We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$97
US$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$104
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wee Row Hostel(Lanark)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$87
US$85
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No 58(Lanark)
Booking.com
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,204)
Filter reviews
2,206 results
Traveller rating
1,570
496
92
32
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,570
496
92
32
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold millheritage siterobert owenleisure facilitiesheritage centrefirst classself cateringstunning locationcotton millshort breakview of the riverlovely hotelwell worth a visitclyde fallsrelaxing breaknight breakstrawberries
Filter
Updating list...
2,141 - 2,146 of 2,206 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2008

Visited hotel with friends for murder mystery weekend , had an absolutely fantastic time, service was excellent and friendly , rooms were large, freshly
decorated and clean , we stayed in The Clyde Suite , was massive with bath robes and sound of the Clyde river to soothe you to sleep .
The event itself kept us amused through a great 4 course dinner ... there must have been a couple of hundred people at the event, however, hot , good
quality food was served promptly by an army of waiters . It's hard to find anything negative to say about our stay at this hotel ... even the spa facilities were
lovely , we relaxed at the side of the pool after a pre dinner party in our room . Breakfast was as good as the dinner ... hot and cold buffet with additional choice
of freshly made pancakes , omelettes, Smokies with oatcakes, scrambled eggs etc etc . After breakfast we did the Clyde Falls walk which starts from the hotel ...
All in all a great time was had by all , excellent value for money and will definitely be booking up again for next year

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeanieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2008

My husband and I had visited the area before but this autumn was our first stay at The New Lanark Mill Hotel. How lovely to walk into our bedroom and look out the window at the fast flowing Clyde. Other visitors in their reviews mention the noise of the river, but for us, that was the beauty of the place. We sleep with the window open and the noise lulled you to sleep.
The situation is excellent with a lovely walk to the Falls of Clyde. We went on two consecutive days! The golden leaves on the trees and the beauty of the river were uplifting.
Our room was clean and spacious, with a good sized bathroom. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was truly sumptious. I had scrambled egg and smoked salmon on two mornings. We did not need lunch! There was a good menu at dinner and our food was delicious and served by a friendly waiting staff.
A wedding took place whilst we were there and the staff tried to tidy up quickly after the wedding party left the reception area messy to go to the conference suite for their meal.
In fact we enjoyed our stay so much that we came back for an extra night instead of moving to Glasgow.
I would reccommend this hotel for a quiet, restful retreat, to enjoy the wonders of nature and appreciate the social history of the mill.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CausewayCoastVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2008

I have just returned from 3 days at the New Lanark Hotel - and wished we could have stayed several more days at least.

The entire site is testament to how World Heritage sites can be sympathetically restored and yet still provide superb service for the 21st century.

The New Lanark hotel enjoys a stunning setting in a gorge of the River Clyde which runs alongside the hotel. Most rooms seem to have a Clyde view - and it is true to say that the river is very noisy - but this is part of the charm and the setting.
This fast flowing river provided the power to the mills.

The rooms are lovely - tastefully and comfortably furnished and with lovely powerful showers, plenty of white fluffy towels and clean and spacious bathrooms.
The beds are also very firm - which is good for anyone with backache or arthritis!

The staff on reception are polite and helpful and check-in is speedy and efficient.

Sheila and the staff in the dining room are superb and efficient. Some of the meals tend to go for quality perhaps over quantity - some members of our party felt hungry afterwards - but it was well cooked and the sauces were superb.

Breakfast is an all you can eat buffet with hot and cold choices, plenty of juice, coffee, toast etc etc.

The site of New Lanark itself is just amazing. The history behind the place with its philanthropic history of Robert Owen who provided social housing, schools, sick pay and good food at fair prices is of course a forerunner of today's Co-operative movement and a reminder to all of how the whole world should be.

There are many walks around the area and grounds and plenty to keep youngsters amused - not least the Millenium Experience which owes a lot to Disney!

The roof garden is wonderful as are the shops, the school and all the various features contained within this site.

Anyone who is interested in social history should visit New Lanark - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2008

My husband and I and a few friends were recently invited to attend a wedding at the hotel. I am sure I am a friend of Termin8tor in an earlier review as my complaints are very similar!! When we called to reserve our room we were told there were only twin rooms left. This didn't please me too much but had to be endured I suppose. That is until one of our friends called after us and was given a double room.
We called back and were told it would be sorted and we would be given a double room when we arrived. We weren't. It has to be said that the girl on reception was so incredibly unhelpful. There was no apology, no attempt to appease anyone, she just brazened her way through and seemed completely disinterested. I was NOT happy with her.

However, we went to our room and it was clean, nicely decorated and fitted out with everything one could need. The wedding went without a hitch (pardon the pun) and the rest of the day was absolutely fabulous. The waiting staff, bar staff and everything else about the day was great. The girl on the bar downstairs was very knowledgeable when my friend and I occasionally disappeared for some 'fresh air' and we all had a ball. The wedding breakfast was lovely and the breakfast the following morning was nice too. We were only given one key card to the room which could be a bit of a nuisance but apart from that I enjoyed my stay. Still, was really disappointed with the girl on the desk, first impressions and all that!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S8dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2008

On the website, the hotel says that check-in is normally at three, but earlier-check in can be arranged.
This is not so, except for very few. Apparently, housekeeping are only able to prepare up to five rooms per day for earlier booking.
So if, like us, you are travelling a long distance to a wedding, you'll have to travel in your finery, as there will be no where for you to change on arrival, unless you want to hop about the foyer in your undies! Although the girl who took my call was sympathetic, she could offer no more than a "request" for an earlier check-in, with no guarantee that a room woulod be available on arrival.

Have not arrived at the hotel yet - more to follow!

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank Termin8or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews