We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel”
Review of Seabank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seabank Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Porthcawl
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Located on the seafront, a little dated but large comfortable room.

Have stayed in Leisureplex hotels on other occasions so had an idea of what to expect.

Five-night stay with breakfast and evening meal. Fair choice from menu with vegetarian options available. Also cater for allergies if notified prior to meal.

Evening entertainment on four of the five nights, plus the usual bingo sessions.

Good base to explore from as lots of places to visit within easy reach. You would require own transport although public transport available.

Slip mat for shower provided on request with no question, unlike Kelston Guest House in Weymouth who made a big thing of it.

Staff friendly and helpful, overall a very enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Sea views available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 1951Ant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2017

We booked this as we were visiting friends and family during the week. Outside appearance was a bit shabby but the inside was warm and welcoming. Our room was on the third floor and was very clean and very large with kingsize bed and plenty of storage in wardrobe and desk/chest by the window.The bathroom was very spacious and clean with corner shower. We were well please and with a side view towards the sea and activity of the promenade it suited us fine. We had breakfast at the hotel and service was great perfectly served with lovely white.linen table cloths.Food was served very quick and very good quality.

Room Tip: we were top floor very quite and children were at school.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Hotel is very run down and tried
Hotel for coach parties of oap
Room was ok spacious and clean with a comfy bed
Breakfast was fible...not a lot of service in hotel bar times are poor and can't order food unless booked in .

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank chappers131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately our stay at the hotel was disappointing. The location is convenient but the hotel is tired and staff were abrupt and unhelpful. The bed was uncomfortable and breakfast was poor. Having stayed here before the difference in the hotel is considerable. The price for a room is fairly expensive too so more is expected. In all despite the hotel being tired it is the attitude of the staff and the way I was made to feel like a pain for anything asked such as enquiries about breakfast time or asking what time check out was!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dottyrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed here 5 years running for the Elvis weekend, every year the hotel goes down hill, this year was the worse by far, I think we are now going to look at other hotels to stay while in porthcawl, over half the restaurant staff struggle to speak English.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Cwn-Poeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Our room was clean and comfortable but overlooking bins and kitchen door. Before each service staff gathered propped against bins smoking and drinking. Public rooms had litter there on the Sunday we arrived and still on floor the following Saturday when we left. Same in dining room cornflakes spilled by waiter on Monday morning still there on the Saturday.Windows blown in dining room and one in lounge had no hinge so couldn't close it. Plaster inside windows crumbling where rain comes in.

Food was terrible. 5 out of our 6 nights no bread rolls. One night roast potato on my plate frosted with salt, was it from someones plate on an earlier sitting? Parsnips so burnt you couldnt put a fork into them. Apple pie I doubt saw the oven crisp on top as if it had been under the grill and rest of pastry RAW. Kale has never seen water let alone hot water. OH likes cheese selection but no exaggeration an oxo cube would have been bigger than the blue cheese that came. Watered orange juice for breakfast. One lady ordered sausage and egg, one sausage came alone on dinner plate followed 15 mins later by a fried egg. Cutlery and crockery mucky, teapots with lids broken.

No chance of tea or a sandwich during the day.

We went with independent coach company not Alfa and paid £850 for 2 of us for 6 nights. We had to have cases outside room at 6.30 am for 10 o'clock departure as porters finish work at 7 am. They were moaning they had a lot of cases to move before they went home.

This hotel is run for the convenience of the staff not the guests. Our questionnaire has been sent directly to Leisureplex head office.

Do not be fooled into thinking this is a 3* hotel it most certainly is not.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Yassos9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

My friend and I have recently returned from yet another lovely holiday with Alfa Tours, this time staying at this hotel on the seafront in Porthcawl. The hotel is very nice, public rooms well presented. The dining is especially bright and airy. The bedrooms were very clean and well appointed, the bathroom was really very nice with an excellent walk in shower.What power! The hospitality tray in the room was replenished daily and clean towels on request. THe food was very good, very varied and plenty of choice. The staff in the dining room were very friendly and efficient, The Reception staff were always on hand to help in their cheerful, friendly way. The entertainment was good - lets face it the Welsh seem to all be good singers! The weather was excellent the week we were there, so me enjoyed the tours out, especially to Cardiff which is a beautiful city, lots to see - a castle, lovely shops which we gave a miss in order to enjoy a cruise out into Cardiff Bay. A good driver, Steve, who was very informative about the area. All in all a very enjoyable, relaxing holiday.
We would visit again.

By the way, a sea view is very well worth the extra.supplement.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Murrayhowse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthcawl
0.2 km away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#5 of 6 in Porthcawl
53 reviews
0.2 km away
Fairways Hotel
Fairways Hotel
#4 of 6 in Porthcawl
186 reviews
0.3 km away
The Porthcawl Hotel
The Porthcawl Hotel
#6 of 6 in Porthcawl
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Best Western Heronston Hotel & Spa
0.2 km away
Foamedge Guesthouse
Foamedge Guesthouse
#3 of 6 in Porthcawl
63 reviews
13.5 km away
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
Coed-Y-Mwstwr Hotel
#1 of 8 in Bridgend
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seabank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabank Hotel

Address: Esplanade, Porthcawl CF36 3LU, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Bridgend County > Porthcawl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Porthcawl
Price Range: $106 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seabank Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seabank Hotel - Porthcawl (3 Alpha & AA 3-Star). Porthcawl's most prominent building is situated on a headland, a short walk from the Grand Pavilion and John Street shops. There are spectacular views of the Bristol Channel and South Wales coast from the bar, restaurant and most bedrooms. All 89 bedrooms are centrally heated and have bath or shower and WC, hair dryer, TV, internal telephones and tea/coffee making facilities. Extensive public areas include the Smuggler's Bar, Garden Restaurant and large function room with entertainment most evenings. The lift serves all floors. Extensive car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Seabank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seabank Hotel Porthcawl, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing