We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“King/Queen of the Castle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau de la Fleunie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2016

We spent a dream week here.
Stayed in the main Chateau, with a modern bathroom and a large traditional chateau bedroom. Found the bar area to be a great place to cozy into a big chair, sometimes by a huge fireplace, where we could read newspapers on our iPads or visit with other multi-national guests without needing to buy a drink.
Location was perfect for our planned excursions along the Dordogne and the VEZERE, canoeing, touring caves, and just relishing quaint towns and towering castles.
But the dining room was the best news of all--fabulous multi-course dinners with traditional peridordian recipes (fois gras, magrets...) and marvelous wines to try available every night, served by a staff who made us feel like King and Queen of the castle. I recently developed an acute allergy to gluten. The charming dining room manager, Thibault, would let me know exactly what worked for me, what could be modified to work, and what was off limits. They even brought in delicious gluten-free rolls for dinner and a whole selection of products for breakfast.
Quite a memorable experience! We must go back!!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2016

The chateau is small as chateaux go, but that's not the attraction here. The setting, to be sure, is quite nice. At the end of a road that goes through a tiny hamlet, the castle sits at the base of a small hill, so it is very quiet and peaceful. The real treat for us, though, was the food. We are not foodies who frequent only two and three star restaurants, but we have eaten at many very good restaurants. The two nights we stayed at the castle we ate like royalty, with complex sauces complimenting fine meats and seafood. Pork and langostino never tasted so good. We walked it off the next day by going out to the highway, about a four mile round trip. It was warm that day, so we finished in the pool, which is quite large. We stayed in the terrace, probably the only guests in that building. The room was quite comfortable and likely bigger than those in the castle.

Room Tip: The terrace rooms all looked out on a quiet meadow, and the walk to the chateau took just a minute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank callaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique P, Gérant at Chateau de la Fleunie, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016

We stayed here as a special treat while visiting the Lascaux. The staff was very friendly and the restaurant was was amazing. The staff helped set up tickets for Lascaux for us so that we didn't have to wait in line. We decided to eat dinner at the restaurant based on reviews and it did not disappoint. The food was great and the price very reasonable (at least compared to city prices for something comparable). We suggest asking for table on the patio if the weather is agreeable. The hotel rooms themselves are a little dated and the could use an update...the place was renovated in the 1980s and it definitely shows. If the place wasn't a renovated Chateau we wouldn't recommend the place, particularly not at the £250/$360 per night rate we paid. The internet wasn't great, which I chalk up to 2 foot stone walls although they oddly ration access--you have to ask for a code at the front desk and its good for only one device. The reaction when we asked for a second code was strong; you'd have thought we were asking for them to whip up a soufflé at 2 in the morning. Of course you don't go here for the internet. But at the end of the day, its a wonderful Chateau with a great pool and beautiful grounds. Besides the pool there were sheep and goats on the property that kept the kids fully entertained after we visited Lascaux.

We came with two kids--11 and 7--and partly chose it for the 7-year old girl as she is going through a princess stage right now. They were great at accommodating the kids and there were other families there but I wouldn't say its a "family" hotel. Most of the other guests were mid-aged or older couples and children there were all very respectful (hopefully the other guests agreed and would say the same about our kids). Translation: this isn't a Disney hotel.

Room Tip: Check out the website and look at the pictures as you book your specific room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_and_C_Power
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique P, Gérant at Chateau de la Fleunie, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We celebrated our Wedding at the chateau in May 2016. All the arrangements were made 1 year prior in June 2015. Half of the year we were getting ready to it and then in February Chateau informed us that the General Manager of the chateau who was suppose to organize everything for us and Reception manager only person who spoke English are not working anymore. Here it all started...

1. The staff don't speak proper English. All the correspondence went through Google Translate and it was so hard and bad to get an information from the hotel! The owner of the hotel doesn't speak English either.

2. Our emails were not always responded.

3. There was no replacement for the General Manager, no one could help us in organizing the Big Day of our life. We had to find everything and everybody ourselves. No responsible person for the Wedding at the chateau at all.

4. All our commitments and agreements that were made 1 year prior the Wedding date suddenly started to changing by the owner of the chateau. The chateau raised the prices for almost everything we agreed before without any reason. They tried to charge us for every single thing, every single minute the staff has to do something for us. They also wanted to charge us for bringing chairs from the ceremony to the dining hall. 2 months before the Wedding we were completely under stress and sending 4-5 emails per day with the chateau trying to persuade them not to change 1 year old commitments.

5. Food! In March we had a Dinner Tasting. The food was delicious! It was unbelievably great! We were also told that those were the tasting portions and at the day of the event the portions would be twice bigger. Therefore we decided that 2 dishes per evening will be more than enough. BUT! At the Wedding the portions were the same size as during the tasting dinner. 2 dishes were definitely not enough for people, some guests were hungry. The taste was way worse that during Dinner Tasting. Moreover I am as a Bride didn't have a chance to taste the dessert as the waiter simply said that they didn't have any more for me. Even though that we have ordered 1 portion more than the number of guests. 2 of our guests didn't come to the dinner and stayed in the rooms, but the staff said that they do not have any food left for these people. Just a simple question - where are those 2 portions which we ordered and paid money for?

6. Service is terrible - nobody speaks English, you can't even explain what you want, because nobody understood us! All waiters were rude, nobody could even help us to organize something.

7. All our flowers that were left after the wedding were used by the hotel without any permission from our side on their own event in OUR vases. When we came to the hotel to take our vases, they simply refused to give us them back, telling that it is "a tradition in France - to leave flowers to the hotel". Has anybody heard about this "Tradition"??? We had to make a scandal in order to receive our vases back!

8. When we were packing our decorations the owner of the chateau came to us, started shouting and told us: "To get out of the chateau as soon as possible!" - Unbelievable!!!

9. We left about 7-8 boxes of wine for 1 night at the restaurant where the Wedding dinner took place and on the next morning we found all these boxes empty. Without bottles! They just simply took them away! It took us about 2 hours to get some! only some! bottles back!!!

10. Chateau has weddings at there venue, but they simply do not have anything for the weddings - decoration, wedding arch, florists, decorators, musicians, etc. You will have to organize all by yourself! It is terrible, especially when you live in another country!

11. Drinks - be careful with your drinks. The chateau may change the cost per cork if you bring your own alcohol just in a month prior the event. They also took all our wine bottles on the second day which we left in the restaurant room in order to pack it in the car on the day we leave. We had to make a huge scandal in order to get our bottles of wine and champagne back. However we are still not sure if they have returned all of them.

Overall it was a very bad experience having an event at this place.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Dash_ka_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique P, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Fleunie, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016
Google Translation

:Votre commentaire s’apparente plus à un règlement de compte ; et une volonté de nuire ôtant toute valeur indicative pour nos clients. Car oui nous nous souviendrons longtemps de ce mariage russe puisque c’est bien de celui la dont il s’agit qui était une première pour nous. Je ne souhaite pas rentrer dans la polémique et je ferais pas l’étalage de vos exigences toujours nouvelles et sans vouloir payer la moindre contrepartie financière auxquelles j’ai dû mettre une limite (D’ailleurs certains de nos partenaires avec qui nous vous avions mis en contact, ont refusés de travailler pour vous)

Pas plus de votre attitude durant ce mariage, aucun respect envers notre personnel, refus de verser une caution et engagement écrit de remise de passeport que vous n’avez pas tenu, etc. etc…aucun respect des horaires que vous aviez fixé avec des dérives de 3 à 4 heures, casses, et cerise sur le gâteau convives partant sans payer la chambre. Sur ce dernier point nous vous avons envoyé un mail auquel vous ne nous avez jamais répondu alors que vous nous aviez envoyé auparavant 150 mails pour des exigences toujours nouvelles.
S’il est vrai que je ne parle ni anglais ni russe et que j’utilise Google traduction, ce n’est pas le cas de la plupart des membres de l’équipe et nous accueillons de nombreux amis anglais à l’instar du RREC (club Rolls Royce) qui a séjourné au château plus d’une semaine et dont certains membres ont déjà réservé leur futur séjour.
Sur les 400 derniers mariages effectués à La Fleunie le vôtre fut de loin le plus difficile mais il est vrai que nous avons la chance d’avoir très majoritairement des hôtes bien éduqués.
Néanmoins, je profite de l'occasion pour remercier vos invités qui nous ont laissé leurs témoignages de félicitations et d'encouragements sur notre livre d'or et notre page facebook;
je n’ai rien à rajouter rien à enlever

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Having traveled a fair amount in France we don't generally expect lavish accommodations. We appreciate french history and customs so we found this place to be a lot of fun. We stayed in the tower room which was a bit musty and had some cobwebs but satisfied my longing to stay in a castle! I felt like I was in a fairy tale and loved our room in spite of some shortcomings.

The walls were stone and had been whitewashed to add light to the room. The toilet was in a separate closet space in the main room and the bathroom was spacious with jetted tub and shower, plenty of space to set out toiletries, good lighting and a very cool sink that sat below the window that would have drained outside had water been piped to it.

There was a desk and closet along with a free standing wardrobe for storage of clothing and luggage. We did have to carry our bags up a very narrow spiral staircase with tiny steps which was a bit precarious.

When we arrived we were met by a woman who was slightly less than enthusiastic, she showed us to our room and was only minimally conversant. But most other employees we spoke with were very friendly and helpful.

As it happened we arrived on the French Mothers Day and were invited to enjoy a special dinner in celebration. That was worth climbing stairs and finding cobwebs! The weather was rather dreary and cold while we were there so we did not spend any time at the pool but it did look very nice and inviting.

If you don't expect perfect luxury and absolute cleanliness (cobwebs) and want to have the "Castle" experience this is the place to do it. Breakfast here is fabulous and never ending! Even eggs cooked to order if you ask.

Free Wifi worked well.

Room Tip: We liked our tower room, but it looked like the carriage house rooms might be better if you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sunnshine59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique P, Gérant at Chateau de la Fleunie, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Thank you for this opinion overall positive towards our establishment. It is true that in a castle we also have some unwanted guests such as spiders and that despite our frequent passages we can't all eliminate them, but we will try to improve this point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Stayed here for seven nights.This was a beautiful chateau in a fantastic setting. The food was fine and the place had a nice bar but there were little things that, if they were there, would make this a superb place to stay. Being there for seven nights, we needed a laundry service and were surprised to find there was none! There was no fridge in the room, no safe, and no tea/coffee making facilities. The only drawers we had were in the desk table so there was nowhere to put clothes.The rooms were very varied some great, some good and some not so good. OK, it is only a three star hotel but these little extras would make it so much better.

Room Tip: Make sure you have wardrobe and drawer space in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bennySouthend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique P, Gérant at Chateau de la Fleunie, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016
Google Translation

Ce sont des services d'un 4 etoiles et avec un cout de nuitée largement supérieure.
Nous sommes ravis de voir que vous avez apprécié notre table

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016

We booked this hotel based on the wonderful pictures and previous reviews on Facebook. How disappointed we were, for what we paid for one night we could have spent a long weekend anywhere in the area. We rented a tower room, which was spacious and retained some of its character, but was spoilt with a cheap entrance door and appalling finish on the stairway walls. At this price we would have expected tea and coffee facilities, but no make do with a bottle of water. The bed was a very small double although the room could have facilitated any size bed you wanted. When shown to our room the door was opened and we were informed "this is your room",great service. At dinner we were the only English guests there, and clearly not very valued, everybody else was given their wine to taste and poured for them, our bottle was just plonked on the table. When we returned to our room there was a power cut, and we were left in the dark, with a narrow winding staircase to exit -did anybody contact us, or bring us a candle, NO NOT A MURMUR! , when I mentioned it on leaving just a shrug of the shoulders.
Breakfast was poor, very little choice, and continually running out, should have been free for whatever it was not a ridiculous 14 euros.
The grounds were overgrown and uncut, and the pool was empty, I don't think I haver ever felt so ripped off.
My only recommendation is avoid this hotel!

Room Tip: Should you make the mistake of staying here, go for the cheapest possible, it's not worth paying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Witwatersrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique P, Gérant at Chateau de la Fleunie, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2016

We gave some explanation for a long time by direct messaging your comment. It's true that the service was perturbed by a power cut of which we are not responsible. We apologized to you but we refused to answer your request in your validation of reducible price.
For us the file is closed.
Greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Condat-sur-Vezere
22.4 km away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
594 reviews
29.4 km away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
286 reviews
5.7 km away
Hotel de Bouilhac
Hotel de Bouilhac
#4 of 6 in Montignac
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 km away
Hotel Les Glycines
Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
323 reviews
3.3 km away
Manoir d'Hautegente
5.5 km away
Hostellerie La Roseraie
Hostellerie La Roseraie
#1 of 6 in Montignac
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Fleunie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Fleunie

Address: Rue d'Aubas | Chateau La Fleunie, 24570 Condat-sur-Vezere, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Condat-sur-Vezere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Condat-sur-Vezere
Price Range: C$114 - C$305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de la Fleunie 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Chateau de la Fleunie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Fleunie Hotel Condat-Sur-Vezere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing