We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing complex”
Review of Winter Gardens

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golf del Sur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Winter Gardens
motherwell
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“amazing complex”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Hi I have stayed at various winter gardens apartments approximately 4 times in the last year. I am a 49 something party animal and the resort and the apartments is the best l have stayed in a beautiful village with great nightly entertainment at volare across the road. I would recommend these apartments to anyone

Room Tip: avoid any with bad comments
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jacquimotherwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    6
    5
    2
    8
See reviews for
26
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We returned this morning from 2 weeks at the above apartment. We were very disappointed. We booked through Bonusweeks.net with whom we have travelled before and been very satisfied. We arrived early one evening to find no reception and no one to meet us. The greeter from the local restaurant (we felt she had probably done this before as she turned straight to his number) phoned "Tony" who eventually arrived and took us to the apartment. At first all seemed well although we were a little perturbed when told there was no gym (booked on the promise that there was one on site and borne out by official web site) and that there was no dishwasher. However we soon realised how dirty the whole apartment was and poorly maintained. There was black scale on all the plumbing; my husband had to fit a new light bulb in one of the bedrooms as soon as we arrived; the whole place was thick with dust; the crockery and glassware all felt grimy; the balcony door was missing a handle; the extraction fan was missing controls; the cooker hob had a ring which didn't work; the microwave worked only spasmodically; the mattress in the master bedroom was very ancient with springs poking through; there was mismatched furniture on the balcony and roof terrace; despite sleeping six there were only four dining chairs; cooking utensils were mismatched and broken; the TV faded in and out - shall I continue? However we did have our towels and bed linen changed after a week (although I did have to ring the afore mentioned Tony to remind him) and the roof terrace made drying washing easy).

The complex itself was well maintained and the swimming pool exceptionally good. We did not receive any complaints about our four lively teenagers but did however feel a distinct coolness from the residents. However as there is a notice clearly stating that it is illegal to let out apartments to anyone other than family and friends this is in some ways understandable. The resort of Golf del Sur is a bit of a dump with nothing much to recommend however the Rendezvous restaurant in Winter Gardens is exceptional and not to be missed. A car is not necessary - an excellent bus service is available from just outside the complex. Make sure that you visit El Medana, a lovely lively little resort ten minutes from Golf Sur, dolphin and whale spotting is a must from Los Christianos and a visit to Mount Tiede essential. We had a good holiday overall and did not let the poor quality of our accommodation spoil it. However I will be writing to complain, would not recommend Winter Gardens nor will be returning to Golf del Sur. But Tenerife is lovely and I would like to return there but next time stay in the type of place I have become used to!

Room Tip: Don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank greenbeavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Just returned from promotional week stay in the Winter Gardens, very disappointed. Eventually tracked down person (Management Company) on the telephone (initially given wrong number - resident gave us correct one) after trailing up and down ramps with suitcases and golf clubs to give us our key (no reception) was shown to apartment. Block 5 - Apartment 87. Advised that there was no maid service it was a self contained flat (first we had been advised about this) - shown washing machine so that we could wash towels and bed linen!!!. Had to wash all outside furniture and sunbeds - do not go on holiday to do cleaning and washing. Please note we were staying in someone's own flat which was another shock to us. Next problem web site shows Golf Shop - no golf shop as advised by people in Bowling Shop - what discount do we get on golf (as shown on Web Site) - no discount. It would appear that bowling is only sport complex is interested in even although web site states golf and bowling. Bottom line if you do not like the idea of staying in someone's apartment, surrounded by their furniture and bits and pieces and do not want to carry on your housework chores from home (you go on holiday to get a rest for that) do not stay at the Winter Gardens. Also if people are renting out their apartments they should keep them to a respectable standard, the one we were staying in needed the two bathrooms ripped out, bath, shower and toilets badly stained with the water, bath and shower both had bad black staining and toilets black staining at water level.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I recently had a management reply about a specific Winter gardens apt review. In the reply it was suggested I had an agenda with the management company regarding my complaint. At no point were my list of complaints acknowledged let alone dealt with in a cosidered professional manner that you would expect from a holiday rental company, the management were simply dismissive and defensive of their initial response.
My point is, do yourself a favour and stay well away from British run holiday rental companies especially at Winter Gardens and the Golf Del Sur as a whole. These people generally have no travel or hospitality experience and clearly could not care less about your experience, especially when you are back home and £400 worse off. Further to this residencial complexes such as Winter Gardens are not very welcoming to "outsiders" particularly families with young children. They are communities of mainly British ex-pats who privately own many apts. so therefore expect the pool, restaurant etc. to be solely at their disposal and not to used by us common holidaymakers. Winter Gardens in particular during the winter months has a high occupation of owners that play in the various bowls leagues. These people are predominately elderly and you get a real sense that you dont belong there on holiday whilst they are in attendance. Gods waiting room springs to mind.
Dear fellow traveller Tenerife is a stunning beautiful island please spend your hard earned money elsewhere, further down the coast maybe at the family friendly Los Cristianos or the gorgeous luxury of Del Duque for couples. If you are not playing golf avoid the Golf Del Sur in general. It is scattered with unfinished building projects and littered with ailing busines' in its one and only commercial centre, although one or two good restaurants exist if you have the time to find them.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Murdock555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnehurst Kent England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We had the misfortune to stay in number 73, we arrived at an appartment that had no electric (for 24hrs) as the bill had not been payed, I am not sure if this had any relation to the appartment not being cleaned properly but the walls of the kitchen behind the hob were covered in food speks, there were a family of small black bugs living in the kitchen and for accomodation that sleeps six five garden chairs and one outside table that could only fit four was not adequate and so we had to eat out.

The pool area is nice but the sight of children is deffinetly an unwelcome sight for the residence, the children were made to feel very unwelcome and apart from the small pool there is absolutely nothing to do, my two boys 12 and 8 were playing wall ball one day and the next thing I have the residence association banging on my door explaining that a ball is not welcome at this complex and I should have read the rules (which I did not get), after a heated discussion it was made clear children were not welcome and the rules of Winter Gardens that are posted on the notice board clearly states that the owners of these properties are not allowed to rent them out,

Mr Residence Association also made it clear that at the next meeting they already have a no children policy penciled in for discussion.

Please Please Please if you are a fun loving person who goes on holiday to have fun with your family avioid this place at all costs, Los Cristianos is a lot nicer area with more bars, shops and a nice beach.

I hope you find this very useful.

Regards

P.S. We used the Orange Bus Company for transfers and they were brilliant.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Golfgolggolfgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We have just returned from a week staying at Winter Gardens in Tenerife. Firstly, I will say this was a promotional week where we had been told that it was a child-friendly, lively resort. We read other reviews and looked at pictures and all seemed well. Unfortunately, this was the case but only if you are retired, a permanent resident, grumpy, rude and very old. We arrived to be given (on first impression) a nice 3 bedroom apartment (number 73), however, after looking more closely the place was actually filthy dirty, even had hundreds of little black bugs walking all over the kitchen surfaces, even though we tried to remove daily, they seemed to return in mass. For the first 24 hours we had no electricity, we were moved temporarily to another apartment (equally as bad, however did have lights) but next morning had to return to original apartment, still waiting for electricity to be turned back on. Apparently the owner had not paid the bill. Our apartment also did not have a table to eat on and the settee come sofa bed was not only filthy but threadbare with missing springs. I daren't open it up, god knows what I may have found. We also didn't have any hot water for 5 days.

This resort has no reception at all, so once arrive you are completely on your own. Not even anywhere to leave luggage or ask any questions.

We had seen pictures of kids playing in child swimming pool, however, when my son (8) jumped in the pool, immediately he was frowned upon by the 8 sunbathers. It was like a scene out of Chitty Chitty Bang Bang with the child catcher. Then when he dared to kick a football, well all hell broke loose, you would have thought he had committed murder. We were told, very rudely, that they were trying to ban all children. I wouldn't have minded but the weather was bad so no one else was using the pool, he hadn't even dared get any inflatables out or a water gun (although I must admit I was tempted myself to have a bit of fun with that). This was half-term so we hadn't expected this kind of response.

The area is okay, although not much choice in the way of restaurants and it is alot colder and more windy than other areas.

The bowling green looked fun and although they advertise it on big billboards that ages from 8 upwards were welcome, trust me this is not the case. We weren't even made to feel welcome buying a drink from the bar - again, you would have thought that children were aliens.

If you are very old, miserable and enjoy the living dead then this is the resort for you. Only positive is the bus stop right outside.

Avoid if you have a life and value good hygiene!

Room Tip: Most have good views and balcony but don't be fooled by booking a penthouse - not quite what you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Family240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hengelo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We arrived later than expected but that wasn't a problem - the key was put into a keylock next to the door and we had received the code through email beforehand.

The apartment was huge. A very spatious livingroom, 2 bathrooms (one with bathtub, toilet and sink, the other with shower, toilet and sink), a very well equipped kitchen (microwave, dishwasher, washingmachine, good sized refridgerator, oven, toaster, waterboiler), 2 bedrooms (one with a double bed, one with 2 single beds) and a huge covered terrace with seating for 6 + 2 sunbeds with padded matrasses. All windows and also the door to the terrace had insectdoors. Lots of closet/drawer space available.

There was lots of stuff left for us to use in the apartment like dishwasher tablets, cleaning appliances, ironingboard, hairdryer, lots of leaflets, books, CDs and even some beachtoys for the children.

The complex itself has a bar/restaurant and an unheated pool (which was too chilly for my husband and myself but the children didn't seem to care, they had a great time).
It's visited mostly by (british) elder couples and families with children, making it quiet at night.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Simone E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golf del Sur
0.2 km away
Apartamentos Gema Aguamarina Golf
0.2 km away
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and Spa
Grand Muthu Golf Plaza Hotel and...
#6 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
1,666 reviews
0.9 km away
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
Vincci Tenerife Golf Hotel
#2 of 4 in Golf del Sur
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & ...
#1 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
4,652 reviews
0.3 km away
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
#3 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
1,972 reviews
0.1 km away
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
Muthu Royal Park Albatros
#8 of 13 in San Miguel de Abona
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winter Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Gardens

Property: Winter Gardens
Address: 25295 Golf del Sur, Golf del Sur, San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona > Golf del Sur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Golf del Sur
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Winter Gardens Hotel Golf Del Sur
Winter Gardens Tenerife/Golf Del Sur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing