We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely rural retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Bellfield Country Apartments
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bellfield Country Apartments
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Bellfield Country Apartments
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Masham, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
susan m
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely Victorian building in beautiful grounds and very close to Masham centre.However..the inside of the building leaves a lot to be desired..very dated and tired looking..all kitchen appliances and utensils very old and grubby and need replacing..on arrival the apt was full of dead flies and put us off eating our lunch in the room...skirting boards were full of dust and bath was full of hairs..not had a good clean at all which was very disappointing..just wished we'd have shopped around a bit more...£50 per night is not over the top but there is better accomodation to be had out there if u take time to look

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
hi Susan, I am sorry you were disappointed, we have regular visitors in this apartment who love the outlook and situation of the property. Perhaps the Victorian building was not your choice of accommodation as you probably prefer a more modern building. I will be taking your observations in hand and will redress any issues. Rita
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
“Lovely rural retreat”
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Beautiful setting with lovely gardens. Very close to Masham village and its two
breweries. Plenty of places to eat & drink in the village including excellent fish &
chip shop.Lots of interesting local shops plus a Coop for groceries. Easy access to
many local attractions, including Thirsk, Harrogate, Leyburn, Ripon not forgetting
the lovely market town of Bedale.
The flat itself was light and airy with fully equipped kitchen area, plenty of pots etc.
Unusual layout with 'minstrels gallery' bedroom built over bathroom. We stayed for a
fortnight and still didn't manage to see everything we would have liked.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed staying with us at Bellfield Holiday Suites, Masham and found it so central for seeing lots of varied countryside and historic villages which has lots of character. Perhaps we may be able to tempt you back again sometime to visit other places which you did not see. Rita
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N0rthants...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This could be really good but ...”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We love Masham and had noticed Bellfield during previous visits. It's in an excellent location within easy walking distance of the town and offered short term self catering which appealed as we did not want a full week.

The interior is very dated and tired which we can live with for a few nights but what came as rather a shock was the lack of cleanliness! The kitchen area in particular was a disgrace. There was visible dirt in the bottom of the plastic cutlery tray such that we felt we had to wash everything before use. There was a plastic breadboard again with visible accumulated dirt and by the time we had found that we were becoming very uncomfortable. We then noticed thick grease on the surface of the cooker hood filter which looked as if it could drip down into food on the hob ... potentially very dangerous. We also found dog hairs in the bathroom and on the bed sheets!

Two of the three sash windows were jammed shut and the third could be opened a short way and then had to be held up with a stick which was laying on the window sill. The window has no locking mechanism. Outside, there were some plastic garden chairs but they were too dirty to sit on with green mold evident.

Overall we could not recommend this place which is a great shame as it could be extremely good. What it needs is a professional deep clean and some money spending on the fabric of the building ... sorry but we will not be returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2017
I am sorry you did not appreciate Bellfield, a beautiful gentlemans residence in a ideal location. We never have or had dogs in this suite so are surprised by this comment. I do check round before every arrival to see all heating, towel rails and water is switched on so that it is cosy and homely. We do appreciate your comments on cleanliness and will be watching this closely in future. We are continuously upgrading our bathrooms and note that this is a customer priority on holiday. We have returning guests who do enjoy
their stay and are often returning to enjoy the town and surroundings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouandGav
Newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A GREAT RELAXING GETAWAY”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Rita, can I say what a fantastic home you have here....Its full of character. Very clean and comfortable.Loved the grounds and the lambs....Your in the country but just 2 mins walk to beautiful village of Masham. We will definitely stay here again.

Thanks for having us Rita.

Louise & Gavin

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quietness
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2016
HI Louise and Gavin, We appreciate your kind comments as we try to keep the house homely and welcoming. Hope your wedding went well on the Saturday and that you may come again to see more of our beautiful countryside in Yorkshire. Many thanks again, Rita
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corradob7...
Morsasco, Italia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2017
hi Many thanks for your kind words and I am delighted you had a lovely time in the Yorkshire Dales which you seem to have loved. Unfortunately I cannot understand Italian so not too sure of your words but pleased to welcome you both back if you feel like another English stay. Love to both Rita
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronald A
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2016
Not sure about your comments as I don't speak dutch but it was delight to have you to stay in out historic mansion for the week in the market town of Masham in North Yorkshire and hope we may have a repeat meeting in Yorkshire in the future sometime. Rita
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing