We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arenal d'en Castell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa
Certificate of Excellence
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

This is the second time we have been to this hotel and yes it does have alot of the more mature clientel but that didnt put us off we are in our 40s the hotel is kept very clean,nothing is too much trouble for the staff they are fantastic,the food is plentiful and varied,the resident duo Double Trouble were not very good but the main acts that came on at 10pm every night made up for it, the entertainment staff Selina and Adam were very good well done you two. Ben the guide is great he is very knowledgeable on the area, well worth going on his walks,there is allways a thomson rep about who will help you in any way they can,there is sunbeds galore but if there isnt one available (which is very rare) then you just go to the lifeguard/poolside assistant who will be happy to supply one for you. Will we be going again? yes for the third time next year and i am looking forward to it xxx

Room Tip: If you like sun first thing in the morning then ask for a seaview room or if like me you prefer afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pebblesrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear pebblesrocky!
Thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased that you had a great time at our Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa. We are really happy that you are satisfied with our staff and food, as well as our entertainment. We hope to see you again at our Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa or another Fiesta Hotel Group resort/hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    696
    618
    277
    52
    30
See reviews for
170
1,248
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (835)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed end of May 2012 on the Thomson Gold all inclusive programme. Normally travel independently but wanted a week's relax after our Daughter's Wedding. Picked this hotel for it's adult only status and easy flights from Bournemouth. What a great choice! Morning flights and 30 min transfer so on the sunbed by 11:30. Room 403 was sea view (see photos) with air con. All very clean & comfortable - only small gripe was leak from shower screen. Buffet served three times a day with cooked to order as well. Every meal was excellent with some nice themed offerings most nights. The best part of our week was the EXCELLENT STAFF. Every one we came in contact with was pleasant, hard working and eager to please. Drinks by the pool - no problem - somebody would be asking regularly as they went amongst the sunbeds. Same in the Bar areas or out on the Terrace. Some of the staff I got to know their names included; Zaida, Paco, Juan, Antonio, Jose, Magda and Christina - but they were all great. Only regret was that we barely left the Hotel to look around Menorca - will do next time.

Room Tip: Sea View (cost suppliment) get morning sun - Pool View afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MarcusFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear MarcusFord!
Thank you very much for your comments. We are happy that you had a great time at our Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa. We are pleased that you were satisfied with our staff and the location of the hotel. We hope to see you again at one of the Fiesta Hotel Group resorts/hotels in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonbridgeKent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

.

Just returned from a week with my sister (We are a young 64 and she 65). Hotel staff and food excellent, but the room facilities leave a lot to be desired. The bathroom has no room for toiletries,etc. (not even a shelf or a hook in the door). The bath is very narrow, so if you are not a slim person this could be a problem. The mirror must have been designed for amazons - as it is at least 6 feet in level. The balcony is very small (even the sea view does not make up for this). There is a dirth of drawers for underwear, etc. Only a wardrobe with the door pull hanging off.
You are not allowed to take drinks back to your room. There is a deposit for pool towels and even the remote for the TV (even if you are all inclusive). You have to sign for everything on all inclusive which gets to be a bit of a bore when you just order a coffee.

The safety in the hotel leaves a bit to be desired in public areas. Specifically when you want to get down to reception from the bar on the first floor, you have to use stairs which have no handrail and it is quite a precarious operation to get down safely. Also on the day of leaving we had to cart our cases physically down three flights of stairs as all three lifts were constantly filled with people going to the restaurant. Not a good thing for pensioners! (even fit ones like us)
The pool is very small. Not too bad when we were there as there was an under occupation, but I would imagine if the hotel was fully booked it would be very cramped. If you wanted a swim that would be impossib le - just ok for a dip.
The professional entertainment was poor (only three times the week we were there) the rest was filled in with endless quizzes and prize giving for events during the day.
The Thomson staff worked very hard, but there is a holiday camp type atmosphere which did not appeal to us. It would be nice if there was an alternative area for entertainment like a piano bar with live music and a dancing facility.
We are not fans of piped music and would have preferred the restaurant not to have continuously played this! When eating - I like peace and quiet during mealtimes so that I can talk without having to raise my voice to whomever I am sitting next to.
The location is lovely - if you can manage steep hills. Understand there is a courtesy bus to the beach which is lovely.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jandvf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear jandvf!
Thank you very much for your comments. In terms of your feedback we would like to inform you that each room is provided with gel, shampoo, soap and other amenities. The size of the balconies are equal in all rooms and the hotel provides several stairs with handrails from the bar and lobby to go up to the rooms. We also would like to inform you that all-inclusive clients can consume as much as they want in the public areas of the hotel. Due to your feedback we can improve our services, therefore we thank you again and hope to see you again at one of our Fiesta Hotel Group resorts/hotels in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Our first visit to Menorca and from arriving at Mahon airport, when we were met by Steph and given an insight to the island en route to the hotel, we can only say our every needs were met. The staff at the hotel were always pleasant courteous and polite, even to Selina who they through in the pool!
Rooms were clean, we paid extra for a sea view and it was well worth it, and being on the 5th floor had fantastic views.
The food was excellent with a varied menu and plenty of it.
The pool area can be a little cramped and there was not enough sun shades to go around everyone.
The Thompson team of Chris,Ben,Emily,Steph,Selina and who could ever forget Adam were great. Plenty going on during the day and evening, and if that is not your scene, no need to join in.We thought the resident duo, Double Trouble were very good, and most of the acts were good except for Elvis!
Arenal is a quiet area and only a few bars for a change, but as I said earlier, a great place to chill and relax, it certainly did the business for us.

Room Tip: worth the extra for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank melanhaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear melanhaze!
Thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased that you had a nice time at our Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa. We are happy that you are satisfied with our facilities, staff, food, environment and rooms of the hotel. We hope to see you again at the Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa or at another Fiesta Hotel Group resort/hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

The hotel Fiesta Castell Playa sits on the cliff top, dominating the skyline and towering above the quit resort of Arenal. How this 7 storey monstrosity - visible for miles - ever got planning permission I cannot imagine as the village generally comprises low rise, traditional buildings. However, unsightly as it may be, due to its position and height, the hotel has outstanding views of the pristine bay and coastline. Tip: pay the extra for a room with a sea view and if you have a head for heights get one on the sixth floor (and an added bonus is that you won't have to endure the noise from inconsiderate people above you as soundproofing is poor). Rooms at the rear of the hotel have a disappointing view of the pool and countryside.
This refurbished hotel, despite the dated marble decor in the foyer, is in good order, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Most of the public areas have been refurnished this year with new, white leather chairs and settees. The standard bedrooms are a reasonable size and adequate but they could do with some attention as they are beginning to look a little tired - my bed was creaky and the shower screen leaked. However, a complaint about low pressure in the tap was remedied within the hour. The safes are very expensive, as is the wifi internet access. The themed buffet style meals are very reasonable and we were happy with the quality, quantity and variety. The carved fruit and vegetable art work was amazing.
The most impressive aspect of the Hotel were the incredibly pleasant and helpful staff and the standard of service is probably the best I have experienced anywhere in the world. A particular thank you to Jesus, the quiet lounge barman.
Love them or hate them, the two Thomson entertainment staff were hard working and friendly individuals and if you choose to sit around the crowded pool area (getting a sun lounger can prove difficult) you cannot escape the noise of their various organised activities. Similarly, it is difficult to escape the noisy evening entertainment, even in the comfortable quiet lounge where we enjoyed watching the spectacular sun sets. The resident husband and wife duo were not to our liking but some of the visiting performers were quite good. We were surprised at the number of elderly British guests and in our first week estimated that 95% plus were pensioners.
This is a Thomson Gold hotel but don't confuse Gold with exclusivity or anything out of the ordinary. This was our first 'all inclusive' holiday and although it isn't an experience we will be repeating, we thought it was good value for money.
Arenal is a very quiet resort with just a few bars and restaurants and a couple of shops. If you are looking for night life, look elsewhere!

Room Tip: Go for the 6th floor, as far from the lifts as possible, with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Steve993!
We are very happy that you had a very nice time in our resort Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa and we thank you for your comments and advice. We are pleased that you liked our food, staff, location and facilities of our hotel. Hoping you will return to the Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa or to another Fiesta Hotel Group hotel/resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

after reading some reviews i admit i was a bit worried about going to this hotel. it probably is more a 3 than a 4t hotel compared to where we have stayed before but it is first class!! service is excellent, staff are all very friendly and helpful. reps were exceptional! hotel could do with a facelift as parts of it are a bit tired looking but it is very clean. food was good, something for everybody.we stayed in a suite and the room was kept spotless. public toilets needed a wee bit more attention more often through the day but not too bad. we went for a chilled week and thats what we did, quiet area but lovely, few bars and restaurants, one irish bar but not very irish. Would go back.

Room Tip: hotel sits at the top of a hill with amazing views but not good if you struggle with mobility proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank daisyscotland12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear daisyscotland12!
We are very happy that you had a very nice time in our resort Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa and we thank you for your comments and advice. We are pleased that you liked our food, staff and location of our hotel. Hoping you will return to the Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa or to another Fiesta Hotel Group hotel/resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Arrival at Mahon airport was a pleasure best airport we have been to, we couldnt find any Thomson Staff for our welcome to advise on which coach we were on, we had to go to the Thomson customer service desk and wait whilst a rep finished talking on the phone. he then shouted to the back room for someone to come out and greet us. There seems to be utter chaos in despatching the coaches to the various hotels, we were all loaded and waiting to go but were last to be despatched 20mins we sat in a hot sweltering coach and watched whilst every other coach was loaded and despatched.. its upto the Thomson airport manager which coach goes first apparently...not sure how, he was sitting in an office on the other side of airport, but the reps were all young people more interested in getting back into the customer service office for tea and a laugh than organising the departures i an orderly way.
We booked a Suite which had sea view & an attached lounge with bed settee & extra TV. The furniture was very basic & dated, the fridge smelled horrible. The bed settee was unusable, the springs had seen better days very poor the so called comfortable suit lounge had two sit up chairs to watch the TV the bed settee was gruby and uncomfotable. The suite rooms are located on the resteraunt side of the hotel first room on each floor, we could here the lifts up and down all night, bar doesnt close until 1am so be prepared to hear the lifts till then. An iron & board is supplied in room, The iron was unusable it was burnt on the ironing face. The beds i think were supplied by FRED FLINSTONE weve never slept on such hard beds.The Suite option definately not worth the money. The room was cleaned everyday but after there was leftover long black head hair on the floors, obviously shedded from the cleaner.
The quiet lounge...no such thing, there is a TV at both ends of this lovely comfortable lounge so if you like constant football football football then this is for you, but dont expect a quiet drink & chat the loud echo of the cheapo entertainment from the upstairs club room and the TV's blaring football its impossible. You need to add 30 mins wasted time to your holiday as the restraunt never opened on time the 3 times a day 7 days a week we were there, join the queue & stand an wait. Blaring music from the pool all day long,Towels on sunbeds reps only glance round quickly to check and do not walk round pool to check, they seem reluctant to carry out the hotel rules saying towels will be removed from unattended bed before 10am...not enough beds for everone. If you want a Butlins type fun & games holiday with Thomson reps belowing out orders and quiz games then this is for you. Hotel staff excellent polite helpfull .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank menocafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FiestaHotelGroup_FHG, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear menocafan!
Thank you very much for your comments and advice. We are happy that you are satisfied with the staff of the hotel. We would like to inform you that we have suites on the other side of the complex where it is quieter to spend more relaxing holidays. Furthermore we have already discussed the problem concerning the cleaning with our personal. Towels will be removed from the sunbeds if there are no clients there in order to make it possible for other clients to use our facilities. We thank you again for your help in order to improve our services. We hope to see you again at one of the Fiesta Hotel Group resorts/hotels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arenal d'en Castell
0.6 km away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
20.9 km away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.1 km away
Isla Paraiso
Isla Paraiso
#2 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 km away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
29.8 km away
Globales Mediterrani
Globales Mediterrani
#2 of 6 in Cala Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
16.9 km away
Globales Lord Nelson
Globales Lord Nelson
#3 of 5 in Migjorn Gran
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa

Property: Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa
Address: Paseo Passarell;Arenal Castell, 07740 Arenal d'en Castell, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Arenal d'en Castell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Arenal d'en Castell
Hotel Class:3 star — Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa**** is the ideal place to spend a fabulous holiday with your couple. This totally refurbished adults only hotel is perfectly located to spend your best relaxing and romantic holidays with your other half ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fiesta Hotel Castell Playa Spain/Arenal D'en Castell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing