We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (706)
Filter reviews
706 results
Traveller rating
563
84
32
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
563
84
32
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstuscan countrysidemichelin star restaurantbeautiful hotella tavernaexecutive chefwonderful experienceluxury hotelstunning viewspoolside restauranthiking trailshotel shuttleshuttle servicetravel agentmain buildingour honeymoonevery requestbreakfast buffet is
Filter
Updating list...
262 - 267 of 706 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2015

Castello del Nero hotel was the best hotel I have ever stayed.Location, environment, rooms, staff, food was excellent.Also there is a Michelin star restaurant inside the hotel.The food and wine is really good.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cengiz757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioDatteroniCdN, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2015

Dear Cengiz757,
first of all I would like to thank you on behalf ot the entire Team at Castello del Nero for your kind review.
We really look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Kind regards

Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
& All the Team members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2015

I hardly ever write reviews but our stay at Castello del Nero truly was an amazing experience and I felt I owed it to them to write them a great review. We took the free shuttle to get there from Florence and from the second we arrived, we were treated with the utmost care and attention. They upgraded us to a suite (which was a VERY pleasant surprise) and the room was fabulous. The view from the hotel is INCREDIBLE. It was truly one of the most gorgeous properties I’ve stayed at, and they take great care to make sure that the property is well maintained. The staff was always friendly and polite, and often remembered us throughout our 3 night stay. I’ve been lucky enough to have visited some amazing spas, but the ESPA spa was one of the best I’ve been to. The facilities and experiences they offer were fantastic and our massages were great. We ate at the casual and Michelin star restaurant, both had amazing food and wine and offer those great views as you are dining outdoors.

The only negative we experienced during our stay was bugs in the room and on our last morning we were surprised to find a small mouse wandering around our living room. I understand that we are in the middle of the countryside so that can be unavoidable, but I think for $600 a night, they should try to spray more to avoid having spiders crawling about. That being said, it certainly wouldn’t deter us from staying there again.

It’s certainly a splurge to stay here (nothing is cheap on this property), but well worth the money, especially if you end a sightseeing vacation with some well deserved relaxation here. It’s extremely well situated from Florence, Pisa, and the airports, but when you are here you feel like nothing except the beautiful countryside is surrounding you. I can not wait to return!

Room Tip: Splurge for a view from the room, it's worth it to wake up to every morning.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioDatteroniCdN, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2015

Dear Amanda N,
thank you for your overwhelming review, we are so glad to read that you have enjoyed so much your stay with us and we really hope to see you again the sooner.

At Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking immediately the appropriate measures to address the issue you have highlighted and prevent any future occurrence in the meantime we do apology.

Warmest regards

Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
& All the Staff Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2015

I'm writing this review from my room here at Castello Del Nero. I am here with my wife on my honeymoon, or as they say in Italy "Luna de miele." I have to say this place is 5 stars all the way. If we could give the hotel 10 stars we would. We've been staying at a mixture of 4 and 5 stars over our honeymoon and this has been the absolute best hotel ever. The room is amazing - we wish we could move in. The grounds are gorgeous, the pool, which is barely featured on the hotel website is huge and wonderful and has the most incredible view of Tuscany. The staff are wonderful and have helped us make dinner reservations, wine tasting at some amazing wineries and booked us a truffle hunt and truffle lunch that was one of the best experiences of our lives. We are so sad that this is our last night here and even tried to extend for an extra night, which would cut down our stay in Florence by a night, but unfortunately the hotel is completely booked tomorrow (as it should be). Honestly, we can't give this hotel enough praise. It is truly amazing and we hope we are able to come back to Tuscany and stay here again. We will also recommend it to all of our friends. This is a must stay hotel for any romantic vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioDatteroniCdN, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2015

Dear Phil E,
how can we say thank you for such a nice review of your stay?
Maybe with our promise to make all your future stays at Castello del Nero with the same WOW feeling.
Thank you for having shared your experience.
We look forward to welcoming you again and soon in Tuscany

Kind regards

Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
& All the Staff Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2015

This is a Spa hotel which is in a rural location. We imagined that would lead to peaceful ambience in the Tuscan countryside, which we were able to enjoy some of the time, but found that it is frequented by lots of families traveling with children.

We love children - we've got two, but we were traveling in our own, so being on a table next to large families for dinner, or breakfast looking over the Tuscan hills didn't quite lead to the experience we had imagined.

The shuttle to Florence and Sienna wasn't as useful as we had hoped - it goes to each venue only every other day, leaving in the morning at 10am and returning at 6pm. If you want to go to Florence for dinner therefore the only options are to drive or get a driver for 200 euros.

The hotel is also very quiet in the evening - whilst there is a small bar area it isn't a place where you would relax or socialise properly and they don't make the best use of the large terrace they have.

Our room was really great and the staff were exceptionally helpful. The views were simply stunning.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioDatteroniCdN, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2015

Dear JoelA362,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa.
I am sorry that your experience did not 100% fully meet your expectations.
At Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
We are sorry that the information regarding our complimentary shuttle service did not reach you properly, the schedule has been arranged in order to have our Guests enjoying a full day either in Florence or in Siena and to be back to the peace and tranquility of your Castle for enjoying the property in the evening relaxing at The Bar sipping a cocktail watching the sunset, enjoying a dining experience at either our Michelin Starred Restaurant or at the more casual Tuscan Restaurant without loosing the opportunity to enjoy a treatment at our Spa.
Our resort is open to food and wine lovers, to honeymooners, to Spa people and also to families with kids of any age, we are sorry that the presence of few kids disturbed your stay.
We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
& all the Team Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2015

We stayed in the Tuscany region for 4 days and chose this place as our home base. Upon parking our car in the parking lot which has a lot of space, we were greeted by their staff who offered help with our luggage. It was a great first impression.

Checking in was equally swift. Since I am a member of the "LHW," I was offered a free upgrade to a suite with a lovely view of the Tuscany hills in the "new" part of the hotel. It was a very nice surprise, and the suite was huge. It has a separate living area, a walk-in closet and a gigantic bathroom complete with its own tub.

One down side we did find, however, being tea lovers ourselves, is that they do not offer water boiler/tea set. We had to request hot water from room service which is a little bit inconvenient and odd for a hotel in this category.

We didn't get a chance to try the Michelin starred restaurant, but we did order room service for two nights and the service was impeccable and the food was delicious. The buffet breakfast was also very good.

Overall, we found this place to be very pleasant and a very good home base for exploration in the Tuscany region.

Room Tip: Choose a room that overlooks the lovely hills of Tuscany
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioDatteroniCdN, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2015

Dear Tim C,
thank you for the review, we are so pleased by your kind words and extremely happy to have been able to deliver you our special hospitality.
Thank you for your comment regarding that we do not offer water boiler/tea set in the rooms, this is by choice as we do not feel this is a service to be provided in a 5 stars hotels when our room service team and bartenders do love to serve and to pamper our Guests 24/7.
We look forward to welcoming you again as soon as possible and in the meantime we all send you our kindest regards
Fabio Datteroni
General Manager
and All the Staff Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews