We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take Heed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Clara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Florida Center
Ranked #11 of 52 Santa Clara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Take Heed”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We booked into this casa on the last night of our trip. It was a special spot for a birthday celebration before catching the plane home. The owner booked us in to his casa we were led to believe and on arrival we were taken around the corner to his cousin's place. It was disappointing. The room had no windows, lacked character and compared to the stunning places we had stayed in was mediocre and tolerable. Make sure you have a conversation with the casa owner stating your intention to stay at his Hostal and not his cousins!

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank vanessa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    101
    29
    20
    54
See reviews for
74
270
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Sask., Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I booked with Angel thru Cuba Junky, that made the planning so easy. When we arrived in Santa Clara on Jan 20/12, after being lost for a short time we found Florida Center. Locals are very helpful and will take you right to the door, please pay them a peso or 2! when we arrived Angel told us he was booked and we would stay with his partner/mother at their Casa. I was not too happy about that, but it proved to be the best move. He walked us 2 blks to Hostal Alba. Our car was parked outside of FC, watched by a friendly neighbour lady. 2 cuc a day for parking. The inside is just as impressive as Florida Center, with two bedrooms and a green filled courtyard and front rooms full of antique furniture. By comparing the photos, our rooms were smaller but still boasted a full bathroom, fridge, armour, and two comfy beds. Our only complaint would be the plastic table and chairs we sat in every day to play cards and visit. We ate our breakfasts at Hostal Alba in the dining room. The first morning I walked into the dining to a "holy crap" moment. There was so much food on the table for the 3 of us, I took a photo and called the guys in to look. We were also asked if we wanted an omelette, NOPE! Cafe con leche was also served and it was wonderful. We asked them to make smaller breakfasts for the next few days, they did, but not too much smaller. In the evenings it got so quiet, it was like we were in a world all to ourselves.
Seeing that Florida Center was also a Paladar, we were thankful to be at Hostal Alba.
Hostal Alba is so close to the Parque Vidal, money exchange, internet office and near by attractions. We could walk to the centre of town, come home and enjoy the quiet and a few rums!!!
We stayed at Hostal Alba from Jan 20-25/12 and had all but one evening meal at Florida Center, the food was wonderful with only one complaint, too much salt on certain foods. The lobster/shrimp in a special Tom sauce was wonderful, as were the pork steaks (salty, just like home), the fish was good but salty, chicken was good but too much. We would enjoy a beer, wine or just water with our meal. The resident cat would come to see if I would feed it again. Dog would mind it's own business until it was feeding time around 8pm.
I would recommend both these Casas for the rooms, ambiance and food. It's close to attractions and you cannot go wrong being in the centre of town where all the action is.
Thank you from the Gehls'.

Room Tip: You could ask to be placed in Hostal Alba if you want a quiet atmosphere. Parking is not a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cooper45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Just very very nice. The look of the house is fantastic, Angel (the owner) speaks many languages and knows his job. Very good overall, and the food in particular was one of the best we had in our trip in the whole island.
We had a problem with the shower but Angel was helpful and called a guy to fix it immediately.
Just go!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathannever2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesce, Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

we stayed here only by coincidence. we met some friends and they were staying at casa mercy, but the other room was full, so we ended up here. we were out of words, when we saw were we will going to stay. the fron rooms are museumlike, but you can use them :) we choose the colonial style room and it was one of the most interesting room i have ever slept in it. the owners are super nice, and even if you are not sleeping in this casa, you should eat here, it was the best meal of our trip - we invited friends and it was perfect, even thou we were out of eletricity.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eva g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We experienced this place purely as a restaurant, as we were staying elsewhere. We were given a warm welcome; service was friendly without being over-familiar; and the food was plentiful and cooked to perfection. Choice was limited, but this was more than made up for by the fact that every meal is cooked to order and was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh73Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

The exterior of the building did remind me of something out of the Wild West I was expecting Clint Eastwood to open the door but instead out came the convivial host who expressed his apologies that the hostal was fulled booked but could he have the pleasure of serving us dinner.
We decided we would return for dinner and were pleasantly surprised, the place is a bit of a tardis. The reception opens up into a central courtyard which is full of established plants and the sound of watering.
Tables are positioned on the perimeter of the courtyard and the atmosphere is very romantic.
The food is good by Cuban standards but not Paladar La Guarida.
The portions are USA style ie. Enormous.
I cannot comment on the rooms as we stayed 3 doors down with a family recommended by Angel but the restaurant and hostal was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serpico651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2012

For real Cuban hospitality and atmosphere, this was the best place we stayed. The central courtyard is lush with plants and is a stunning place for dinner and breakfast. The food was generous and tasty, and the lobster and prawns we had that evening made up for a stressful day getting lost and driving on those scary Cuban roads.

The room had two double beds in it, and a reverential, Catholic atmosphere - felt like we'd stepped into a bygone era. For light sleepers the openness to the courtyard might be a problem, but we loved the feeling of being part of the household.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara
156.2 km away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 64 in Varadero
1,248 reviews
0.5 km away
Hostal Autentica Pergola
Hostal Autentica Pergola
#3 of 52 in Santa Clara
695 reviews
0.1 km away
Hostal La Casona Jover
Hostal La Casona Jover
#6 of 52 in Santa Clara
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hostal D' Cordero
Hostal D' Cordero
#1 of 52 in Santa Clara
285 reviews
0.6 km away
Hostal Francisco
Hostal Francisco
#7 of 52 in Santa Clara
61 reviews
0.6 km away
Hostal Colibri Azul
Hostal Colibri Azul
#2 of 44 in Santa Clara
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Florida Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Florida Center

Property: Hostal Florida Center
Address: Maestra Nicolasa # 56 | entre Colon y Maceo, Santa Clara 50100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful residence built in the year 1876 is located only 200 meters of the Central Park of the city (Parque Vidal). This is a classic representation of colonial Spanish architecture of the epoch.We rent two bedrooms, the first one is decorated to colonial style and the other to Art deco style; the bedrooms have air conditioning, fan, private bathrooms, TV, refrigerator and paymasters with wines for more demanding tastes.One excellent address. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing