We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (705)
Filter reviews
705 results
Traveller rating
563
83
32
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
563
83
32
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstuscan countrysidemichelin star restaurantbeautiful hotella tavernaexecutive chefwonderful experienceluxury hotelstunning viewspoolside restauranthiking trailshotel shuttleshuttle servicetravel agentmain buildingour honeymoonevery requestbreakfast buffet is
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 705 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2017 via mobile

This place was out of a Tuscany dream. The location is beautiful and evrything you think of when you think Tuscany. The gardens, the view, the castle, what a treat! The staff was so friendly and ready to get anything we needed. Our room was spacious and lovely. We had turn down service every night. Wonderful! We ate breakfast at the restaurant which was very good, fresh and plentiful. The Spa is great. Fun pools before your treatments. Total rest and pampering. Location is good if you do not want to be in town. It is about 45 minutes drive from Florence. I wih I can go back some day.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank RinaColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioDatteroniCdN, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2017

Good morning RinaColorado,
thank you for your kind WOW review, we are all very happy to read your so kind words which make us so proud for the hard work and give us more reason to keep delivering the best quality and the best service to make our Guests Very Happy.
We look forward to welcoming you back again and again to Tuscany soon
Kind regards
Fabio Datteroni
Managing Director & General Manager
& All the Staff Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2017 via mobile

Our second Christmas running at the Castello and we remain mystified why it isn’t far busier - but we’re not complaining about that!

There is so much to praise about this wonderful hotel. Breakfast is superb and the breakfast ladies utterly friendly and charming. New this year was the addition of pancakes to the breakfast menu and they were so good that I had them every morning.

The ambiance in the bar/La Taverna is hard to beat. Sitting in front of the roaring fire, reading the newspapers whilst enjoying a drink from the extensive list of options is just wonderful. The staff in the bar could not be more attentive or friendly.

The food in the main restaurant is everything you would hope and expect from a Michelin starred chef. Again, all the staff in the restaurant are wonderful and a new addition this year was the sommelier Roberto - very knowledgeable, excellent at sharing his passion and very generous with the top-ups - everything a sommelier should be!

The Spa is incredible. We were in a suite and therefore had free entrance to the gym and water treatment pool each day which was a real treat. The staffing levels are amazing and the opening hours over Christmas extensive. Again, all the staff are totally friendly and helpful.

Our suite felt like a home from home with a very comfortable lounge downstairs and bed area upstairs. The bathroom was huge - and had simply the best view we’ve ever seen from a bathroom sink over picturesque rolling Tuscan hills and vineyards.

Each night we returned to our room to find a small surprise gift on the lounge table - always nice - and, a first for me, Castello Del Nero branded book marks magically appeared in each of our books - a very nice touch!

The location of the hotel is also great for exploring Tuscany with so many wonderful places easily reached for a half or full day trip including - Florence, Siena, San Gimignano, Montepulciano, Cortona, Luca, Pisa etc.

So, all-in-all very close to perfection.

However this year we are only awarding 4-stars following a change in policy regarding visitors’ pets. Last year our small (and impeccably behaved) dog joined us each morning and evening in the restaurant as well as in the bar for our pre-dinner drink. In fact, many of the staff asked after our dog on arrival this year.

However, the official policy has obviously changed and dogs are now not allowed in any of the communal areas. Whilst we fully understand and accept such a policy in the main restaurant, it seems a bit overkill in the less formal bar area.

The issue however was how this change of policy was communicated and implemented. Immediately after finishing breakfast on our second morning (the first on which we had taken our dog into the restaurant) we were asked to report to the front desk where we were given a rather silly and public dressing down from the duty manager like a couple of errant school children rather than a couple of repeat customers! It was handled very poorly indeed and left a bit of a sour taste so hence the 4-stars.

It’s a shame because of all the staff, the duty manager was the worst when he should have been leading by example!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioDatteroniCdN, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2017

Good morning Andrew W,
thank you for your kind WOW review, we are all very happy to read your so kind words which make us so proud for the hard work and give us more reason to keep delivering the best quality and the best service to make our Guests Very Happy.
Very sorry to hearing about the not so positive experience you reported wiht our duty manager, I can assure that he is at the front of our house and well alligned to everybody in terms of service delivering, maybe a bit of lost in translation or miscommunication that will be my personal care to better it.
We look forward to welcoming you back again and again to Tuscany soon
Kind regards
Fabio Datteroni
Managing Director & General Manager
& All the Staff Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2017

My husband and I spent week at Castello del Nero. The grounds are breathtakingly beautiful and well maintained. We stayed in Villa 402. Our room was immaculately maintained. Alberto took care of every request we had, and did everything to ensure our stay there exceptional. What an asset he is to that hotel! Everyone was friendly and the food was great. I highly recommend this hotel and spa..

Stayed: November 2017
Thank ladyachong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioDatteroniCdN, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2017

Good morning ladyachong,
thank you for your kind review, we are all very happy to read your so kind words which make us so proud for the hard work and give us more reason to keep delivering the best quality and the best service to make our Guests Very Happy.
We look forward to welcoming you back again and again to Tuscany soon
Kind regards
Fabio Datteroni
Managing Director & General Manager
& All the Staff Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 16, 2017

My wife and I stayed at Castello del Nero for her birthday vacation. The grounds are immaculate and the hospitality is warm. Views from the top are breath taking and post card ready. The breakfast every morning is incredibly fresh and the staff very attentive. Alberto at the front desk left a lasting impression on my wife and I. His service and engagement with us was genuine and beyond measure to ensure we enjoyed our stay. We will certainly go again.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlylebailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioDatteroniCdN, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2017

Good morning carlylebailey,
thank you for your kind WOW review, we are all very happy to read your so kind words which make us so proud for the hard work and give us more reason to keep delivering the best quality and the best service to make our Guests Very Happy.
We look forward to welcoming you back again and again to Tuscany soon
Kind regards
Fabio Datteroni
Managing Director & General Manager
& All the Staff Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 11, 2017

A beautifull location, very well trained and very friendly staff. Visit also the charming village of Tavarnelle. Private shuttle service to Siena en Florence well organised. Stay was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PeterSaenen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FabioDatteroniCdN, Direttore generale at Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2017

Good morning PeterSaenen,
thank you for your kind WOW review, we are all very happy to read your so kind words which make us so proud for the hard work and give us more reason to keep delivering the best quality and the best service to make our Guests Very Happy.
We look forward to welcoming you back again and again to Tuscany soon
Kind regards
Fabio Datteroni
Managing Director & General Manager
& All the Staff Members

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews