nice”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Podstrana, Split-Dalmatia County, Dalmatia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Resort669...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Slice of Something Very, Very Nice”
Reviewed September 8, 2018 for a stay in August 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The welcome from the villa's owner was fantastic - getting some of the logistical aspects taken care of (shops, restaurant, wifi and best beaches). A walkabout the property confirmed we had made a great choice. The villa is furnished to a very high standard and provisioned with everything you might need in the kitchen and other areas.
The villa is spread over 3 levels; the basement is a gym to rival many a hotel, the ground floor has two double rooms and the main kitchen, whilst the first floor has another two double rooms and a lounge area.
The pool is climatically controlled and perfect for the family to splash about in. The outdoor kitchen / BBQ area was wonderful for those few nights when we decided to not go out.
The whole property is surrounded by peach, plum and fig trees, as well as both red and white grapes on the vine - there was no need to buy fruit in the supermarket!
The location of the villa is approximately 20mins drive from central Split - meaning you are close enough to be close, but at the same time can enjoy the more relaxed pace of life of the coastal towns.
Definitely an excellent place for us and certainly somewhere we would be very happy to return to in the coming years.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2018
Thank you so much for your kind words and comments.
We are very happy and pleased to see you had memorable experience with us and that you have experienced a high quality of service that we are aiming at our villa.
To hear that our guests were satisfied as you were just encouraging us to thrive even more to offer our guests the most memorable stay possible.
The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you to our villa in the future, until then, best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
odell1988
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best villa I have ever stayed in”
Reviewed May 31, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Villa mermaid is a real showstopper. It have everything you would ever want. A big pool with a lovey view. Huge bedrooms all with big en suite bathrooms. Spacious lounges, kitchens, garden areas and open planned living rooms. With multiple balconies we could not have asked for anything else and not to mention the state of the art gym in the basement! I would 100 % recommend this villa to anyone and I will definitely be staying here again. Cannot express how impressed I was was with the whole place. It was spotless and it was lovely to park on the big double drive and be greeted by a lovely young mate who checked us in and offered us great advice on the local area. 5 stars and cannot wait to return. The whole experience was an absolute pleasure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sn0srap
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Villa Mermaid”
Reviewed January 7, 2018 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Villa Mermaid is a standout villa which is in a great location and only a 5 minute journey from Split, with wonderful views of the sea and town.
My family and friends had stayed in the villa three years ago experiencing the high standard well kept and incredibly clean villa. We returned again last October to find that the villa had now got even better, with the pool being heated. The villa has lots for the kids and adults to keep them occupied. There is so much space for everyone; you never get on top of each other, plus lots of balconies for some quiet time if needed.
There is a lovely BBQ area, surrounded by fruits; the owners engorged you to eat. The villa has two kitchens, very useful. If you like going out to eat then there are some really good restaurants just on your door step with great views of the sea. There is a small shop nearby, which has plenty in it and has its own bakery.
Location wise, there is plenty to do with boat trips, hiring ski jets and hiring your own boat for trips to other islands. Split is very historic and beautiful city once ruled by the Romans. Again you can find fantastic restaurants with the meals being reasonably priced.
Villa mermaid is really a fantastic villa; you get what you pay for and more. The owner is very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. Any help needed they are just a call away and will come round to help if needed; nothing is too much for them.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escape591...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Villa shame about the place”
Reviewed September 28, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Villa mermaid is well appointed great range of facilities and very comfortable. ideal for our family. However we could have done with proper instructions on how to use TV and the lighting.
The main complaint and its not within the control of the owners are the Church bells, not only do they keep the time but at 6.00am the ring for over 2 minutes.

The area of Podstrana and the houses around the Villa are not in great condition and detract from the overall experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2017
Dear Andrew,
Thank You for reviewing us following Your recent stay. We appreciate all the positive aspects of your kind review. Really sorry you had a bad experience regarding the Church bells but we hope this issue will not have a great impact on the experience of your holidays.
We look forward to having you exploring some other villa and destination from our offer, untill then, best wishes from the entire Orvas Team!
Kind regards!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart M
Bathgate, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best described as WOW experience”
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We spent 11 nights in this Villa. We expected to spend every night out eating but instead spent more time using the excellent facilities of the villa.

A lot of thought has gone into this villa, absolutely everything has been catered for, right down to little things like brand new toilet brushes for each new set of guests, that is different class and hospitality.

Great games facilties like pool table, darts and table tennis table for when the sun got too hot. Call me sad if you like but we used the gym every day, it was too good not to. The gym was bigger than most hotel gyms with free wights, multigym, treadmill, bike, and a large matted area.

The quality of finish is second to none, everything is top quality.

By far the biggest WOW was the pool which had the most amazing view. The gardens were lovely and we were told by the owners to help ourselves to all the fruits in the garden of which there were plenty so this coupled with the smoothie maker was a great combination.

My kids aren't small but there is a great play area for small children. The barbecue was huge and was in a separate contained part of the garden.

The beds were massive, all of them, the doubles were like triples. All of the televisions were 3d and there was internet on tap on all floors

I really cant say anything negative about this property. We met the owner who was such a host, nothing was a problem.

Would thorughly recommend this to anyone whether families or couples.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2017
Dear Mr Stuart,
It was a trully pleasure having you as our guests in villa Mermaid. We appreciate all the aspects of your kind review.
Like you commented your stay at villa Mermaid, after all the things you wrote, our only comment is Wow :)
By reading every word, we all felt like being drawn into your holiday journey, feeling every moment you felt from the checking in, exploring the villa, working at the gym, having barbeque and hanging by the pool, eating the fresh healthy hand-picked fruits from the villa garden, enjoying beauties of each day from dusk till dawn...we're sure you didn't want it to end ever :)

We aim to give all our guests an authentic experience of their chosen destination so we are more than pleased to see you really enjoyed your stay 100% and hope this is not your last visit to Croatia and villa Mermaid.

On behalf of all villa Mermaid staff, wish You and your family all the best. Till next meeting we send you warm regards.
Villa MERMAID team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jocelyn L
1 review
“Trip of a lifetime!”
Reviewed June 18, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Our family of 9 (7 adults and 2 babies) traveled to Split for a two week vacation. We stayed at villa Mermaid the entire time. The home was perfect. It was bright, sunny, modern and filled with every convenience. The views from the pool are amazing...both sunsets and sunrises. The home has a Croatian cell phone and hot spot for the use of its guests.

The owners Tanja and Kris could not have been more accommodating . They made sure we were happy and had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. From a welcome gift of food when we arrived to cooking us an amazing Croatian bar b q on our final night.

The home is a quick drive to downtown Split and centrally located for day trips up and down the coast. The town of Podstrana has lots of restaurants, groceries beaches and views.

We could not recommend this home and its owners more highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
Dear Jocelyn L,
It was a pleasure having you as our guests in villa Mermaid. Thank you for your kind words, we are so happy to hear you truly enjoyed your holidays at the villa. On behalf of villa hosts and Orvas booking team we hope that you will come and visit us again and that we'll have a chance to accommodate you again in villa Mermaid or some other villas from out portfolio.
Our best regards to you and your family.
Orvas team (Danijela Mirela Ljubica)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikeydenn...
Appleby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous villa, location and owners.”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A fabulous villa, in a great location, with wonderful views. Everything was incredibly clean, and well looked after. The owner is unbelievably dedicated to this villa, and couldn't do enough for us. The pool was beautifully clean, and there was no shortage of towels and bedding.
There is so much space for everyone. We had 10 in our group, and we were never on top of each other.
There is a lovely BBQ area, surrounded by fruits, which we ate to our hearts contempt (fresh grapes, strawberries, figs, blackberries and pears). Delicious! There is a little children's playing areas, which we didn't use, but was a great thought for kids.
We ate in the villa quite a bit. Two kitchens, which was very handy for our big group. Also having a second fridge was great for the beer!! Slightly limited on chopping boards and mixing bowls, but better than most villas you go to!!
Location wise, there is plenty. Great restaurants, in fact so many we didn't get a chance to get to half of them, a small shop nearby, which stocks plenty. Has its own bakery, which was handy. We went into Split quite a bit, which was very historic, and had some great meals there. We had a few day trips to Krka waterfalls (beautiful), Pltivice National Park, Omis, white water rafting, and went to a nearby hotel and hired jet skis (great fun).
I can't compliment the villa enough. If you really want a small piece of paradise get yourself over there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the owners, the pool... hard to pick!!
Liked least: Perhaps a few more kitchen utensil
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing