We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
68
50
11
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
50
11
6
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 141 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2017 via mobile

Impossible to review this place as we didn't get passed the front desk!

We had booked for two but then at the last minute had to take an extra child with us. We tried to get hold of saffron to change the booking and eventually arrived at night with our extra guest. We had hoped to sort it out on arrival but were greeted with what can only be described as utter rudeness! We left and stayed at the Salt Rock Hotel! Go there rather!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Scamp1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack0705, Owner at The Saffron House, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2017

Dear Andrew, thank you for taking the time to review our family owned and run guesthouse.
You originally booked your stay on 31st March for 02nd April for two adults sharing a twin room via Expedia.com.
You then phoned on 01st April to tell us that you wanted to change your booking for that night 01st April. We should have advised you that you needed to do this via the website that you booked through but to save you that trouble we decided to accept your request ourselves and confirmed that we had changed your booking.
On arrival late in the evening you stated that you had tried to contact us but there was no message left on our voicemail, no email, no SMS or no missed calls on our cell phones.
You advised that you had an additional guest but unfortunately our spare beds are kept in a storage facility which by that time was closed. The room that was allocated to you was also not able to accommodate an additional bed and as we were fully booked we were unable to accommodate you.
I suggested that the only option was to try another accommodation close by, the Salt Rock Hotel.
You duly then cancelled the booking with Expedia which was still shown in their system as being for 02nd April so there was no penalty for you to pay and we were left with an unoccupied room with no compensation.
We apologise for this unfortunate incident as negative responses always suggest rudeness and unhelpfulness.
Very best regards
Ian Gumbley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2017

This is perfect place to stopover on the North Coast, just an hour out of Durban and close to King Shaka International airport. Situated on a quiet road in a residential suburb we had a pleasant and restful night’s sleep at Saffron House,
The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean, with aircon and a separate entrance, it ticked all our boxes.
Ian and Jenny are friendly hosts and Ian’s knowledge of the area is great.
The food was really tasty, they have a very good breakfast menu with nice different options.
I would highly recommend The Saffron House B&B.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack0705, Owner at The Saffron House, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2017

Thank you so much for your kind words. We so much enjoyed hosting the both of you and hope we can do so again in the future.

Very best regards
Ian & Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 31, 2017 via mobile

I stayed two nights at this establishment and I can truly recommend it to anyone. It has the necessary comforts required and is magnificently clean. The host Ian is extremely friendly and really does his best to make you feel at home. As I was on business my breakfast was made an hour earlier than the normal time and the next day I had to leave even earlier, for which I was offered a breakfast pack. The breakfast is nice and freshly prepared and they have proper orange juice!

I will definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 499frikkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack0705, Owner at The Saffron House, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2017

thank you for your kind review Frikkie. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we can accommodate you again in the future.

Very best regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was just what we needed. Nice room and bathroom, aircon, comfortable bed and a fridge. Swimming pool perfect temperature and house in a nice and quiet area. Cooked breakfast was really good (we tried 4 different options and all great). Yes it isn't really within walking distance of restaurants or beach but it's a very quick drive and it's not hard to find parking anywhere you need.
My only suggestion to Ian (very small little things) to update the guest books in the room and the menu- a little tattered and old looking but that's the girly side in me noticing that. All in all a good stay and I would suggest it to anyone looking!

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2016

Whilst doing a road trip across South Africa we needed somewhere to stay in Salt Rock and this place seemed to tick all the boxes. We turned up and it was exactly what we needed - the room itself was good, although nothing special but the host and his cooking for that evening were very good.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank iamsam103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews