We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Vanilla cottage is perfect as a holiday...”
other travellers have booked this property
vanilla exterior.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
vanilla exterior.
Terrace at Vanilla cottage Vanilla Cottage contemporary welcoming master bedroom 5ft bed,TV,USB,Ipod dock, duvet, towels robes
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
vanilla exterior.
Terrace at Vanilla cottage
Vanilla Cottage contemporary welcoming master bedroom 5ft bed,TV,USB,Ipod dock, duvet, towels robes
Vanilla Cottage contemporary welcoming master bedroom 5ft bed,TV,USB,Ipod dock, duvet, towels robes
Vanilla Cottage contemporary welcoming master bedroom 5ft bed,TV,USB,Ipod dock, duvet, towels robes
Bright well equipped kitchen dining room
Vanilla  smart well equipped kitchen
Smart bathroom with whirlpool showerbath
Shiny bathroom
vanilla lavender terrace
vanilla  comfortable  and cosy sitting room
Tea by the fire
Tea in our special service
Relax!
Single bedroom is small but perfectly formed!
single bedroom
Dining area ready for Christmas arrivals
You have arrived!
Vanilla Cottage at Christmas with real tree
World Heritage Centre Blaenavon and Big Pit convenient from Vanilla Cottage
Stunning Monmouthshire scenery
Riverbank walks on the River Usk very near Vanilla
Usk Agricultural Show early September
Raglan Castle close by and fun to explore
Tintern Abbey- a must to visit
Tintern viewed from Offas Dyke ( Devils Pulpit)
Excellent cycling and mountain biking locally
View from Vanilla Cottage's lane
View from further along our lane
Christmas Windowledge at Vanilla
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Usk, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
trevormor...
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Vanilla cottage is perfect as a holiday destination”
Reviewed November 15, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Easy to find, perfect cottage, everything you need, wood burning stove, Sky TV, broadband, really comfortable beds, a super bathroom. A lovely welcome from Fiona and Malcolm. Good local pub with food and allows dogs in. Lots of great walks around.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to dislike except possibly the weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelinR...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon stay”
Reviewed October 28, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Stayed in this lovely cottage for our honeymoon this Autumn. It's a perfect little quaint cottage but also has extremely modern kitchen and bathroom facilities. The cottage is like a home from home, it's so comfortable and well appointed. We enjoyed using the log fire in the evenings and the gardens are truly stunning.

We had a very warm welcome from Malcolm and were given some complimentary vodka, wine and some snacks! My wife also contacted them in advance and asked to purchase some extra flowers, chocolates and wine as a surprise for me! Fiona and Malcolm were very helpful and what they chose was perfect.

The cottage has many books and guides of things to do and see nearby. We chose the Usk riverside walk, Tintern Abbey, Abergavenny and Llanthony Priory but there are many wonderful places to choose from.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the bath, the gardens, Fiona and Malcolm, the kitchen, the sofa(!)
Liked least: Kitchen needs a sharper knife
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the cottage and the extras we tried to do for you! worked We are really glad we got it right! We wish you many years of a happy married life after a great honeymoon with us. Come back for an anniversary!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
“Miss ”
Reviewed October 16, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Beautiful cottage next to the River Usk. Very well equipped. Spotlessly clean. Dog friendly. Gorgeous walks from from the doorstep. Lots of Wildlife in the gorgeous garden. Very peaceful location and I left feeling very relaxed and rested. I will be returning very soon. Thank you Fiona and Malcolm,

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2015
Thanks so much for taking the time to post this review. We really appreciate it and are delighted you had such a good time! We would like to thank you for leaving the cottage in great order as well. Not everyone does and it is so much appreciated.Look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue S
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location, perfect cottage!”
Reviewed August 17, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

As this was a last-minute booking, we did not have time to fully research our choice. We were pleasantly surprised. Set in a wooded location, next to the River Usk, we were delighted with the accommodation. The 19th-century cottage, which still retains many of its characteristic features was fully equipped for 21st-century holidaying, and it was cosy, clean, and comfortable. It was lovely to be able to sit in the garden, also a sun trap, and hear the river, and the variety of birds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Thanks so much for this review. we are so very glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks also for leaving the cottage in good order. Not everyone does and its very much appreciated. Come again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuperSeag...
Hove
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfectly beautiful little cottage and a fine welcome in this valley!”
Reviewed March 4, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Really well equiped and beautiful little cottage. Fiona and Malcolm are always very attentive and show a keen attention to detail. We have also stayed at their Tintern Abbey cottage and have been visiting Wales with the Wiltons for four years. Vanilla's garden is perfect. The kitchen is really well equiped. The bed is really comfy. The cottage simply has everything you could need. There are nice walks along the river Usk and there is a cute little wood just behind the cottage. Monmouthshire Cottages are thoroughly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen J
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed January 6, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My husband and I spent christmas 2014 at Vanilla Cottage. It was a faultless stay. The owners had thought of everything to provide us with a wonderful christmas. From the roaring wood burner blazing upon our arrival, to the mince pies, mulled wine, christmas tree and tasteful decorations. We would have loved to stay longer and will definately stay at the Cottage next time we visit the area. To complement our stay, the owners had also provided a wealth of materials on the amazing activities, restaurants and walks in the region. The wonderful Black Bear Inn is within walking distance. Highly recommended to complement your stay at the Cottage. Exceeded expectations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Care and attention to detail of the owners made the cottage outstanding. Home from Home.
Liked least: having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom D
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect! A home from home, with a little extra class, & in GLORIOUS Wales!”
Reviewed November 17, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We visited in November for two weeks with our six year old daughter, who wasn't too well during our stay, confining us to base somewhat more than usual, so you could say we tested the facilities well. Vanilla Cottage is a delight. Well equipped, comfortable, warm, with a delightful woodburner. It was perfect for our stay as we like to stay put and cook for ourselves a good deal, reading and walking, with the occasional visit to a town or castle, it was a relief to find that the cottage was just perfect for this. A nearby gym and pool helped keep the cooking from shrinking our clothes too much, and overall, despite a sick daughter, we loved our stay!
Usk is only 'down the road' and the cottage is well placed for exploring Monmouthshire and beyond, something we'd not done before. We'll definitely visit again if we return to this area.
Malcolm & Fiona were amazingly helpful and detailed in both the pre-flight checks, and the 'in flight' assistance when we needed it for our daughter's sake.
All in all we'd highly recommend both Vanilla Cottage, and will gladly re-visit any that they run.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort with design & location
Liked least: the fact that we had to leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing