We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (544)
Filter reviews
544 results
Traveller rating
397
124
14
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
397
124
14
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vacation club villa st great house guest services water taxi st lucia rainforest hideaway plunge pool two story air conditioning house keeper our honeymoon taxi driver hurricane hole steep hill relaxing vacation botanical gardens
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 544 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2015

Me and my wife stayed in a Vacation Club Villa during our honeymoon. We absolutely loved it! Above all, the views from the balconies are spectacular, and we enjoyed both breakfasts and dinners there. The villas are not luxurious, but are clean and well equipped and maintained.
Further, in opposite to many other self-catering villas I have stayed in, there a range of services available through the Oasis staff. They were really helpful and helped us with everything from tours to laundry.
As for Marigot Bay, we really enjoyed the relaxed mood, the nice people on the beach and the fantastic views. Would definately return.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbinet, Owner at Oasis Marigot, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2015

Hi Philip, we're so happy to hear you enjoyed your honeymoon at our Vacation Club villas overlooking Marigot Bay.

And I have to say, you really nailed exactly what we're going for! You're right, what sets us apart from other self-catering villas is the extra hotel/concierge-like service we have with it to help you with all your needs, plan activities, organize taxi rides and sailing excursions, etc. So thank you for seeing it exactly as we do! :)

Marigot Bay definitely has a relaxed mood, which is why it's such a wonderful place to vacation. Please let us know when you decide to return :) and we'd be happy to help you find the perfect place to stay - and with the extra service to ensure you have a fantastic trip!

All the best, and see you soon! :)

Jacques Binette, Owner & Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2015

We spent ten days at the Oasis and enjoyed Marigot Bay a lot. It was at the beginning of the 'off season' (July) so not too busy or noisy. The weather wasn't bad - it rained at night (and only one day) with intermittent showers that were not bothersome at all, and not too hot (we never used the A/C). There are plenty of nearby restaurants - the food and view from Juliette's at the top are great and we liked the food and staff at Cafe Mygo on the water. Overall we found St Lucia expensive compared to what you get when travelling in other parts of the world (e.g., USA, Asia and Africa) but it is unique - it's clean, very lush and forested, with friendly people who are eager to please. My husband climbed Gran Piton, which he found invigorating, and we took the tram across the forest canopy in the interior, which we found underwhelming. I'd spend more time in the south if we go again, and doubt I'd bother with Rodney Bay again. Its for those who are keen to party. Pigeon Island needs to 'up its game' if its going to be a serious historical site, for paying to get in to walk around and see a few broken buildings and signs just isn't good enough. In the house we were bothered by mosquitos even though we sprayed, but at least they are not malarial (like Africa, which we know well). The accommodation at Oasis is not luxurious - but it is not as expensive as its neighbours; it is what I'd call 'basic'. The pool is small and shallow but clean and refreshing at the end of a hot day. The best part of Oasis is the staff who are very friendly and helpful. We used the buy-in food service which they offer, which delivers food bought from around the island...it adds a bit to the price, but it's easier and it accesses food we couldn't find at the local store. We didn't rent a car, but could have. Bring an International Driver's License or you have to buy a St Lucian one! Taxi services work but are expensive too. Drivers are friendly and reliable, but are not trained guides in the sense that they know St Lucia, the history, flora or fauna well. We were not aware that you must cross the bay by ferry to reach the Oasis - which is not a problem at all, though it requires a 'pass' that must be bought daily/weekly. Also, there is a tram that takes you & your luggage up the hill to your chalet, but steps for those feeling energetic. Crossing the bay and chatting with the locals on the ferry and beach add to the St Lucian experience! The steps inside the house are quite steep for those with little kids or elderly in the family. The view, though, is to die for! Finally, we found the birds on the patio enjoyable and learned to distract them by giving them bread and mango to keep them from stealing the breakfast from our plates.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank dcam45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbinet, Owner at Oasis Marigot, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2015

Hi there, thank you for your very thorough review covering so much in terms of accommodations, places to see, and things to do. And thank you for appreciating our staff so much. We take a lot of pride in their hospitality to our guests. We couldn't ask for better staff.

You covered it pretty well, but I'll just expand on a few of your points:

- Thank you for appreciating our beautiful, pristine, and lush island! We truly strive to deliver an authentic Caribbean experience, so it's nice to hear you enjoyed the small things like using the fairy to cross the bay, the little tram that takes you up the hillside, the local people, and the nature.

- The mosquitoes typically are not a problem, and we can even offer you some candles and other items if they seem to bother you. We do offer other accommodations that are more sealed off too if you need something more screened. For instance, our Villa St. Lucia right next to the Vacation Club Villas where you stayed is 100% screened.

- I guess you could say our Vacation Club Villas are basic in the sense that they're "self-catering" to someone who wants a comfortable accommodation with all the basic amenities (small kitchen, etc) without being too extravagant. They're well maintained, updated, and clean. And if you're looking for something more, we offer a variety of properties and villas that can truly cater to any need.

Happy you enjoyed the view of our beautiful bay from our Vacation Club Villas though. They're a simple escape from your everyday! :)

All the best and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to St. Lucia! ;)

Jacques Binette, Owner & Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2015

We stayed at Oasis Marigot for 2 weeks at the end of April after spending the first 2 weeks of April at Sandals Halcyon. We were pleasantly surprised. The property is very clean and well groomed. The pool was great and hardly ever used so we had it to our selves any time we wanted. Some lights installed would be excellent, then you could use the pool after dark.
The staff were helpful and friendly, Sam the manager is a great guy who has lots of information on things to do in the area. The day we arrived the office was closed but after a quick call to Sam he arrived at out door with a converter, which you need. Our villa, #7 was perfect, we were high enough up to get a great view of the whole bay. We didn't have air conditioning and only missed it a couple of times. The kitchen is adequate, the ants are a pain in the butt. Tip: store things like bread, cereal in the microwave or you will have ants. The villas were cleaned three times a week, with towels and linen changed. The maids were great and did an excellent job. Groceries are expensive in St Lucia, we found it just as cheap to go over to the store across the bay than pay a 60.00 water taxi ride to Casteries to pay almost the same price.
The restaurants in the area are good but pricey. Our favourite was JT's Mangrove, the food and service were excellent, the Chrisofene Au Gratin was to die for. Marsala was very good, we ate there our last night and the food and service were beyond great. The chef came out to check on us three times. We didn't try the Rainforest Getaway, we heard it was good but very expensive. Dolittle's which you have to walk through to get to the funicular is up and down, we had supper there one night and the food and service were sub par but we had breakfast there four mornings the steak and eggs were the best, I have had steak in nice restaurants for supper that weren't as good as that steak.
The villas are accessed by a funicular which is slow moving but very handy, there are a lot of steps.
The birds were amazing and not too pesky, we put out dry bread and a dish of water and were highly entertained by them bathing. We had them eating out of our hands.
I recommend you bring bug spray, we bought mosquito coils which helped, the whole front of the villa opens which is great but you do get mosquito's.
The beach that is for guest use is adequate, some of the vendors are a bit of a pain but if you complain to security they take care of them. There are 3 bars on the beach, the best one being the Roots bar, great food and the coldest beer, owned by a British expat and her Lucian husband, very nice people. My husband gave them a Root's tshirt and now we are family.
We would highly recommend Oasis Marigot to anyone and we will stay again.

Room tip: #7 is a great room and # 8 is right beside the pool, both face the bay.
Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Pepper52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbinet, Owner at Oasis Marigot, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2015

Thank you for your thorough and detailed review! We're happy to hear you "highly recommend us" and that you enjoyed your time with us here in Marigot Bay! There's some great tips in there for other travelers too, so thanks for taking the time to share all that.

I don't even have much to add to that, but to expand on a couple quick points:

- Yes the tiny little ants find there way into any house in the tropics, so storing foods in the fridge or other sealable containers is best! Microwave is a good tip!

- As most food items are imported in St. Lucia, they may be more expensive than what you're used to. There's also a local market in Castries where you can buy fresh produce and seafood from vendors that's usually not as expensive as a grocery store.

- We're lucky to have such a wonderful variety of restaurants in Marigot Bay, from local cuisine to Indian to fusion (Rainforest Hideaway). Rainforest Hideaway as you said is not cheap, but it's also the best-rated restaurant on the island and last I checked in the Caribbean! It's well worth at least one visit! :)

- There is a little trolley which takes you up the hillside to our villas. It's slow, but then again, life on the island is supposed to be that way :) (also safer that way)

- There can be mosquitoes especially in the rainy season (Aug-Nov), but the beds in all our accommodations have bed nets. Outside of those times, we generally don't have many comments from people about them being a bother. If they are for some reason, the grocery stores offers some solutions and we may have some repellent candles or something for you.

Thanks again! All the best in your future travels and we hope to welcome you back one day! :)

- Jacques Binette, Manager & Owner, Oasis Marigot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2015 via mobile

This was the first strip out of the United States for me, my girlfriend, and my mother. We had a beautiful time at Marigot Bay staying in the Oasis Vacation Club and sailing on Vertige.. we visited St. Vincent, Bequae, Tabago Cays, Young Island,and back to St. Lucia. We had a beautiful lobster BBQ on the beach in Tabago Cays that I will remember for the rest of my life. The staff on the boat and at the Vacation Club, were very friendly and helpful more than I could ask for. I hope that someday I can return to Oasis at Marigot Bay, and maybe go to the north next time. I recommend to everyone go and have a beautiful time as I did.

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank doubledmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbinet, Owner at Oasis Marigot, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2015

Hi Marc,

Such a pleasure to read about your land and sea adventures in St. Lucia and the Grenadines! Giving you a memory "that you won't forget for the rest of your life" is the pinnacle of what we strive to offer, so thank you so much for mentioning that.

We would be absolutely delighted to welcome you back for another adventure at sea one day! :)

- Jacques Binette, Manager & Owner, Oasis Marigot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2015

This is such a sweet and special place--12 sea houses with a wonderful view overlooking the bay. No roads on this side of the bay so you access via a little ferry. It adds to the experience. The houses are nicely kept and have a huge balcony where I spend large amounts of my time each of the 20+ times I have gone there. Seriously--I like it that much!. The staff is very helpful and kind, the grounds are nicely landscaped, and the ambience is restful. If you want big crowds, nightclubs, and shops look elsewhere, but if what you want is to slow down, rest, enjoy the beauty of the bay, have great food at the half dozen restaurants nearby, and enjoy the beauty of the island it is hard to imagine a better place than this.

Room tip: All the sea houses are well located.
Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayDaugherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbinet, Owner at Oasis Marigot, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2015

"Hard to imagine a better place than this" - WOW, thank you so much for seeing and enjoying exactly the type of "vibe" we offer, with a slowed-down, relaxed, and serene atmosphere. For sure the fact that there are no roads or access to the north side of the bay besides the ferry help keep it quiet and a truly authentic experience. We're very happy to hear you enjoyed it!

All the best to you and your future travels. Hopefully we can welcome you back here to paradise one day! :)

Jacques Binette, Manager & Owner, Oasis Marigot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews