We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,116)
Filter reviews
2,116 results
Traveller rating
856
767
330
101
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
856
767
330
101
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel facilities wonderful beach pasta beautiful garden each evening cold buffet meal times animation team families with kids family holiday reception staff pool bar olbia airport pools village meats cons
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 2,116 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2018

I spent a week in July 2018 with my my 2 sons aged 9 and 7 and booked the stay with On the Beach. Our room was clean and decent sized bathroom and of good standard. We were sited in a separate complex which was approx 5 min walk from the main building/pool, etc which in the hot sun can be a bit of drudge if you forget to bring anything to the pool or sea particularly in the hot sun.
I've read some of the reviews from some British people who've mentioned the staff don't speak English but this only applies to a few. I speak Italian so it helped but can understand some of the comments made previously. Some of staff weren't that friendly but others were.
A few points to note were although ours was an all inclusive, to me it was a 'limited' all inclusive. For example if you wanted an ice cream from the bar our wristbands with a microchip built in wasn't valid to purchase the ice cream which was a bit awkward. This is something that should've been signed/labelled to avoid any confusion. This theme of processes not being signed/labelled properly seemed run throughout the resort.
I also felt because we weren't part of Jet Tours who seemed to have a monopoly at the resort, at times felt left out. This had it's benefits in that we weren't pestered by annoying tour reps who appeared to be a bit in your face with other guests.
The good points were the complex is huge, great sized pools and close to the sea.It has great facilities such as a gym, spa and a good sized park for the kids. Entertainment at night was on the whole good. The odd night was a bit downbeat with a dour love story on one of the nights but couldn't expect fireworks every night.
The food was good. Breakfast was the same everyday with a cooked breakfast on offer or cereals, fruit, yogurt, hams, cheeses. At times the drinks machines seemed to have issues either running out or just didn't work. Lunch and evening meals varied daily with pasta, pizza ( not the best though),barbecues, pork, etc on offer. If you just wanted something light then there was plenty of salads, hams etc to choose from. Desserts were usually chocolate mousse, tiramisu and other sponge cakes. Fruits were bountiful and enjoyed the peaches and apples in particular.
In conclusion, the resort was good but felt it was overpriced and has room for improvement, particularly needing better signage. This resort in my opinion is geared up for Italians and French and It helps if you speak the lingo.

Room Tip: Ask for room near the pool/dining area
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Salvatore G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITIMarina, Direttore at Club Hotel Marina Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2018

Dear Salvatore,

thank you for choosing Club Hotel Marina Beach for your recent stay.

We are so glad to read that you liked the beauty of our hotel, the great sized pools, the closeness to the sea, the great facilities and also the lunch and evening meals.

We regret that we did not fully meet your expectations. However, we appreciate all feedback, both positive and constructive, and we thank you for your comments as this helps identify areas which we need to improve.

It was our pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Best regards,

Antonella Ruiu - Hotel Manager | ITI MARINA Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2018

We stayed here in July, 2019, its a great holiday village with lovely grounds situation directly on the beach. There are lots of activities for adults and children and all the staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank waldronjay46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITIMarina, Direttore at Club Hotel Marina Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2018

Dear waldronjay46,

thank you for your kind feedback and for choosing Club Hotel Marina Beach. We are so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay.

It was our pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Antonella Ruiu - Hotel Manager | ITI MARINA Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2018 via mobile

Staying in the hotel now. Full review will be later. A few cons and pros
- room 2115. Too noisy to sleep. There is a laundry downstairs which starts at 7 am and stops working at 11 p m. Every morning I wake up at 7 a m with a noise of washing machines. I recommend to change working hours (if there is no way fo avoid this noise).
- Mosquitos and flies.
- No tea in the restaurant in the evening and noon
- No wi-fi in the room
+ huge territory
+ nice food and service
+ wonderful beach
+ good staff everywhere
+ Russian club for children Pac Land: you can leave your child with the animators and be sure everything will be ok!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank alexer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITIMarina, Direttore at Club Hotel Marina Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Dear alexer77,

we appreciate the time you spent to share your comments following your visit to our Club Hotel Marina Beach. Our guests' feedback is of highest importance to ensure our demanding standards of service at all times.

We would have welcomed being informed about the problem with your room, which would have allowed us to find an appropriate solution.

It was our pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Antonella Ruiu - Hotel Manager | ITI MARINA Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2018 via mobile

If you’ve read the reviews from other British travellers, mine will come as no surprise.

Whilst the images are very representative of the grounds and rooms, they manage to disguise the fact that this is basically a very standard cheap hotel of the type found on any popular European coast.

As mentioned by others, this is not a hotel that is used to dealing with English speaking guests. The vast majority of the staff speak only Italian, although my wife did manage to find one member of the reception team who spoke decent French, so we were able to get by. This is not a criticism as such; I would be surprised to find an English hotel with fluent Italian speakers, but it is something that you definitely need to be aware of. If English is your only language this hotel can be a very confusing place to stay, with the majority of staff being unable to answer even the most basic questions in any language other than Italian.

Whilst the items above are only relevant to non-Italian speakers, the quality of the food, drink and service apply equally to everyone.

In 40+ years of travelling abroad with parents, as a young adult, and now with my only family, I have never experienced a hotel with food and drink as disappointing as this one.

The majority of the food on offer is cheap salad (shredded carrot, iceberg lettuce, tomatoes etc) and a few half-hearted efforts at local cuisine of one sort or another. There is a cooked food section, but it was never hot, the food was average quality at best, and the staff have clearly been given strict instructions about limiting portion sizes, as even my 7 year old daughter could manage a full portion without difficulty. This portion control is an issue that crops up again and again throughout your stay. The juice machine is fed by concentrate, and lasted on average 40 minutes per morning before running out, with no attempts by staff to refill it. We managed to drink juice twice during our seven night stay. The coffee machine is a similar story. Switched on only at breakfast, and serves tiny cups.

We had booked an all-inclusive package, which in theory included beer, house wine, a couple of spirits, some soft drinks and water. Whilst those items are definitely on offer, the hotel goes to quite extreme lengths to stop you from taking advantage of them. Beer, wine, and even water are served in tiny plastic glasses of the type you would normally find in the bathroom of a travelodge. Your electronic wristband tells the bar staff how many are in your party, so there’s no point in trying to buy more than one drink each at a time as they will simply refuse you. Given that there are basically only two bars in the entire (very large) complex, that makes having a poolside drink incredibly difficult, as you could be seated a considerable way from the bar. In the evening, the main poolside bar is flooded with cheap and extremely bright lighting that is harsh enough to make sitting in the bar very uncomfortable. There is no bar anywhere near the entertainment complex, so bear that in mind before setting off to see any of the shows.

The paragraph above may give you the impression that I am rather focused on alcohol. I can assure you that is not the case, but I resent paying for an all-inclusive package that is all but impossible to make use of. It also makes relaxing by the pool very difficult when you need to make six or seven 300 metre trips a day just to keep your children hydrated.

The pool itself is fabulous. Extremely large, well-maintained and very clean. It did not once feel crowded throughout our stay, and there was always an abundance of sun loungers and parasols. The beach was unfortunately extremely tightly packed with loungers, making it feel claustrophobic and unpleasant.

The rooms are small and basic, but clean and well-maintained. There is a safe and a mini fridge, although there is nowhere in the hotel that you can purchase anything that needs refrigerating.

The entertainment on an evening was not to my personal taste, but it was popular with the children and other guests, so that is just my subjective view.

This end of Sardinia is not exactly thriving, and if you want to go anywhere else, you should be prepared for a 45 minute car drive. The hotel has a regular shuttle to the town of Orosei (at €5 per person, even 7 year olds), but there really isn’t much to see or do there, so it’s not a particularly worthwhile trip.

This could be a fabulous destination, but spending a week fighting hunger and thirst is not how I want to spend my holidays. If the management stopped resenting their duty to provide food and drink, it would become a hotel well worth visiting if you fancy a relaxing week by the pool. As it is, I would strongly advise against visiting. There are plenty of other places that offer far better value for money and serve food and drink with pride rather than reluctance.

I would not and could not recommend this hotel to British travellers.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITIMarina, Direttore at Club Hotel Marina Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2018

Dear Phil,

we sincerely appreciate the time you spent to share your comments following your visit to our Club Hotel Marina Beach. Our Guests' feedback is of highest importance to ensure our demanding standards of service at all times.

First of all, we express our regret, because contrary to what we had wished, we have not managed to make a positive impression on your stay among us. We would have welcomed being informed how you felt during your vacations, in this way you would have allowed us to find a more meaningful and timely solution or clearing out any confusion or doubts and in helping you have a more enjoyable experience. We are sorry that we were not allowed that opportunity and we regret that your holidays did not turn out as you expected.

We were very saddened to read your disappointment with the food. We know that meals are an important aspect of our Guests' overall holiday experience therefore, we will make sure to take your comments into account to improve in this aspect of our services.

Thank you again for your visit, we are eager to regain your confidence during another occasion if you may gave us that chance.

Best regards,

Antonella Ruiu - Hotel Manager | ITI MARINA Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2018

As the heading says very clean Hotel. (that's the best bit!) The swimming pool was beautiful with plenty of sunbeds, no need to go rushing down with your towel to claim a bed! Same as on the beach. If you want to flavour an" Italian style hotel" this is a good choice. I would say about 90% of the clients were Italian when we were there, not many speaking any English. Most of the evening entertainment was in Italian so quite hard for us English bods who tend to think everybody should speak English to enjoy. This is no critisim on the hotel.(I just wished we knew beforehand)
The grounds and gardens were amazing. Well done gardeners.
The food was salads every night although a good choice, but basically the same every night. They did about 3/4 "hot" meals each evening but not very appetising and never hot. They did 3/4 pasta dishes each night. I had the spagetti bolognise and even with a maginfying glass one would be hard pushed to find any meat in it. Plenty
of fruit to choose from.Breakfasts were on the same level. We use to go down at 8.30am any later and there was not much left. We were informed from the travel agency there were two restaurants but the one beside the swimming pool did not open till about our 6-8 day there and served the same food anyway to the main restaurant.
Both restaurants buffet style.
We were slightly shocked to find no porters on hand to help us with the cases. One of the junior
receptionists showed us to our room through a warren of corridors. One of the lifts was out of action and was never repaired during our stay. Our room was in a quadrangle not very private as everyone could see into each others rooms. There is one shop on the hotels grounds about 800metres from reception which sold knick knacks, postcards etc. There is wifi in the reception & swimming pool area but pretty useless.
The town of Orosei is a taxi ride away 5 euros return per person.
We did go on a boat trip which included three beaches and a visit to a grotto, that was 45 euros each. The grotto was fascinating, the beaches were lovely but not really any different to any other good beach anywhere. Two out the three beaches had no facilities at all.
My final comment is to the wonderful Flora on excursions she went above & beyond the call of duty & could speak perfect English. Thank you Flora for all your help.


Stayed: June 2018
2  Thank Erica231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITIMarina, Direttore at Club Hotel Marina Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2018

Dear Erica,

thank you for choosing Club Hotel Marina Beach for your recent stay.

We are so glad to read that you liked the beauty of our hotel and its cleanliness.

We regret that we did not fully meet your expectations. However, we appreciate all feedback, both positive and constructive, and we thank you for your comments as this helps identify areas which we need to improve.

It was our pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Best regards,


Antonella Ruiu - Hotel Manager | ITI MARINA Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews