We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
207
28
10
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
207
28
10
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housethe black sheep brewerypremier roomtop flooryorkshire breakfastgeorgian housebirthday candlecreaky floorboardshope to visit againbreakfast was deliciouslots of charactera lovely staylocal producegreat hostsno hesitation in recommendingtown centreb and b
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 252 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2016

I have recently stayed at Bank Villa with some friends and we all enjoyed our stay.This was my second time at Bank Villa and I would certainly book it again if I needed accommodation in Masham.
The owners are most welcoming and friendly. The whole house is comfortable and the bedrooms well-appointed. The breakfasts are excellent too.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size and price. Some are located on a second floor
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2016

Norma and party,
It was lovely to welcome you back to Bank Villa and hope it will be the second of many visits. We are delighted when guests return because they had such a good time and bring friends to share the experience with.
A vast percentage of our business is repeat and recommendation. Some guests have been returning for the 14 years we have been here! We truly hope you will continue to enjoy the delights of Bank Villa and Masham for years to come.
Kindest regards,
Liz and Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2016

Lovely clean rooms, excellent breakfast, very helpful hosts. Close to centre of Masham, so could walk to local shops and breweries for tours. Well placed to drive out to local attractions and other towns.

Room Tip: All rooms up either one or two flights of stairs.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JudiD65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2016

Judi D,
Thank you for your excellent feedback on your stay with us. We are always delighted to hear that our lovely guests enjoyed themselves. Yes having two breweries and all the delights of Masham on the doorstep is very useful! We hope you enjoyed your visits around the area. There are so many places to visit we hope you will be able to stay again and continue your exploring.
It was a delight to meet you both.
Best wishes,
Liz and Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2016

Stayed for three nights. Lovely Georgian building. Very comfortable spacious room on first floor with big ensuite. Spotlessly clean with fresh towels and crisp bedding. Lots of little touches to make our stay special. Graham and Liz are great hosts. Plenty of choice for breakfast with fresh fruit and yoghurt and cearal followed by a proper cooked meal. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2016

Andrew C,
It was a delight to meet you both and help you celebrate your wedding anniversary.

Thank you for your glowing review. It is always good to know that we achieved our goal of making our guests stay special. We have received great feedback on 'special touches' we put in the room, including our dressing gowns, slippers, goodie bag and refreshment tray, fresh milk flask and especially the homemade 'sweet treats'. No doubt we will think of something else before your next visit.
We thoroughly enjoyed your company and hope we can welcome you back again before too long.
Kindest regards,
Liz and Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2016

We stayed in Bank Villa and i must say the Hotel and the owners were lovely. Beautiful spotless clean rooms with personal little touches. Comfortable bed with crisp white linen and fluffy white towels in the en suite. The breakfast was divine, all locally sourced produce and cooked to perfection. Liz and Graham chatted to the guests through breakfast which made us feel included and put us at ease. We went into the town which was small but friendly, loved the old fashioned sweet shop and beautiful church. We had our evening meal at the Kings head which was really lovely too. Staff there were very pleasant and friendly. All together we had a lovely couple of days and the weather was kind to us too..

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2016

LillyLizzy,
Thank you for posting your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and play a small part of your enjoyment of this lovely area.
We are delighted that you found everything to be perfect for you, from our lovely comfy unique rooms, to our award winning breakfast. We cannot take credit for the excellent weather you had but it is good to know that that sun shone for you. It is more often good than bad! Honest.
Masham is a lovely little town with a surprising amount of events taking place, as well as the unique shops and two breweries offering interesting tours. With all that and excellent walks on the doorstep it is no wonder guests return time and again. We hope you will too.
Best wishes,
Liz and Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2016

Booked a standard double but was upgraded to the premium double. Chilled water available on check in - lovely touch as it was an exceptionally hot afternoon - heat wave mid September. Room was spotless and very comfortable. Plenty of supplies for tea/coffee etc.
Breakfast was fresh fruit and yoghurt, followed by full yorkshire breakfast. All local produce and excellent.
A great place to stay in the centre of Masham - literally around the corner from the Black Sheep Brewery.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pauline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2016

Pauline,
We are delighted that you enjoyed yourself so much during your stay with us. It is always good to hear that our guests find the rooms clean and comfortable. Every effort is made to make your stay as pleasant as possible, hence we offer chilled water, fresh milk and homemade treats as well as cosy dressing gowns and slippers.
Our breakfast is our opportunity to give guests a sample of the wonderful food available in the area. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your taste of North Yorkshire.

Yes we are very convenient for the Black Sheep Brewery, and Theakstons and the market square with the 4 excellent pubs and a fine dining restaurant!
Hope you can come along again soon and sample more delights of the area.
Kind regards,
Liz and Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews