We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely house

A small but lovely house with friendly room guides. It didn't open until 12 when I visited. There... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
benkernow
,
United Kingdom
via mobile
Great Tudor house .

This us jointly managed by the National Trust and the local council. A lovely house with much of... read more

Reviewed November 5, 2018
daddytommy
,
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 285 reviews
  
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveller rating
86
129
52
16
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
129
52
16
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national trust knowledgeable guides on display worth a visit small car park tea room is elizabethan house stately home family history training ground victorian times interesting building original features gardens are lovely long gallery interesting information toasties
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 285 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2017 via mobile

This property is worth a visit as it has good gardens and walks and the house has some wonderful ceilings which are hundreds of years old and unusual in these properties as most houses have such bland and plain ceilings. The staff are well informed and helpful. There are plenty of rooms to see over 3 floors and several display s of embroidery which was the art of a former resident. There are some good unspoilt views and a good area to paint or photograph. The cafe is a fair size with a restricted choice of food and the car park is not the largest. The entry is very fair and worth the cost more than some trust properties

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank U5601UXpaulw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2017

A well kept property with very informative staff and the embroidery / lace displays were amazing. I am from this area originally and never knew of its existence but would like to return for future visits.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank barrynuttall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2017

The guides spoke clearly and passionately and really brought Gawthorpe Hall to life learned so much, this is the best National Trust property I have been to, although in the book it said it opened at 11 when it opened at 12. Why are they not open in a morning

Date of experience: September 2017
3  Thank katykins44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2017

Although we live locally this was our first visit here. It was Heritage day so it was free entry, it is usually £3 for pensioners and children and I think £7 for adults. The hall is well kept with some of the beautiful original furniture. There were needle work displays in some rooms. The kitchen was a high point very well preserved. Outside the gardens were well kept and although it was raining looked good. There is a picnic area, a well run café and it was free parking not sure if that was just for that day. We will visit again, on the weekend of this December 2/3 they are doing a Victorian Christmas with the hall decorated and the volunteers dressed up for that occasion so that is worth a visit.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank LancashireSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2017 via mobile


We visited on a day out as this was a fairly local National Trust property which we hadn't previously seen. Although not a huge amount of gardens, those visible were well kept. We utilised the restaurant first and then visited the Hall. The Hall is well kept and very pleasant to visit. The displays of needlework are excellent. We enjoyed our visit and hope to revisit at some stage in the future.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank Lionel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews