We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Just as good as our last visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Costa Calero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Costa Calero
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Certificate of Excellence
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Just as good as our last visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We had a wondrful time again. The hotel hasn't changed since it is no longer in the Iberostar Group. The marina is lovely to walk around and there is a little market every week.
So much to eat and all the staff are polite and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sucgr_epsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,941
    965
    235
    60
    18
See reviews for
867
1,747
91
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,014)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel, with SAGA, for two weeks from 22nd March 2012. We first stayed in this hotel in November 2010. This is an excellent hotel, with very good food quality and choice. Recommended. This time we were put on the ground floor, which was better than higher up, as more front space on patio and grass. But a bit of a walk to main public rooms. I particularly liked the various games and shows run by the entertainments team. Same two guys - from Dominican Republic - who were there 18 months ago. Great fun and I played table tennis, darts, pertancque, horshoes and suffle board! Shows every night. Best to avoid school holidays as loads of kids!.... Very steep, but short walk, down to Costa Calero marina. Airport only 15 minutes away. Car hire office at reception and very reasonable price..

Room Tip: Ask for either total sea view - but may cost more - or on ground floor, but not too long a walk to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Z2251COrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Spent a week all inclusive during March and had a very relaxing time. Staff were good, nothing wrong with the reception staff as others have said, they were very polite and helpful. Well maintained hotel and room, everywhere kept clean and tidy. Food was good, varied and if anything the staff were just a little too quick in clearing away plates as soon as you finished. Piano bar has a nice atmosphere with live solo artist playing in background. Bit busy after dinner and before the entertainment bar opens. Branded drinks available on all inclusive. Only real negative is the cold pools, even the one said to be heated, which meant it was well underused by guests. Thinking of going again next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Avensis_Spirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We booked this hotel as part of a Jet2 package and we were very impressed with everything the hotel had to offer. We stayed for a week, half board, for the last week in March.

Rooms - We were allocated a room on the 2nd floor, we had requested a high-floor room, however, I am under the impression that most people request such a room, so of course, not everyones requests can be met. However, we weren't disappointed. We had a view of one of the pools and could also see the sea, it was lovely. The room was exceptionally spacious, with plenty of storage space for the 2 of us, the beds were comfy and the balcony was very spacious, with a useful drying rack. There was a full bathroom, with plenty of hot water and also a hairdryer.
Rooms were cleaned every day, to a good standard.

Hotel - As people have said before, the hotel is a large of hotel, but even when full (as it was when we were there) it never seems crowded; there are plenty sun loungers, plenty of chairs in bars etc. and the dining room, although sometimes busy, never seemed rammed with people. What we really liked about the hotel, was how peaceful it was - no loud music around the pools, just people lying in the sun, relaxing & reading - perfect for a relaxing break. The whole of the hotel is spotlessly clean and the grounds are so well tended too, they are a pleasure to walk around. Communal areas are furnished to a very high standard.

Food - Loved the food, I really don't know what some people complain about? They must be exceptionally picky as there is so much choice!
Breakfast - buffet style; bacon, sausage, every type of eggs, beans, tomatoes, fritata, toasties, pancakes, omelettes, cereals, variety of pastries, yogurts, smoothies, fruit, toast, variety of breadrolls, cold meats, cheeses and a few mornings there was cava & salmon, and if you really wanted them, you could have some chips too!!!
Dinner - Buffet style; choice of 2 soups and bread rolls each night, huge variety of starters and for mains there was always a carvery-style option, some sort of pasta dish, choice of vegetables and approx. 5/6 other main options - all of a high standard. The choice of wines were great - I can highly recommend the rose house wine - 10euros a bottle.

Evening Entertainment - Some good, some ok - we particularly enjoyed the ABBA night, lots of fun. The Piano Bar was a lovely, relaxed bar to enjoy a cocktail or two. There is also a daily entertainment programme if guests wish to partake.

Resort - Puerto Calero is a lovely chic marina resort, with a selection of restaurants and bars, there are a few small tourist shops, several designers shops and a small supermarket, which is well stocked.

Other - We hired a car through the hotel, there is a small desk for car hire near reception. We visited Famara Beach (hubby went surfing), Timanfaya, El Golfo & Papagayo. It was great to get out and explore the island, and what a lovely island it is.
We took the courtesy bus from the hotel to Puerto del Carmen. I have read several reviews where people have referried to this resort as a "dump" - I feel this is unfair. PDC is a large tourist resort, with many bars/tourist shops etc. We spent a lovely time on the exceptionally well kept beach of Playa Grande and had a lovely walk to the old town/harbour, where we enjoyed a great lunch overlooking the harbour. The prom was lovely to walk along and the whole place had a lovely, holiday feel to it. A visit to the hotel spa is a must for a relaxing few hours - 6.50eurs each.
To summarise, I think this hotel is great for any age group who want a relaxing stay in a lovely, well kept hotel. A special mention must go to all the staff, who are friendly, hardworking but never intrusive.
I hope to return to this lovely island and this hotel in the future!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TINA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Hotel in a very Good location.
Good choice of food.
Clean rooms and hotel area
Huge complex with three or four pools with nice well kept gardens.

Bad points.

Aloof reception and bar staff who are bordering on rude.
One bar open to serve the whole hotel untill after 6 pm is quite frankly a joke, You can't even get a coffee inside the hotel area if you want to read or sit inside the Hotel.
The staff will not serve you a cocktail in the one and only bar open through out the day, instead they look at you like you have two heads, and god forbid we ask for a cocktail before 6 pm. They just suggest you go to the piano bar which incidentally opens at 6pm so you have a long wait.
Hotel rooms need a good makeover unless you like 70's retro, maybe the Saga crowd may like it but not me I'm afraid.
very gaudy decor in rooms.
Shower as much use as a chocolate fire guard, try doing a handstand in the Beday you would be better off.
Room air con controls not working buttons missing!
Waiters expert at clearing your tables but not taking your drink orders . I Suppose all inclusive hotels want to take your money but limit your consumption makes good business sense but lousy holiday experience .
Nice patio seating area at the piano bar with a lovely view it's a crime that it does not open untill after 6 pm when it gets breezy and chilly.
Other bar in the pool area closed so if you are not close to the one and only bar you have a long walk for a drink.
Hotel seems to be run on minimal staff and the most minimal facilities it can get away with.

These may seem small points but they got me quite annoyed , I read the description of a Hotel and it's facilities and I expect these facilities to at least be open when I book a Hotel and arrive there.
The Hotel got quite busy and the one pool bar got so busy people were walking away without being served .
Empty mini bar in room ! Would of been nice to be able to have a beer on the balcony .
I know I'm chuntering on about the pool bar but it also had a lack of seating area to sit in the sun and even then you would come downstairs for a brew sometimes and the bingo crowd would be in there with no seating available ....
So a word of advice would be for the hotel to open the other facilities !

Room Tip: Try at least a third floor room for a view , or a ground floor room for a nice terrace patio are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank biggron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I had not been back at the hotel since the new owners took over and was a bit worried about the great standard.

No worries if anything it is better. Although it was busy there were plenty seats in the dining room and plenty serving stations at the buffet. All dishes were quickly refilled when they started to empty. The food is every bit as good with a great choice all freshly prepared.

There were plenty sun loungers which were cleaned on a rotation basis and everything was freshly painted.

The gym is now in the Spa and it is so much better although it could do with towels.

We have now been 9 times and will definately retuen

Room Tip: Sea view high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dh20281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford, england
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Amazing., one of the best hotels I have stayed at and I have stayed at a lot. Everything you could possibly need, great food, just wonderful. Enough beds for everyone, Would have got a 10/10 except for the misserable evening receptionist who looked down her glasses at every thing we said. Shame,.
Hire a car and go to Playa Blanca... very nice. Puerto Del Carman, a bit of a dump

Room Tip: ask for floor 3,4 or 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Burntbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Calero
0.8 km away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,218 reviews
13.2 km away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
7.5 km away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 93 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Lani"s Suites de Luxe
Lani"s Suites de Luxe
#1 of 93 in Puerto Del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
22.5 km away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
12.6 km away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#5 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa Calero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Calero

Property: Hotel Costa Calero
Address: Urbanizacion Puerto Calero, 35570 Puerto Calero, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Calero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puerto Calero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costa Calero 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for complete relaxation in a luxurious setting in the Canary Islands, allow yourself to be won over by the charms of the Hotel Costa Calero Talaso & SPA, a magical holiday resort built in 2004 and featuring details of Lanzarote's traditional architecture and lush tropical gardens of 27.000m2. The wonderful views of the Atlantic Ocean to be enjoyed from our delightful hotel are an invitation to rest and relaxation on Lanzarote, although we also have a modern Talaso& SPA Centre providing an active pool, Roman Baths and beauty and thalasso treatments, a new concept in spas to restore mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Costa Calero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Puerto Calero
Iberostar Hotel Costa Calero
Iberostar Costa Calero
Hotel Costa Calero Lanzarote/Puerto Calero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing