We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect night”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Clara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Casa de Ernesto y Mireya
Ranked #37 of 55 Santa Clara B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We spent one night at Ernestos and Mireyas home. This was out first night at a casa particular, and we did not know what expected us. But yes! We slept well, we had a delicious dinner and breakfast as well. Nice and clean room, and friendly hosts.

Situated near the centre of Santa Clara this was a perfect stay - from the balcony we could see the town go to sleep and wake up.
And yes it was a good place to end a long day of 50th anniversary celebration.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorR_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for La Casa de Ernesto y Mireya
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2011

This was my 2nd time staying in this Casa. I would go back many times! Ernesto and Mireya and great people! It is a very family atmosphere. If you have not been to Cuba before they take care of you and make sure you can get around fine. That food is to die for! You sure won't go hungry. Can't beat the price of 20 CUC a night! I look forward to going back and visiting Ernesto and Mireya!

Room Tip: Both rooms were clean and quiet. Have air conditioning which works great!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greeneyesGeorgetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

I got this casa referred to me by my taxi driver at Viazul station. Form outside it looks old and unappealing but once inside, it was like a new world. At only $20 a night, you can't go wrong. The best part is the food. I told the owner I was hungry and to give me a little more fish but when I went to the dining table an hour later, it was full. I mean there were 8 plates of food, including veggies, fruits, soups, fish, bread, natural guava juice and so on. I felt bad not finishing everything since it was enough to fill 3 people. All for $7 or $8. Compared to Hostal Autentica Pergola who charged me $24 for fish fillet and shrimps I think I got an amazing deal!!!!!!!

Room Tip: There is no pool or spa by the way.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

I definitely recommend casa Ernesto Y Mireya! The house is near the centre and the hospitality is amazing: the room is big (the biggest we’ve seen in Cuba, with a private big bathroom, TV,
radio and air conditioner - a must in Cuba!!!). The food was delicious, well presented (better than in a restaurant) and really a lot (soup, fish, meat, vegetables and fruits).
Ernesto and his wife are very nice people, always smiling, ready to give advice and suggestions.
They know some people nearby that have a place where you can safely park the car (when we came back to get it, they had also washed and cleaned the car!).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ceko1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We made our reservation by email with Ernesto one month in advance and he was very patient and thorough with our questions and requests. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised with the accomodations, the rooms and baths were spacious, everything extremely clean and tidy. Great location, easy to walk everywhere.
We paticularly enjoyed our meals, lots of food, everything fresh and tasty, authentic home cooking by Tamara and excellent service by our host Ernesto.
The best value for your money in all the casas we stayed in Cuba, we definitely recomend this casa particular!

Room Tip: Breakfasts are a great deal: fresh tropical fruits and juices, great Cuban coffee, eggs, bread and b...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DagoNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

We had a wonderful start to our Cuban holiday with our stay with Ernesta and Tamara. Our host, Ernesto is a nice honest guy and he takes his hospitality seriously. The room is comfortable, clean and secure. We used the air conditioner, enjoyed cold drinks from the fridge and grew accustomed to a Cuban shower – low pressure cool water.

The location is approximately a 3 minute walk to the town square along a street lively with bici-taxis, horse-drawn carriages and cyclists. You can sit on the casa balcony and watch the local kids play baseball and soccer across the street in a church courtyard.

We had our breakfasts and dinners at our casa. Breakfast was a sumptuous array of fruit, eggs and café con leche. Dinner one night was braised chicken in a delicious sauce: the next night grilled pork all accompanied with vegetables (salad fixings) and fruit platters.

Santa Clara is a wonderful city with minimal tourists. It is a great way to watch and experience daily Cuban life. Of course, there’s the comedic Che memorial and boxcar museum but we found strolling the town square and taking in the nightly entertainment at the Teatro delightful.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gammaglam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

I will recomend. Better than hotel. Very nice and honest owners. Great breakfast.
Convenient location.Close to church and Park Vidal.

ERIK

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
0.1 km away
Casa Riki's Hostal
Casa Riki's Hostal
#14 of 55 in Santa Clara
24 reviews
0.2 km away
Hostal La Casona Jover
Hostal La Casona Jover
#9 of 55 in Santa Clara
201 reviews
0.7 km away
Hostal Autentica Pergola
Hostal Autentica Pergola
#4 of 55 in Santa Clara
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hostal D' Cordero
Hostal D' Cordero
#1 of 55 in Santa Clara
305 reviews
36.6 km away
Hotel Islazul Hanabanilla
Hotel Islazul Hanabanilla
#4 of 7 in Santa Clara
114 reviews
5.2 km away
La Granjita
La Granjita
#1 of 7 in Santa Clara
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Ernesto y Mireya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Ernesto y Mireya

Address: Calle Cuba # 227 | e/ Sindico y Pastora, Santa Clara 273501, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Clara
Price Range: $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious rooms with private bath in an extra-clean casa particular, each room featuring 1 double bed or 2 twin beds, air-conditioner, refrigerator, radio and TV. Guests also have access to ample seating and dining areas, to relax after spending the day in town, or to share with friends. Just 3 blocks from main square Parque Vidal, a great location with easy access to all area attractions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing