We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed????”
Review of Pen'Roc Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pen'Roc Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chateaubourg
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We love this hotel and for many years stayed on first night of holiday en route to Basque but can't get in touch. Heated outdoor pool, spa, lovely rooms and staff and gorgeous breakfasts. Does anyone know if it's closed down?

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

It was over ten years ago when we stayed at the PenRoc. Our stay was fantastic!!! The first night in the restaurant, the wife of the owner recommended a wine that was beyound excellent!! They have 2 Michellin stars - should be three or more!!!! The food is to die for!!!

The owners are as friendly as can be and a stay there is a great experience!!!

Room Tip: They are located on the site of a dicovered religious artifact - the nearby church rings the bells o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank talon6904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Had a truly lovely stay here while on a road trip with my mother through Europe. The room was smaller but very comfortable, with a very cushy bed to boot! The restaurant here is amazing! One of the best meals we had on our trip (and we ate many!). A great place to stay if you are travelling through France. Easy drives to all of the beautiful areas around Brittany.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank silverinc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed here for three nights as part of a touring holiday . From the outset all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful with the owner taking the time to ensure we were well looked after . The restaurant staff and the meals were one of the highlights of our French holiday and we looked forward to the experience every evening . We booked a room with a balcony which provided everything we required and although it could be argued that parts of the Hotel would benefit from some upgrading this in no way detracted from one of our most enjoyably stays in France over many years .

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelboy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stumbled upon Pen Roc as we were searching for a hotel betwen Brest & Paris. It was a sunday and we were looking for a family room. Pen Roc didn't have any family rooms but gave us a good deal on two rooms connecting. There was a strange smell in the hallway and the only other time i've smelt that same smell is when a rat had died and decomposed. Oh well we thought its a michelin star the food will be great .... Big mistake!! Food that should be hot was lke warm and the ice cream that was our childrens pudding was nearly melted when it arrived. Very Very poor -- And very expensive - For two steaks and two bowls of soup + 3 ice creams and a tart tatin . I had two bottle of local beer every else had water. 180 euros.. When i complained in the morning they said " well you got a good rate on the room" . Not impressed. At breakfast there were flys all over the cheese and jams. I left very angry and dissapointed. I don't mind paying for good food but paying for crap like they served made my blood boil.

Room Tip: Don't expect great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kieran O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

This hotel has the potential to be a wonderful treat in the midst of the French countryside. Unfortunately, it is in a very poor state of repair and is not helped by the bizarre mix of furniture, wallpaper and paint themes that are a mix of old French, Scottish, post-modern Berlin and Holiday Inn. They might be able to get away with it if the place was in a better state of repair but scuffing of wallpaper has caused it to wear away, there is a worrying dent in the wooden floor on the way to the spa and the outdoor pool is full of leaves. Everywhere you look there is badly finger-marked paint and worn carpet.

Our room was not particularly clean (it was not that dirty but there were finger marks over all of the reflective surfaces and it just felt very unloved), it was badly designed with little space for hanging clothes and there was an odd design feature on the edge of the bath that ensured you flooded the bathroom floor when you took a shower no matter how you placed the curtain.

The spa felt equally uncared for with worn cushions on loungers, leaves all over the patio (not in a stylish or sophisticated French way) and the outdoor pool was a perfect temperature but full of dead flies and leaves.

The restaurant is superb. The meal and wines we had were excellent. The restaurant staff were friendly, knowledgable and thoughtful. The food was superb and the hotel's chef is a real find. The chef still clearly likes presenting food in a 1980s style but it tastes superb. The hotel is worth a visit for the restaurant.

However, it is not cheap and the value for money is somewhat questionable when considering the price of the rooms and the fee charged for using the pool and spa. Best part was that the spa's therapist was on holiday - so no treatments. Brilliant. Welcome to a different world.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerryMinuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Delightful hotel with most helpful and service orientated staff you could hope for. Given the price, was surprised that the room was as big as it was and had aircon. Food was amazing. Madam is gorgeous and Monseur an absolute car nut so expect plenty of visiting Jags, Astons, Bentley's etc.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triple777uk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chateaubourg
Saint Hélier
Le Saint-Antoine Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Parcheminerie Toussaints
Balthazar Hotel and Spa MGallery Rennes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ar Milin
#1 of 2 in Chateaubourg
155 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Pen'Roc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen'Roc Hotel

Address: La Peiniere-en-Saint-Didier, 35221 Chateaubourg, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Chateaubourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chateaubourg
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen'Roc Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pen'Roc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen Roc Hotel Chateaubourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing