We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Star Hotel but a 5 Star Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“3 Star Hotel but a 5 Star Holiday”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

What a Fantastic week. This is a great place to relax. Thomson Gold so no children. Everyone was so friendly, guests and staff. Great Food, something for everyone. Spotlessly clean hotel, the cleaning staff never stopped. Bar staff and waiters were great always a smile on their face. The Thomson staff were great from the advisors to the the entertainers. Watch this space Adam and Selina will go on to bigger and better things. The resort is very small and there is not a lot outside the hotel, a few bars and restaurants. The beach is absolutely beautiful, a bit of a climb but there is a free bus from the hotel. Enjoy, we did.

Room Tip: Sea facing, sun in the morning brilliant view over bay. Pool facing, sun in the afternoon, restricte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geordierobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear geordierobert!
We are very happy that you had a very nice time at our Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa. We are pleased that you were satisfied with our rooms, variety of food, location, entertainment and staff of the hotel. Thank you very much for your compliments and advice and we hope to see you again at the Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa or at another Fiesta Hotel Group hotel/resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    633
    283
    52
    30
See reviews for
173
1,270
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (852)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

First thing to bare in mind when reading this review is that its written by someone age 27 and a half; while remembering the average client is 55+ there may be a few contrasts.

On arriving at the hotel i have to say i was dissapointed as our previous holidays have been in stunning new build resorts aimed at the 5 star end of the market. Once i'd got past this though you start to appreciate the fiesta for what it is.

We went all inclusive so i guess that makes us part of the AI brigade that sit by the pool as mentioned in another review. This meant that everything was easy when it came to food and drink. On checking in at the hotel though there are a few extras you have to pay for. A 10 euro deposit per beach towel, 10 euro for the tv remote (despite only two channels being available), a daily charge for the safe (unfortuntely my partners necklace went missing from the room) and a charge for the iron.

Massive plus is the location of the hotel. We went for somewhere that was quiet so we could completely relax. located a two minute walk from the hotel is a beautiful cove beach. This very quiet, clean and picturesque beach was beautiful and the sea was gorgeous, we wish we'd spent more time down there. The pool area is clean if not slightly small as theres lots of beds out and big kudos to the waiting staff who ask for drinks every few minutes.

Food was great in the resort. lots of selection and it was always hot, well cooked and the 'live' chefs were always on good form cooking fresh dishes for you. The waiting staff are very task driven and cope well with a high turnover of covers, this can come accross as abrupt service but with what they have to deal with i think is spot on. the waiting staff are always friendly and welcoming, and to be fair after a long split shift day you might be a bit edgy too.

The entertainment of the resort is what really saved the venue for me. the activities team including celina who was always professional and controlled the stage well and then adam, possibly one of the butchest, straightest men ive ever met......in a silver cat suit. His camp style suited the hotel to a tee, centre of attention, over hyped but god did it work! the resident band.... well.... the word mullet springs to mind. Maybe its a generational thing but i felt that was a bit more benidorm stylie. The hired in entertainment could have been better but the highlight was the thomson advisor teams 'thomsons got talent' where they had no shame in embarassing themselves for our benefit. Emily (the newest member of the team) could teach me to play the spoons any day.

Special mentiones to the waiting team for keeping us topped up and sozzled in the evening mateo and juan (my girlfriends eye candy for the week) and to emily for giving me something to look at that week apart from doris and vera.

Its not aimed at the yoot market but if you want something relaxing, a bit camp but with no real hassle it was a great holiday.

Room Tip: sea view is a must due to the gorgeous cove
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank neilpreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear neilpreece!
Thank you very much for your comments and advice. We are pleased that you had a nice stay at our Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa and that you are satisfied with our staff, food, animation and location of the hotel. We are happy that you still spent nice vacations and we hope to see you again in one of our Fiesta Hotel Group resorts in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We've just returned from a week at the hotel and had a very relaxing time. After reading the reviews before we left we weren't sure what to expect. The hotel is in a lovely position and highly recommend upgrading to a sea view as the beach here is stunning. We opted to go all inclusive but if we went again we would definately go half board so we could spend more time on the beach as although we read comments about the long and steep walk to the beach it really wasn't too bad but then we were probably one of the younger guests of the hotel being 27! and it was actually quite nice to burn off the calories from all the lovely food.

The thing that made our holiday were the staff - the entertainment team of Adam and Salina were absolutely fantastic and make a good team,always guaranteed a laugh with those two around! :) However i would say the evening entertainment is a bit routine and unfortunately did not enjoy the resident duo 'Double Trouble' lovely couple but the music is obviously geared to the older audience. The bar staff are also fantastic!

Only negatives were having to pay a 10euro per person deposit for the pool towels, a charge for the safe and also 10euro deposit for the TV remote if you wanted it...it really isnt worth it for the 2 channels you get..just press the button on top of the TV and you dont need a remote. When we've stayed at other Thomson hotels we've never had to pay deposits for anything so was a but unexpected.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday. I would definately visit again

Room Tip: Definately upgrade to a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laurab2040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear laurab2040!
Thank you very much for your comments and advice. We are very happy that you had a very nice time at our Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa. We are pleased that you are satisfied with our staff, especially the entertainment team. We hope to see you again at the Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa or at another Fiesta Hotel Group hotel/resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Ok heard lots of reviews about this hotel so willbe totally honest- its on a hill to get to the beach entails lots of steps grea going down but hard coming back - however the beach is amazing and worth the steps. It is a very quiet resort and apart from the hotel their are only 2 local bars, the aussie bar run by a spainard lol and the irish bar - very pricy though 2 vodkas and lemondae were 11 euros. There is a good Spar shop selling everything you need and a small souvenior shop - that is it the resort. The hotel is very clean and comfortable lots of comy leather bigh seats to sit and relax. Food is excellent and lots of choice something for eveyone, they do clear your plates very quickly which can be annoying but butby the middle of the week we would make a joke about it and try to guess how long it took to move them - very annoying that you had to sign for every drink you had even water - Entertainment Well where to start - ADAM (future TV Star) you are fantastic however you need to change the routine its vey much like butlins - Resident DUO are rubbish bin em - out of 7 days only 2 good acts were on - Selina you need transferring to 18-30 this hotel is not suited to you- other reps one walked around like dolly dimple - and the other didn't care that we had been mis sold a trip thinking it was a boat trip (in fact was a coach trip) she never corrected us and when we commented when we came back she ignored us. Ben very knowledgable about the area need to know anything then just ask him.

The rooms are basic but very clean, 10 euro deposit for remote for tv but be warned you only get bbcnews and bbc2 - 10 euro deposit for beach towels - the pool is freezing this is not heated and neither it the whirlpool (big downside as a lot of eldery at this hotel) but for peace and quiet you cant fault the hotel or the area- no kids is a fantastic bonous - all inclusive meals do not include bar snacks - there are no snacks allowed around the pool area (they dont do them) and after dinner if you are pekish later on after a few drinks there is no where to get a snack - unless you go to Aussie bar who do take away pizza's or get some snacks from Spar to have with your drinks - we did and nobody bothered i.e, crispsn nuts

Ok would i go back to this hotel - DEFO despte what i have said those are the downsides - the upsides are a fantastic loaction total peace and quiet good value for money (make sure you pay extra for a sea view amazing) hire a car though for a few days soyou can get to see the rest of the island

Room Tip: book a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire England
Level Contributor
125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Our first impression of this hotel was not good. We had booked all inclusive, but when we arrived we found that only the house wine - limited selection was on our list. We had to pay to hire the safe, but were then given the combination which we could not change. If we wanted an iron we could hire one for 5 Euros a day. So we got off to a poor start. BUT, the hotel won us over! We'd sent an e mail and asked for a high room, we were on floor 5 of 6, we were at the back of the hotel but still had a partial sea view. The staff are plentiful and happy, not all speak English, but these tend to be the restaurant staff who clear the tables. The bar waiting staff are superb, I think everyone will have their favourite, we particularly liked Zayda, who can dance too! The desk staff are really helpful and friendly. Selina, who is a Thompson employee and one of the entertainment team is good at her job, but is overshadowed by Adam who is a real star. Anyone working with him will be put in the large shadow he casts, he seems to have a way with everyone. The food was plentiful and of a very good standard, everything from Burger to freshly cooked pasta and grilled fish. You will not go hungry here. The evening entertainment is what you make of it. The acts were good for our week and all bar the comedian had people up and dancing. The resident duo will never release a record, but we liked them. If you have a request they'll sing it, if they don't know it they'll learn it in a couple of days and they know how to work the crowd. This part of Menorca is very quiet and peaceful, it was so quiet. Not a lot to see if you want shops, but we took a guided walk with Ben to the next village along the coast and it was heaven. So, overall - we liked the hotel. We rarely go back as we prefer to find new places to visit but we will probably visit this beautiful island again in a few years.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndyH401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Hotel clean and spotless , pool area nice with waiters coming around to serve you all the time , food was ok with a lot of choice , I agree with the other posters about the dining room staff , they are very swift in clearing tables , i know it has to be done to have a clean table for the next person , but , they have no manners , they dont welcome you when you enter just point at a table for you to sit on , they dont interact with you either , you seem to be an inconvience to them !! bit stressful at times to be honest !! , The entertaiment was ok some good acts some bad , but we enjoyed all of them , the little train that stops outside is good to pass an hour , it takes you around the local area , very nice , We would come again ( though hopefully the dining room staff will have had lessons to be more nicer to guests )

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christopher e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Just got back from Fiesta castell playa, 12 May to 26 May, Firstly the flight was quick and so was the transfer,except I wish Thomson's would'nt use the old First Chiose plains. On first glance the hotel look't great but it was a bit dated, bedrooms were basic with a few frills,The wiaters were great and so was the food,breakfast outstanding. Entertainment,well, the resident duo, right out of working men's clubs in Newcasel, the resident so called entertainers one littel girl dancing and prancing, one fella attension seeking look at me type of gay up's sorry I ment guy, as for the profesional act's,no sorry I did'nt see any, but what turned up was ok, the location is ok with great vews and great beech,but a bit hilly for the elderly. This hotel is ok BUT it has some health & safty issuse look out for wet patches on the marbel stairs from people taking there drink's upto the bedrooms, I know I went a perla on the first night.Allso look out for flying sun shades I got one on my head the first week, the bump was like a cricketball. All in all had a few good laugh's and a few accidents but came out the other side ok, I'm 67 and I feal that I whent on holliday with my Grandparents. Do's this tell you something, Happy Holliday's. Would I go back not likely.

Room Tip: Try a seaveiw room great veiw allso quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jab2010_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear ab2010_11!
Thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased that you had a nice stay at our Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa and that you are satisfied with our waiters, food and location of the hotel. We are happy that although your small incidents that happened, you still spent nice vacations and we hope to see you again in one of our Fiesta Hotel Group resorts in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arenal d'en Castell
0.4 km away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,473 reviews
20.9 km away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 8 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
16.9 km away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Isla Paraiso
Isla Paraiso
#2 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
16.8 km away
Globales Lord Nelson
Globales Lord Nelson
#3 of 5 in Migjorn Gran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
29.9 km away
Globales Mediterrani
Globales Mediterrani
#3 of 6 in Cala Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa

Property: Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa
Address: Paseo Passarell;Arenal Castell, 07740 Arenal d'en Castell, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Arenal d'en Castell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Arenal d'en Castell
Hotel Class:3 star — Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa**** is the ideal place to spend a fabulous holiday with your couple. This totally refurbished adults only hotel is perfectly located to spend your best relaxing and romantic holidays with your other half ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa Spain/Arenal D'en Castell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing