We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ginger was a wonderfull little piece of paradise”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ginger Cottage

COME AND DREAM AT GINGER COTTAGE !
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
COME AND DREAM AT GINGER COTTAGE !
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
COME AND DREAM AT GINGER COTTAGE !
Ginger Cottage views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter, St. Lucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jimfromph...
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ginger was a wonderfull little piece of paradise”
Reviewed February 23, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
3
people found this review helpful

It started out very nicely when we were greeted at the airport by our driver Ernest and driven in his very clean and comfortable car. After 2 stops along the way (approx 1Hr) for a quick beer and some picturesque views we could feel the stress slipping away.This is a very nice touch included with your stay at Ginger, the driver, not the beers. I recommend taking advantage of this added amenity as we did. After a stressful day of flying and airports you don't want to have to drive in St Lucia, with everything that entails,driving can be very stressful here.If you’re renting a car wait and have the car dropped off at the parking lot above the bay’s ferry dock the next day. When you arrive at the dock George is there to ferry you across, the bay and get you all settled in helping with your luggage and any needs you have.

Well we had 10 wonderful days at Ginger Cottage, it was everything we needed. The cottage has exceptional beautiful sunsets every evening, quite, peaceful, very private. We really enjoyed the great views of the entire bay from the wraparound enclosed porch; I brought my binoculars and enjoyed watching the daily sail boat traffic in the mornings. The furnishings are very comfortable, a firm mattress and cool breezes led to some very restful nights, the whole living space is open to the great tropical breezes, there is no ac but we did not have a need for it our entire stay. There are ceiling fans throughout and that helped later in the day when the sun seemed strongest. The kitchen is small but definitely adequate to our needs,cooking breakfast and a few dinners as we did to save on dinning out.The cottage is very well maintained and clean with cleaning service almost daily, nice towels, beach towels, everything very clean and fresh.

We had a great visit but it was made even more special by the warm and generous hospitality of the entire Ginger family. Thanks to our gracious host Erica, Enrica and to George for answering all our crazy questions about his wonderful island. It was a pleasure to meet all of you and for Lisa and myself a highlight of our visit was the time we spent talking together.

I do not have anything negative to say, but you should be aware that there is an inclining tiled path leading up to the cottage and a set of approx 8 steps to the front door.This was not a problem for us and George is there to help if needed especially upon arrival and departure with your bags. Overall this was one of our most relaxing vacation accommodations.Give this special little cottage a try,you will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The veiws,location,privacy,cleanliness,
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkhardt
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Perfect setting for a restful holiday”
Reviewed January 20, 2012 for a stay in January 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Our week long stay at Ginger Cottage exceeded our high expectations. The views from the Cottage at all times of the day are magnificent - it is an ideal place for reading, relaxing or simply watching the arrival and departure of yachts to and from the Bay. We particularly enjoyed the many screened windows that enabled us to listen to the flow of the ocean and the sound of birds and frogs in the night. The Cottage is well furnished and well maintained - and the caretaker, George, is a gem. We loved having a kitchen so we could make our own breakfasts and lunches. There are a number of good restaurants within easy walking or ferry distance. We made use of the services of the Beach Club (ground level) and the Oasis Marigot (up the hill) to book our tours and they provided excellent service, even though we were not staying in their resorts. We had no phone, but found a pay phone in the Marina that served us well. While Ginger Cottage does not have wi-fi, you can access free wi-fi at the Yacht Club, Doolittles or the Marina. We would highly recommend Ginger Cottage to others planning to stay in Marigot Bay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful views from the cottage
Liked least: The cost of travel out of Marigot Bay
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newly7wed...
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely accomodations, great view, very private, friendly staff.”
Reviewed January 8, 2012 for a stay in November 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Ginger Cottage is perfect for that romantic getaway. The stunning location is very private with outstanding views and great staff. Everything in the cottage was in good working condition and it is very well maintained. If you want to explore the island, be prepared to rent a vehicle or pay expensive rates for taxis. Not included in the information about the cottage is the fact that there is no road to the property and you must cross the bay by ferry for the price of $2.00 USD per day per person. Also there is no phone at the property. We recommend that the owner have a cell phone available for guests and have the guests pay for the air time, especially if you will be booking tours, a taxi, renting a vehicle or just need directions. The property has no air conditioning but adequate fans to make it comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy and views
Liked least: Lack of telephone to communicate/book tours.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
popsicleC...
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Lovely Location”
Reviewed January 2, 2012 for a stay in December 2011
2
people found this review helpful

On entry to the cottage some might think it strange, huge bedroom, no kitchen in sight, microwave in dining area - but stay a day and you will find this cottage different but delightful. The sun room is an absolute gem, the two balconies are wonderful - and the birds do come and visit. The view is exquisite. The kitchne is very small but hey it is a vacation. The shortcomings of the cottage is for the meagre cost of $90 EC it would help if there were a phone in the cottage, hard to do anything without a phone. Second after a day outside it would be nice to come in and catch the BBC news - no television is a real drawback. No I am not inclined to spend my evenings at Doolittles (see restaurant reviews) and the lighting in the sun room is non-existant so after 6 p.m. there is no reading. The downside of this location is TRANSPORT - more on that later.
I have read that the south side of the bay is the preferential location, but the hills make that area prohibitive for anyone with leg and or back problems like me. We found the ferry service across the bay good and reasonably priced. The beach here is poor as is the water - this is really a ships channel but one can make this do if necessary. The restaurants include Doolittles, Chateau Mygo, JJ's, the Hurrican Hole, Rawlty's cafe, the Rainforest Hideaway and Julliette's. Those will be reviewed with the restaurants. One final mention should be made of the property manager at the Ginger Cottage - that would be George and he is a gem. I want to say more about transportation, and specifically that the lessor provides one way transportation from the airport to the Ginger cottage. That was certainly appreciated. However we did not appreciate the conduct of the taxi driver Ernest, after our initial trip with him to the cottage. I will say more about the island generally but I will not do that under the heading of accomodation.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: Captive at the cottage
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2012
Hi Elizabeth,

sorry if your stay in Ginger was not fully satisfayng also for
lack of informations from my side.
All your suggestion are very important for me.
Now we are giving a free cell phone an free Wi-Fi to our guest
and for the next season we provide tv for guest that want it.
Be also so kind to inform me what was wrong with Ernest.
I am now in st. lucia and I am doing my best to make Ginger
a perfect accomodation.
Thankyou. All the best. Erika.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts_ric...
london
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“supurb location”
Reviewed June 16, 2011 for a stay in June 2011
2
people found this review helpful

It was a long held dream to visit the Carribean and after a stay in Ginger Cottage all those dreams were fufilled.

The pictures on the website go only a little way to show just what a fantastic setting the cottage is located in, the views from the cottage are stunning and we spent many hours watching life sail in and out of Marigot Bay, the sunsets are truly magnificent and the views from the cottage are wonderful.

The cottage was furnished very comfortably and with all the appliances you would need to have a enjoyable stay, ceiling fans and a floor fan helped keep things cool, with the added breezes allowed via the screens the heat was never a problem and slept well all the time we was there.

There are good selection of places to eat around Marigot Bay, all within very easy reach of the cottage, the Doolittle Rest/Bar is only a few minutes walk and very convinient for a meal or even a nightcap after a night out.

I cannot praise highly enough the staff connected with the property, George who looks after the cottage and was on hand to help with anything, Rose the charming housekeeper, did a graet job of cleaning the cottage, Ernest the taxi driver who collected us from the airport and we used to organise seeing some of the island, lovely people who enhanced our stay all that much more.

I am not one that usually wants to return to previous holiday destinations, too much in the world I want to see, but this is one place I would want to go back to and Ginger Cottage is where I would stay again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles A romantic getaway
Older travelers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC, USA
Reviewed March 9, 2011 for a stay in February 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maine
Reviewed February 17, 2011 for a stay in February 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Liked best: Location, Views, Comfort, Clean, Cozy
Liked least: Can't think of a thing.
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing