We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely B&B in lovely village”
Review of Bank Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bank Villa
Ranked #3 of 7 Masham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We stayed in Masham at Bank Villa for 3 nights, to attend the History festival in Harrogate and explore the local area. Masham is a great base, with several good pubs and two breweries, one of which The Black Sheep has an excellent bistro. Bank Villa is an old house with a real history, renovated from earlier days into a guest house. Our hosts, Liz and Graham, could not have been more welcoming , and provide a fabulous breakfast! Parking is just outside on a side street. Our room was up 2 flights of stairs, so best if you travel light! Lovely comfortable bed, ensuite is very small with a cubicle shower, but perfectly adequate for us.

Room Tip: There is a guest lounge, but not a bar. Plenty of bars locally though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birminghamcorbiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2016

It was our pleasure to welcome you both to Bank Villa and we are thrilled that you enjoyed the experience.
Rest assured if anyone needs help with luggage we are always happy to carry it for them so pack whatever you need!
Yes we have good on site parking and are walking distance of all the many delights that Masham has to offer.
We have an on going programme of updating and improvements for the whole house to ensure that our standards are maintained. Being a listed building there are some limits to want we can change but that does mean that the original features and character are still here and we have had to be c No dull or boring rooms here! did you see the message on the wall from 1878?
We look forward to welcoming you both again soon.
Bests wishes,
Liz and Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2016

I have recently stayed at Bank Villa with some friends and we all enjoyed our stay.This was my second time at Bank Villa and I would certainly book it again if I needed accommodation in Masham.
The owners are most welcoming and friendly. The whole house is comfortable and the bedrooms well-appointed. The breakfasts are excellent too.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size and price. Some are located on a second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2016

Norma and party,
It was lovely to welcome you back to Bank Villa and hope it will be the second of many visits. We are delighted when guests return because they had such a good time and bring friends to share the experience with.
A vast percentage of our business is repeat and recommendation. Some guests have been returning for the 14 years we have been here! We truly hope you will continue to enjoy the delights of Bank Villa and Masham for years to come.
Kindest regards,
Liz and Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Lovely clean rooms, excellent breakfast, very helpful hosts. Close to centre of Masham, so could walk to local shops and breweries for tours. Well placed to drive out to local attractions and other towns.

Room Tip: All rooms up either one or two flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Judi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2016

Judi D,
Thank you for your excellent feedback on your stay with us. We are always delighted to hear that our lovely guests enjoyed themselves. Yes having two breweries and all the delights of Masham on the doorstep is very useful! We hope you enjoyed your visits around the area. There are so many places to visit we hope you will be able to stay again and continue your exploring.
It was a delight to meet you both.
Best wishes,
Liz and Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Stayed for three nights. Lovely Georgian building. Very comfortable spacious room on first floor with big ensuite. Spotlessly clean with fresh towels and crisp bedding. Lots of little touches to make our stay special. Graham and Liz are great hosts. Plenty of choice for breakfast with fresh fruit and yoghurt and cearal followed by a proper cooked meal. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2016

Andrew C,
It was a delight to meet you both and help you celebrate your wedding anniversary.

Thank you for your glowing review. It is always good to know that we achieved our goal of making our guests stay special. We have received great feedback on 'special touches' we put in the room, including our dressing gowns, slippers, goodie bag and refreshment tray, fresh milk flask and especially the homemade 'sweet treats'. No doubt we will think of something else before your next visit.
We thoroughly enjoyed your company and hope we can welcome you back again before too long.
Kindest regards,
Liz and Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We stayed in Bank Villa and i must say the Hotel and the owners were lovely. Beautiful spotless clean rooms with personal little touches. Comfortable bed with crisp white linen and fluffy white towels in the en suite. The breakfast was divine, all locally sourced produce and cooked to perfection. Liz and Graham chatted to the guests through breakfast which made us feel included and put us at ease. We went into the town which was small but friendly, loved the old fashioned sweet shop and beautiful church. We had our evening meal at the Kings head which was really lovely too. Staff there were very pleasant and friendly. All together we had a lovely couple of days and the weather was kind to us too..

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2016

LillyLizzy,
Thank you for posting your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and play a small part of your enjoyment of this lovely area.
We are delighted that you found everything to be perfect for you, from our lovely comfy unique rooms, to our award winning breakfast. We cannot take credit for the excellent weather you had but it is good to know that that sun shone for you. It is more often good than bad! Honest.
Masham is a lovely little town with a surprising amount of events taking place, as well as the unique shops and two breweries offering interesting tours. With all that and excellent walks on the doorstep it is no wonder guests return time and again. We hope you will too.
Best wishes,
Liz and Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Booked a standard double but was upgraded to the premium double. Chilled water available on check in - lovely touch as it was an exceptionally hot afternoon - heat wave mid September. Room was spotless and very comfortable. Plenty of supplies for tea/coffee etc.
Breakfast was fresh fruit and yoghurt, followed by full yorkshire breakfast. All local produce and excellent.
A great place to stay in the centre of Masham - literally around the corner from the Black Sheep Brewery.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pauline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2016

Pauline,
We are delighted that you enjoyed yourself so much during your stay with us. It is always good to hear that our guests find the rooms clean and comfortable. Every effort is made to make your stay as pleasant as possible, hence we offer chilled water, fresh milk and homemade treats as well as cosy dressing gowns and slippers.
Our breakfast is our opportunity to give guests a sample of the wonderful food available in the area. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your taste of North Yorkshire.

Yes we are very convenient for the Black Sheep Brewery, and Theakstons and the market square with the 4 excellent pubs and a fine dining restaurant!
Hope you can come along again soon and sample more delights of the area.
Kind regards,
Liz and Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

An excellent B & B in Masham. The hosts, Graham and Liz were very welcoming, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The room was spotless and the breakfast wonderful with variety and something for everyone. There is no lift so you need to be able to climb stairs - but that should not be a deterrent as the bedrooms are so nice, it's worth the climb.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duncaneccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mashamduo, Owner at Bank Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2016

Duncan,
Many thanks for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Especially our award winning breakfast. We are passionate about using quality local products and are pleased that you enjoyed what the area has to offer.

We always offer to carry guests luggage so it is rarely a problem to walk up the two flights of stairs to the second floor. As a listed building it is not possible to install a lift. We do have accommodation on the first floor as well. Although as you said the rooms on the second floor are delightful and full of original features and character.

Hope you will be able to visit again soon.
Best wishes,
Liz and Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masham hotels
0.3 km away
Millgate Bed & Breakfast
0.3 km away
Kings Head Hotel Masham
3.3 km away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Fearby
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Bay Horse
The Bay Horse
#2 of 7 in Masham
437 reviews
5.3 km away
Bivouac at Druid's Temple
0.2 km away
The Bruce Arms
The Bruce Arms
#3 of 6 in Masham
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bank Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank Villa

Address: Bank Villa The Avenue, Masham HG4 4DB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Masham
Price Range: $91 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bank Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Masham and walking distance from all this small historic market town has to offer, Bank Villa is a place to relax, unwind and have some fun. This beautiful Georgian home has charm and character in spades. First class restaurants, pubs and both Black Sheep and Theakstons breweries are all on Bank Villas door step! Masham is on the edge of The Yorkshire Dales and in striking distance of the North York Moors. Making it the most perfect location for you to enjoy this delightful corner of Yorkshire, however you travel. There are fantastic walks, cycle rides and drives from the front door which will take you into the beauty and tranquility of the Dales and moors beyond. This is a great cycling area. Masham is on the route of the Tour de Yorkshire 2018 as it was for the Tour de France 2014 and Tour de Yorkshire 2017. There is private on site parking for cars . Bicycles are locked in the garage. Motorbikes locked behind gates. Expect a warm Yorkshire Welcome. Come and join the fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bank Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank Villa Masham, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing