We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel J

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel J
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Nacka
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

A group of us stayed here for Midsommar last year and thought the hotel was wonderful. The hotel is in a beautiful spot and is simply and tastefully decorated. Location probably not ideal for a city break visiting Stockholm but great for a relaxing time by the water.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    199
    25
    4
    2
See reviews for
92
250
23
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

This is a lovely little hotel about 8km east of Stockholm Centre on the southern shore of the inlet. It is a little inaccesible but I think buses and trains are may be 10 mins walk away at Nackastrand. The water bus goes there too. The hotel has a sister restaurant located nearby but a nice buffet breakfast is served in the hotel.

Most rooms look out onto a cliff but they all have balconies and you can see the sea.

A taxi from the airport takes about 30 mins and will cost about 170usd. Everything in Sweden is expensive.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hymerbeliever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sofia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

nice hotel but very far from the center.
It is about 15 minets with taxi and the cost for one way is around 300 SEK.
The hotel is beautifull,well furnished but we stayed in a new part which was not ready.
We didn't have slepers and the mini bar was empty.
The resurant close at 22 h but we arrived very late and couldn't order any food because everything was close.
Also they do not have room service.
The hotel is too pricey for what they offered.

Room Tip: chose room in the old part and with see view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valiaveselinova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

This hotel is very nice and located in a charming setting close to the water. The rooms are normal sized and modern (flatscreen TV, safety box, wifi, wrobes etc). The breakfast is as expected for a hotel in this class.

If you are on business in the area the place is great but for tourism I would chose a hotel closer to the city center. If you don't take a taxi you can get to the center by boat or bus/subway.

Another hotel you can check out in the area is Elite Hotel Marina Tower which have the same standard..

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DBorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

I loved this hotel!! It helped that the crisp autumnal weather made for lovely views and sitting next to the harbor. You have to know what to expect. This is not a hotel in the city centre, so if you are going for that urban experience, stay in Stockholm central. There are ferries to take you into the city, but the time of year we went, they were not frequent.

The hotel staff is super helpful and spirted. The location, right on the water, makes it feel like a relaxed yacht club. There is a nautical theme and the staff wears Gant unifroms. Very relaxed, chilled place to destress. The room is clean and modern and the you feel like you are on your own private club. The time of year we were there, the air smelled of wood burning fires...I felt like I was in New England.

The rerfurbished house on the lake is darling and can be hired out for private functions. It houses breakfast and a bar with a delightful barman who was happy to keep the bar running to whatever time we wanted.

Down the harbor a bit is the J Restaurant . The man running the the restaurant could not have been more charming and the food was delicious. You can board the ferry here to Stockholm central. Or, just sit on one of the big wooden chairs, watch the world go by and enjoy a glass of wine.

I am already planning a return trip!! It's a hidden gem to relax and stay at, with Stockholm city center a short ferry ride away. A real treat!

Room Tip: get a sea view!! Definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 45Addison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincennes, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

This swedish-design hotel offers comfortable rooms and a very pleasing sea view at a reasonable price. I stayed in a 4-people room (two children on a convertible couch and my wife an I on a king size double bed) and all of us appreciated our stay.
Staff is welcoming and helpful.
Breakfast is above average, but the room may get overcrowded at peak hours.
Our main gripes were:
1. The renovation works in progress during our stay. It was nearly finished.
2. Boat rides to city are irregular (we were hoping to rely on those rather than the bus).
3. Catching the return bus in the evening may lead to long waits.
4. The hotel restaurant (restaurant J) is actually 100m walk from the hotel. This can be a nuisance under heavy rain.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laulu_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stayed here for a hen weekend. Upon arrival I was taken back at how pretty the hotel itself is and it is right beside the water with beautiful views of the sea. The rooms are very clean and I really liked the nautical theme. Beds were very comfy.
The eating area is not very big or spacious but it does give a very homely feel with a fire burning nearby and lots of comfy armchairs to slouch in to. The staff were very helpful at all times and would assist with anything at the drop of a hat.
I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel to a friend

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobo2625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nacka
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 159 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 159 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 159 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 159 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel J? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel J

Property: Hotel J
Address: Ellensviksvagen 1, Nacka 131 27, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Nacka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Nacka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel J 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to J, Stockholm’s Newport. Archipelago and city combined. The modern, nautical design of the luxury Hotel J inspires visitors to experience the city from the waterfront then relax in the comfort and tranquility of Stockholm's answer to Newport. Hotel J is a unique and convenient base for your stay in Sweden's capital city. The hotel is situated just by the inlet of Stockholm’s harbor, and ferries run regularly between the wharf next to Restaurant J and central Stockholm. Most of the beautiful hotel rooms have a balcony or their own patio with a view of one of the world’s most beautiful harbour entrances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel J reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
j Nacka Strand Hotel
j Nacka Strand Stockholm
Hotel J Stockholm County/Nacka, Sweden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing