We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First impressions.”
Review of Bayside Guesthouse

Bayside Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bayside Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 21 Porthcawl B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Arrived a little early to attend the local carnival in the town, Parking is limited on the road side but we did find one close by. Looking up at the Guest House we thought OK well it's only for a night, Beer cans in the window and locked doors with a Mobile number to call when you arrived. We left the car where it was and came back at 15:00hrs as instructed by the Landlord as no entry before 14:00hrs. Room was in the Attic and no windows so in the Summer it's very warm up there. 5 Beds in the room we only wanted 2 so plenty of room to crash out. No toilet in the room it was down on the next floor so make sure you take PJ,s with you. Tea / Coffee in the rooms but it's NOT a B&B as advertised it's a sleep only Guesthouse. Rooms are clean with towels but very close together so you can hear the room next door talking. A quiet night and out by 10am as we went in search of a Cafe for food. Never seen anyone when we left so keys left in a box in the hallway. Good location and very relaxed.

Room Tip: No toilets in the rooms and NO Food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spike8744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

Thankyou ever so much to Les for accommodating us when I ballsed up fair play for the price we paid I was shocked at the location!! Directly by the side of the hi-tide smack bang in the middle of it all!!! Perfect location, perfect room, perfect host, perfect housekeeper!!! Such lovely welcoming people. Room was basic but again.... perfect for us!! :) see you again very soon Les!!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank welsh31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

We wanted somewhere central,good value, clean and comfortable.The Bayside ticked all the boxes.
Check-in was simple and everything was explained to us thoroughly by the very pleasant lady.
We stayed in the on-suite room overlooking the front of the property.The room size was more than adequate with plenty of space for clothes and bags.There was tea and coffee making facilities,table,chairs,tv and even a microwave oven.
The shower room was exceptionally clean and looked quite newly refurbished.
There is nothing wrong with this place at all.If you want a clean,value for money,pleasant place to stay,then the Bayside will not disappoint.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank brent k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

A friend of mine booked us a night here so we could celebrate a birthday in Porthcawl.

It's in a perfect location, right on the beach front and between the amusements and it's nice and cheap too.

The room and hallways were very clean and tidy, the beds were firm but for someone who suffers with back issues it was perfect. Parking can be rather limited, I think, but as long as you listen to them when they tell you where to park you'll be fine. We parked two cars all night with no problems.

The room I stayed in was one with an ensuite. They give you nice little soaps and shampoos to you, I noticed which I honestly didn't expect. It was a nice surprise, but I didn't end up using any as I had to leave early to get back home.

In short, a warm, comfortable, clean room in a wonderful location for a brilliant price ran by some friendly and helpful people. What more could you ask for for such a reasonable price?

My only real complaint, is that I didn't get to meet the owner to let him know how amused I was by his replies to some of the stupid reviews that have been left about this place. I often purposefully read the bad reviews, because how an owner reacts to them often tells you more about the people who run the place. His replies to unreasonable negative reviews are hilarious!

So, if you get around to reading this review, Mr. Owner of Bayside. KUDOS, keep up the good work to you and all your staff!

Room Tip: Choose the ensuite if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank owainbanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights had adjacent rooms at the top of the house. Lovely and clean, good sized rooms. Tea and coffee and kettle in the room also a microwave. Flat screen TVs on the wall. Plenty of plug sockets, even had small fans if it was too hot. We asked if it was possible to have a fridge as we were bringing a 4 month baby so that we could store his milk, that was in the room waiting.
Literally on Coney beach which is a lovely flat sandy beach. Places to eat right there or by driving into Porthcawl there were more to choose from.
The bathrooms were clean and nice walk in showers. Sinks in the rooms, the only reason I didn't give 5 stars is the shared bathrooms. However for the price you can't complain. I would definitely stay there again. To the people who wrote bad reviews all I can say is 1) you are only there to sleep and the beds were lovely and comfortable and 2) if you want 5 * luxury then you need to pay more than the price at the Bayview.
Thank you Les for having us

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank sipwhiskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

This guest house is situated central to the High tide and funfair walking distance around 3 minutes each lovely clean bedding comfy beds clean bathroom facilities friendly owner and easy to check in would definitely go back and woukd definitely recommend

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Sioan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Great little b&b, friendly owner, friendly cleaner.
Had everything we needed for a one night stay. Clean rooms, tea/coffee making facilities, comfy chairs and table in my room. So close to the sea and quiet at night. Would stop there again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porthcawl hotels
0.7 km away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#5 of 6 in Porthcawl
54 reviews
0.8 km away
Olivia House
Olivia House
#1 of 21 in Porthcawl
297 reviews
5.1 km away
Green Acre Motel
Green Acre Motel
#1 of 1 in North Cornelly
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
188 reviews
0.6 km away
The Porthcawl Hotel
The Porthcawl Hotel
#6 of 6 in Porthcawl
129 reviews
0.9 km away
Seabank Hotel
Seabank Hotel
#1 of 6 in Porthcawl
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Guesthouse

Address: 70 Mackworth Road, Porthcawl CF36 5BT, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Bridgend County > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Porthcawl
Price Range: $78 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayside guest house is ideally situated, 45 meters from the beach in Porthcawl, Bridgend.The house offers comfortable guest bedrooms which include single, double, triple and twin rooms, prices include breakfast.Porthcawl is the ideal holiday destination, with stretches of fine beaches, great food options and only a few miles to the main towns and cities of South Wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bayside Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Guesthouse Porthcawl, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing