We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great mountain retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strawberry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cabins on Strawberry Hill
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great mountain retreat”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed at this cabin after passing by it several times when visiting rim country. Heard there was going to be a chance of snow so took the grandaughter up there to see snow for the first time. The grounds are immaculate, the bed was comfortable, the tv was old but the reception from the cable service was great, the fireplace worked great along with the free firewood, the cabin was cleaner than most hotel rooms, and the owners don't hover around you every couple of hours to see what you're doing. Very close to the highway but traffic noise was never an issue. I am planning to go back for a little family reuion.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper request a cabin on the back row.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Darren Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    8
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
28
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

I reserved a cabin on 10/26/2011 for christmas weekend for my family. On 11/30/2011 I had a bad accident and am in a wheelchair and my doctor stricted me to no travel. I called the cabins on 12/1/2011 and notified them of my accident and they said they couldnt give me my deposit back untill they rerented the cabin well they rerented it and they still wont give me my money back. Bah Humbug on you Cabins on Strawberry Hill

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZCabins, Owner at Cabins on Strawberry Hill, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
This review is completely fabricated and should be removed. Here are the facts:

The reviewer physically came to the resort on Oct 26, 2011 and was told the cancellation policy for holiday periods (no cancellations within 30 days of the arrival date) as stated clearly on our website. He made his reservation at that time for 3 nights, Dec 23-26, 2011, at which time he also read and physically signed our policies sheet, again agreeing to the cancellation policy in writing. The reservation total was $645.60. On December 9 (14 days before his scheduled arrival), this reviewer called to cancel his reservation due to an alleged injury. Since he refused to provide any kind of note from a medical professional to substantiate his claim, we would not agree to refund his deposit. Although we have no legal responsibility to do so, we did our best to resell his cabin for the dates he had reserved in order to alleviate or reduce the reviewers financial obligation. We were successful in reselling the cabin for 2 of the 3 nights he was responsible for, resulting in a refund of $451.92, which was processed on 12/23/11. This reviewer paid a grand total of $193.68, rather than the contractually-binding total of $645.60. Furthermore, we offered to give him a gift certificate for the full amount of $193.68 to use at a later date, after he was (supposedly) healed from his accident. Again we had no obligation to do so- we were simply trying our best to provide excellent customer service and make this customer happy. The reviewer refused the gift certificate, choosing rather to spew profanity and threaten a lawsuit. Since he had no true legal standing whatsoever, he resorted to slander via this online review.

All facts stated above, including signed documents and digital audio recordings of all telephone conversations between the reviewer and Cabins on Strawberry Hill management, are on file in our business office for verification purposes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Althought the area was beautiful, the inside of the cabin was not acceptable. Coach was broken. Recliner was patched poorly. Very outdated bathroom with flooring coming up. Got very nasty reply to my email to the manager. Totally unprofessional.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RobinRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZCabins, Owner at Cabins on Strawberry Hill, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
This reviewer stayed with us for an entire week and spent nearly $1000 to do so, always expressing her happiness and enjoyment throughout her stay. Nearly one month after her departure (probably around the time she had to pay her credit card bill), we received an email message from her requesting a full refund because she simply "didn't like her stay"....and she didn't like the coin-sized, matching leather patch on the recliner. Of course she didn't like our response denying her request either, as it was one of the most bazaar and crazy customer interactions I have seen in 27+ years of hospitality management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

I would have to say overall this place is a great deal for the money. The owners are doing their best to accommodate families with children and foster a family atmosphere. The grounds are immaculate with many outdoor activities to do such as badmitton, volleyball, ping pong, tether ball, and they have a small playground for the little kids. There's a horse in the front area by the office, we did not ask to ride but I think you can if you make arrangements with them.
The cabins themselves are bright and cheery on the outside. You can tell the inside needs a little work but once again this is a couple who bought the place a few years ago and are doing their best to fix it up. Everything on the inside of the cabin was clean and neat. The kitchen was fully equipped with plates, glasses, utensils, pots and pans. The appliances are modern and working. There is no stove, only a cook top but that didn't hinder us from cooking.
Our cabin had two twin beds in the loft area upstairs and a separate bedroom downstairs with a full sized bed. The sofa in the front room pulled out to be a full sized sleeper so there were many choices for sleeping.
The staff are very friendly and respond quickly to you, they make an effort to remember your name when speaking to you and are engaging in conversation. We had a minor bathroom back up and the groundskeeper was there within minutes to help and clean up.
Overall I felt safe and would recommend staying here to anyone who has a family. They also accept pets but you would want to read the pet policies before making a reservation.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghostly_vision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2009

We were disappointed that the cabins were right next to the highway, however, that turned out to really be a non-issue.
Met the nice couple that just recently bought the place and they are doing an excellent job of fixing up the cabins and updating them little by little. They are VERY clean.
Disappointed in the bed - the head was lower than the feet but I think that was due to the old cabin floor. Nice place to stay for a week and use as a base point to visit around the white mts.

Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ItsByMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strawberry
37.8 km away
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
Kohl's Ranch Lodge
#2 of 12 in Payson
390 reviews
24.9 km away
Majestic Mountain Inn
Majestic Mountain Inn
#1 of 12 in Payson
417 reviews
23.6 km away
Quality Inn Payson
Quality Inn Payson
#3 of 12 in Payson
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.9 km away
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
Mazatzal Hotel & Casino
#7 of 12 in Payson
85 reviews
24.7 km away
Comfort Inn Payson
Comfort Inn Payson
#4 of 12 in Payson
105 reviews
37.1 km away
Fort Verde Suites
Fort Verde Suites
#1 of 5 in Camp Verde
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabins on Strawberry Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabins on Strawberry Hill

Property: Cabins on Strawberry Hill
Address: 5306 N Highway 87, Strawberry, AZ 85544-2529
Region: United States > Arizona > Strawberry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Strawberry
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reserve your vacation rental at Arizona’s finest mountain cabin resort, the Cabins on Strawberry Hill! We offer you 14 relaxing, private 1 and 2-bedroom rental cabins in the heart of Mogollon Rim Country in northern Arizona, perched atop Strawberry Hill at a cool 6100’ elevation. The majestic Mogollon Rim rises tall above the resort and stretches out over 200 miles across the rugged Arizona countryside. We are Phoenix and Tucson’s closest all cabin resort in the tall Ponderosa pines of Northern Arizona. Located 17 miles north of Payson, we are only about a one-hour drive from Fountain Hills in the northeast valley or about a 90 minute drive from the northwest valley through Camp Verde. Our convenient yet gorgeous location and roomy, comfortable cabins provide the ideal setting for your vacation, family reunion, weddings, anniversary, honeymoon, romantic getaway, corporate retreat, church group, youth group or just a fantastic weekend of mountain lodging and relaxation. Nice, CLEAN rental cabins are very difficult to find, but we are the mountain cabin hideaway you have been searching for! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabins On Strawberry Hill Hotel Strawberry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing