We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Late Christmas present.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Pierhouse Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Appin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Late Christmas present.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Daughter stopped here for drinks with friends last year on a trip to Lismore. When I told her I was being taken away for the weekend by my wife, as a belated Christmas present, she suggested going to the pierhouse. Very glad we did. The weather was atrocious ( even the ferry struggled )but the warmth and friendliness of the staff more than made up for it. Dined both nights and loved everything we had. Great place ,great people. Continued success ,you deserve it.

Room Tip: Loch view is nice, in better weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbogan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissFamilyRobinson1, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thanks so much for your really nice review and we are delighted you enjoyed your belated Christmas present! I have shown your review to all the staff and they are really appreciative of your kind words. We will hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    105
    34
    14
    6
See reviews for
83
416
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Beautiful location & great food most definitely couldn't fault that... However the small room had a very dirty toilet (skidmarks anyone?), the carpet had lots of hairs on it, there wasnt a bath, we were there two days but the tea/coffee/milk wasn't replenished, we were treated to a barking dog in the room next door until midnight on our first night, plus there was the annoying and unrelenting whine of some sort of engine / machinery which we could hear in our room. Whatever was the source of the noise it appeared to be switched off about midnight and put back on at about 6:30am (by someone who opened and slammed the door). We think maybe it was a boiler room??? Plus guests returning from the bar were slamming doors and generally making a noisy nuisance of themselves until 1am. The room was half price through a deal but we're so glad we didn't pay full price. This is the first time I've had to complain about a hotel - very disappointed. We'd only booked in the 1st place cos of the raving reviews on Tripadvisor! Would recommend the hotel owners remove the noisy machinery, install door dampeners so people can't slam the doors and maybe put a sign up asking guests to keep the noise down when they return from the bar. And for crissakes don't allow guests to abandon their dogs in their rooms!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeordielassScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissFamilyRobinson1, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for your review although I am really struggling to recognise our hotel in amongst your negative comments. Our Housekeepers are always extremely diligent in everything they do so I find it incredibly difficult to fathom out your comments about the bathroom, the carpets and the teas/coffees. However if we are at fault I will take it on the chin and apologise but by your own admission our Tripadvisor reviews have been extremely good and therefore if this was anything more than a one-off it would have been picked up in a previous review. Nonetheless I apologise.
Regarding barking dogs all guests are reminded that their pets are not allowed to remain in the rooms unattended at any time and if for some reason a dog did bark I would have considered it perfectly reasonable for you to telephone reception whereupon a member of staff would have dealt with the issue immediately.
Concerning noisy engines/machinery and guests slamming doors we have never had any complaints about any of these issues however I will investigate all possible avenues of sound-proofing and can certainly put up a discreet sign to remind guests not to make a noise at night - which incidentally is highly unusual as we are renowned as a really quiet hotel.
Finally, it would have been far more beneficial for you if you had mentioned your complaints at the time whereupon we could have acted upon any particular issue there and then to immediately improve the quality of the experience of your stay. At very least you might have mentioned your concerns on check-out when our Reservations Manager could have discussed everything with you rather than simply having a go at us subsequently on Tripadvisor. If nothing else I am very pleased you enjoyed our 'beautiful location and great food' and hope you might be happy to at least come back and have a meal here at another time. Regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Just back from a wonderful Valentine's weekend at the Pier House.

The staff are the friendliest you might find anywhere and very helpful. The food the chef produces is just wonderful. We had the seafood platter last night - I don't know what I enjoyed most the oysters, the scallops or the tasty langoustines!!

We were in Room 2, it had an amazingly comfortable new bed, views over the loch to Lismore and an outside door which will be very helpful when we return in July with our dog!

Thank you all for a great weekend - see you in July.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pickytraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissFamilyRobinson1, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Many thanks for your wonderful review. Our number 1 priority is quality of service so to read your comments about our staff is extremely satisfying. I am delighted you enjoyed the quality of our food and will ensure that Chef and all the staff see this review. We look forward to seeing you again in July! Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

We have stayed at this hotel twice now and on each occassion it has been fabulous. The staff are really friendly and if you ask them for anything its done quickly and without fuss. This is a great wee hotel for a romantic break. Its a well run and the owners obviously take pride in both the hotel and the staff they employ. The food is just out of this world with a choice of sea food and scottish fare.

The rooms are beautifully decorated and spacious and warm - arron aromatics for the wee toileteries. They even have mugs in the rooms so that first cup of coffee/tea of the day is a large proper one.

We went up for new year this time and OMG what a fantastic time we had. Ate like royalty and our every whim catered for. They had a fire works display on at the bells which was great and even the weather complied by having a short break in the wind and rain. The chef out did himself in his nibbles. This has got to have been the best hogmany we have had in ages. Much food and wine and dancing.

Great hotel give it a go!!!!!

Room Tip: ask for a loch view its worth the extra to see the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pokeygumby64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissFamilyRobinson1, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
We have all appreciated reading your review from Hogmanay and am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. This year was extremely special and we have been astonished by the level and depth of compliments we have received about both our staff and the quality of our food. We endeavour to go the extra mile with attention to detail and I am really pleased that this is reflected in your feelings from your experience here at The Pierhouse. We will hope to see you again soon! Best wishes Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Not Handicap Friendly. Execlent rooms, bit small, nice decorations, super clean bath, though small. Location is isolated. Great sunsets and views of the Ocean. Locals in the bar are friendly and will visit with you.

Main trade is the Resturant which specalizes in fresh sea catch$$$. Outstanding worth the drive for a dinner.

Room Tip: Be sure to clarify which way the room faces, sea or hillside. Stairs are narrow, three floors and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VentureTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissFamilyRobinson1, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for your review and I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and our seafood. We have been looking carefully at how we can improve our facilities for handicapped people and am upgrading our facilities in specific rooms to make life easier. Incidentally we only have a ground and first floor (not three floors as you mention) but are currently looking at the feasibility of installing a lift nonetheless. Hopefully by the time you return we will have one! Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Had a great 3 day break at this lovely, comfortable hotel which is in a spectacular location looking across Loch Creran. Wanted a little bit of luxury and being looked after and we could not have chosen a better place for it. We visited Port Appin earleir in theyear and ate in the greta restaurt then - the experience certainly confirmed our desire to return to the area and this hotel. The staff are really friendly; they remembered us from the summer so we continued with the friendly conversations. Jeff the barman knows how to make superb G&Ts!!! We ate in the restaurant each night of our stay and were not diasappointed - the food is all locally sourced and fresh - the langoustine platter is fabulous if you don't mind getting a bit messy!! The quality of the fish and meat is unquestionable - my vension was just fabulous. \the wine list is pretty good with very reasonable house wines as well as fine wines for special occasions..

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainey73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissFamilyRobinson1, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Many thanks for your very nice review following your stay at The Pierhouse. It is very much appreciated by the staff to know that guests have enjoyed their time with us and you may wish to know that Geoff is still mixing the best G&Ts on the west coast and awaiting your return with relish! Come again soon! Kind regards Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Had a wonderful overnight stay in spa room (9). The room was lovely and spotlessly clean. Had a nice meal in the bistro. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff - all very friendly. Would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJL01782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwissFamilyRobinson1, Owner at The Pierhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
It was very kind of you to write such a complimentary review and I am extremely pleased you enjoyed your time with us. It is always nice to read positive comments about the staff who very much appreciated your compliments. We will hope to see you again in the not too distant future! Best wishes Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Appin
0.4 km away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Port Appin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
2.2 km away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
16.4 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 km away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
18.4 km away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
17.1 km away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pierhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pierhouse Hotel

Property: The Pierhouse Hotel
Address: Port Appin PA38 4DE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Port Appin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Port Appin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pierhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views to the islands of Lismore and Mull, our intimate twelve bedroom hotel, bar and renowned seafood restaurant has won a fast-growing reputation as one of Argyll's most idyllic and romantic destinations. We pride ourselves on the freshness & quality of our seafood and local meats, sourcing most of our food locally. We strive to offer our guests something different - a personal and relaxed family atmosphere, stunning location and deliciously fresh food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travelocity.ca and LateRooms so you can book your The Pierhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pierhouse Hotel Seafood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing