We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy times”
Review of The Inn On The Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marigot Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn On The Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Happy times”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This was a truly relaxing holiday where we enjoyed all the ingredients for a fabulously interesting and healthy 9 days in the warmth of the lovely Caribbean air. As per all other Tripadvisor comments, Normand and Louise were terrific hosts who really care about the guests' wellbeing. The rooms are good, the location is fantastic. We enjoyed swimming in the bay below the Inn even though the journey there makes one feel an intrepid explorer (300+ steps through the lush woods) and the little town of Marigot Bay has some nice restaurants in a very laid back way. N & L are great at advising what to do and how to do it. We took a water taxi and / or a bus to places, which was quite exciting, and had a nice sailing trip. Fabulous!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gummington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    23
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
529
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My Wife and I stayed 4 nights with Normand and Louise and had a great time. We rented a car, which is a great thing to do to see the Island. Normand will point out all the areas for you to see and do and will answer all your questions. Louise makes a great continental style breakfast with great fresh fruits and baked goods. This is a B and B style place so don't expect an all inclusive resort. The Inn is a great value in a great location with great hosts. My wife(who was almost 7 months pregnant) and I Had a great visit at the Inn and spent the rest of our stay at TI Kaye(a more all inclusive style resort and also a great place). I am glad we started our Stay at the Inn, it just seemed easy to go around the Island, especially in the Bay and up North. There is a reason this place is the top ranked. Thanks Normand and Louise for a great vacation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We had no idea what to expect from Marigot Bay or the Inn on the Bay, but my boyfriend and I wanted a peaceful, beautiful spot with a few good restaurants and some activities on offer should we choose to pursue them. Neither disappointed. Marigot Bay is definitely THE place to stay in St Lucia, and the Inn on the Bay is a truly special find. Normand and Louise are the perfect hosts and they really made our holiday. Nothing was too much trouble. They were incredibly helpful with tips and suggestions of things to do, and making the arrangements if we wanted to go ahead. We also really appreciated the way Normand made sure to introduce the guests to each other when new arrivals appeared. As this is an intimate place with only 6 rooms, it really made a difference to our experience and broke the ice. The breakfasts were lovely and the room was quiet and spacious - just what we needed. On another note, the Inn offers excellent value compared to many other options we looked at - and nobody else had that million dollar view! Highly recommend this place. Thank you Normand and Louise!

Room Tip: Upstairs room is a little larger I think, but we had a double shower and it was fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellarton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

It's hard to say much that hasn't already been said, the view is incredible, we had the upstairs room which is a little bigger than the rest, it was always very clean, comfortable and had a very nicely renovated bathroom. And if you like a little exercise, the walk from the bay to the inn will help you keep the extra pounds you'll put on from all the great food to a minimum. The back patio is also probably the best spot in the bay to sit with a cold beer and watch the sunset before dinner.

But the icing on the cake here is Normand and Lousie, you will never find service like this in any hotel or resort. Have a look at any of the excursions or landmarks in St Lucia, tell Normand what you want to do, and he'll make it happen, or if you want to be really laid back, Normand will even make the suggestions for you and save you the trouble of researching on your own. Louise prepared breakfast every morning and I would honestly go back just for a batch of cheese muffins, but everything that came out of her oven was incredible. She was also very helpful in recommending baby names, a few are still on our short list.

My wife was 3 months pregnant when we arrived, on the first morning Normand found out she was having peanut butter cravings, in a matter of minutes she had half a tub and a spoon all to her self. These are fantastic hosts and will be the highlight of your trip, I guarantee it!

Room Tip: I'm pretty sure there's not a bad room in the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eyemouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2012

View and situation is amazing; service offered by Louise and Normand is second to none.Nothing was too much trouble.It was a very restful and rejuvenating stay with lots to do and see with every arrangement able to be made by Normand or help to do it individually. Definitely the place to stay if you can get a booking.

Room Tip: All excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belleville, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and I spend one night at the Inn on the bay. Being 5 months pregnant at the time, a safe and relaxing place was what we were looking for. We found more than that at this white villa. It was the greatest hotel we stayed at during our week in St.Lucia. Normand and Louise were fantastic hosts and it felt more like visiting a friend. We could only spend 1 night there but as soon as we saw the hotel, we wished we could stay for a longer visit. We wouldn't have used the A/C if there was one, our room was very large, the bathroom, newly renovated, was clean and spacious. The breeze felt great and kept the room cool all day/night. At sunset, go on the front terrasse to relax and enjoy the view. In the morning, do not skip the delicious and complete breakfast; fruits, banana bread, toasts, cereals, coffee, juice and more. We highly recommend this place to any traveler.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Amazing views. Comfortable beds. And the most accommodating hosts imaginable. Normand and Louise make this a 5 star experience - they were extraordinarily helpful with restaurant recommendations and excursion planning. For an island B&B experience, you won't find any better.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
12.3 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
9.7 km away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.7 km away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 km away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 12 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
15.7 km away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
17.2 km away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The Bay

Property: The Inn On The Bay
Address: Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in paradise between beautiful Marigot Bay and the deep blue Caribbean Sea, The Inn On The Bay will sweep you away with its breathtaking view from Sunrise to Sunset. With only five comfortable guest rooms in all, The Inn On The Bay is about as far away from conventional, all inclusive and tourist resorts as you can get... and our special guests wouldn’t have it any other way! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Bay Hotel Marigot Bay
Hotel On The Bay
On The Bay Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing