We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (685)
Filter reviews
685 results
Traveller rating
335
230
81
30
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
230
81
30
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tirel guerin michelin star st malo a family run hotel changed hands stayed for nights room rate an excellent restaurant quality hotel sofa bed foie gras reception staff grand marnier lovely hotel nice bathroom night stay air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 685 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2015

Our fifth visit to this hotel and we will definitely be staying again. The staff at the Hotel Tirel are always so welcoming from the very start of our visit and gave us the most lovely room to stay in. The rooms and pool area were very clean. The main reason we stay here is simply the restaurant, which never fails to present the most delicious dishes and wonderful service.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hazel801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maison_Tirel_Guerin, Propriétaire at Maison Tirel-Guerin, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2015

Dear Hazel
thank you for your kind comment,
we are delighted to read your kind comments, and are looking forward to welcoming you again soon, Take care,
Chantal. D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2015 via mobile

Over the last 25 years we have been regular visitors to the hotel although we have not been for the last few years and this time we were rather disappointed with seeing the hotel has not had any recent investment in terms of redecoration or refurbishment and we found our stay to be quite uncomfortable, particularly with the bed. The staff were not very welcoming to us and were rather aloof and the hotel lacks atmosphere. This made us very sad given we are returning guests who even had our wedding reception here. Such a disappointment.

The pool and hot tub needs refurbishing and the levels of chlorine were so high it made our eyes, nose and throats sting. The pool towels are clearly old yellowing bath towels that are so small they hardly cover you.

The cost of the breakfast is extortionate at €17 per person for essentially a continental breakfast with no service.

I will think twice before choosing to stay here again and I am more than likely going to stay elsewhere as I think I wish to keep the happy memories of our wedding reception in my mind and forget our recent stay. Overall disappointing.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Inspector D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maison_Tirel_Guerin, Propriétaire at Maison Tirel-Guerin, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2015

Dear Hotel Inspector Dora,
we are disappointed and do not agree on your comments, you mention no refurbishments having been done in the last years, the conservatory, the front room, the garden room and the reception room have been redecorated, the three latest only last year, if they do not match your taste, please accept our apologies, and will make sure we send you a colour chart next time. Staff welcomes every guest the same way, but keep in mind the staff you knew has either retired by now and the new team may not know you.
Chlorine in the swimming pool is controlled by an automated machine, controlled by a governmental agency and is needed.... see my drift? Teh cost of brekfast is about the same cost as almost everywhere around the place here for the same quantity of food and variety.
You were so disappointed and we see why, however, do keep in mind the hotel was sold five years ago, and people here do not know you... things are always better in our souvenirs.
sincerely Yours, Chantal Duval owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2015

Birthday celebration break from the UK. Stayed here - very welcoming staff and overall a lovely place. Very posh menu in the restaurant however the food was delicious. Rooms are ok, nothing amazing, our was a deluxe however there was no fridge/minibar or tea/coffee making facilities. Its either to cater for french clientele who "don't do that" or a way increase revenue by making you buy from the bar / room service. The wifi is just acceptable - in the rooms it was dreadfully slow, my phone was quicker to load web pages on 3G. Maybe thats deliberate, who knows - its certainly not a deal breaker.

Really close to St Malo but off the beaten track so ideal for the ferry.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSpillsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maison_Tirel_Guerin, Propriétaire at Maison Tirel-Guerin, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2015

Dear Sir,
many thanks for you kind comment, We are sorry about the wifi, unfortunately the bandwidth we suscribe to is the maximum we can get here in the country side... optical fiber is on the way. regarding tea or coffee and or minibar they are available in some categories of room, but you can get they brought to your room by a call as you mentioned it. The restaurant and Hotel Staff wil be delighted to welcoming you again soon,
Sincerely Yours,
PasCal Duval.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2015

We arrived by ferry arriving at St Marlow and drove direct to this Hotel with a group from our Car Tour and enjoyed a very good continental breakfast in a private dining room. The food was very good and the staff were very helpful. There is plenty of parking.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2015

Nearby the station of Saint-Meloir-des-Ondes you have Maison Tirel-Guerin a nice well kept Hotel with 4 stars. The location on a busy road and the station is a little bit pity because the hotel is nice with a good service, a swimming pool and an extraordinary restaurant, for me it earns a Michelin star. So if you are in the neighborhood of Saint-Malo it's really worth to go have a dinner in Maison Tirel-Guerin

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 492eddyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maison_Tirel_Guerin, Propriétaire at Maison Tirel-Guerin, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2015
Google Translation

Cher Monsieur Eddy,
merci de votre gentil commentaire.... L' Equipe vous en remercie chaudement.
a tres bientot de vous recevoir a nouveau,
Chantal Duval.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews