We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kloveron
Johannesburg, South Africa

Excellent value for money

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 18, 2023via mobile
What a nice surprise, at 60 € per night including breakfast, this was by far the cheapest hotel on our road trip, but surprisingly good. The room was clean and had the required amenities. The staff was extremely helpful. Had dinner in the restaurant, good hearty food with excellent service. Breakfast was also good with a nice selection of bread and ham, eggs available on request. The place was virtually empty in the evening, but expect it gets very busy during the day based on the large parking for buses nearby.
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$229
  • Expedia.com
    C$245
0.6 km from Hotel El Repelao
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.6 km from Hotel El Repelao
Free Wifi
Free parking
Camas
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.7 km from Hotel El Repelao
Free parking
Casa Villaverde
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from Hotel El Repelao
habitación Ablanu
    1.3 km from Hotel El Repelao
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    .
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
    0.1 km from Hotel El Repelao
    Entrada
    • eDreams
    • Agoda.com
    6.8 km from Hotel El Repelao
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
    11.1 km from Hotel El Repelao
    Free Wifi
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    5.4 km from Hotel El Repelao
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    • Vio.com
    4.5 km from Hotel El Repelao
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Covadonga
    Reviews (150)
    Filter reviews
    150 results
    Traveller rating
    85
    53
    9
    1
    2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    85
    53
    9
    1
    2
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 150 reviews
    Reviewed August 31, 2020 via mobile

    Outstanding breakfast made with love. Very close to one of the parkings where you can hop on/off the bus that takes you to the Lakes. It’s not that far from the coast though. You can also have you dinner in a very familiar and traditional restaurant.

    Date of stay: August 2020
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank tiagojer
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed December 21, 2018

    This wonderful small hotel which has been very tastefully renovated. Rooms are very comfortable, the restaurant is excellent.

    The location is to die for if you are interested in hiking and cycling (as we are) and probably much more.

    Value for Money : 10/10

    Date of stay: September 2018
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank David H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed April 28, 2018

    We came across this hotel on a trip to the historic beauty spot of Covadonga. It was a very busy Friday lunch time with one or two coach loads of people also eating at the restaurant. We were impressed that this did not interfere with either the quality of the food or the service. The food was excellent and the staff were efficient and friendly. We chose dishes from the Menu del dia and everything was tasty and well presented, with good sized portions. The house wine was also good. We would recommend this restaurant. Another plus is the beautiful view of the Basilica standing high above the hotel.

    Date of stay: April 2018
    2  Thank Janette W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed October 8, 2017

    It was just a 2* hotel but you would never have known it! A very acceptable, comfortable room traditionally furnished in a very attractive looking hotel. Breakfast was in a room with glass panels looking out to the mountains on one side and a church on the other. A good quality buffet breakfast as well as freshly prepared bacon and eggs. Service was excellent. Meals in the restaurant are very good and reasonably priced.

    Room tip: At the front of the hotel you are overlooking a mountain and a stream
    Date of stay: September 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Peter S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed October 13, 2016

    Hotel El Repelao is ideally placed for guests to enjoy a walk up to the Basilica and caves or to drive up to the lakes further into the mountains.Over our two days we felt as though we really got to know the family from Grandad running the bar on the roundabout to the granddaughters getting off the school bus even though their English is as little as our Spanish.Our room was small, ensuite, immaculate and comfortable enough.Breakfast was excellent with bacon and eggs being cooked fresh and it made a nice change to have service rather than a buffet.Dinner, wines and beer were very good, the sun shone and we really enjoyed our stay.Just remembered excellent free Wifi as well.

    Room tip: First floor at front give a view across to the old station
    Date of stay: October 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Michael W
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews