We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Pousada Colonial
Ranked #4 of 40 Sao Luis B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Old Town (Centro Histôrico) of Sao Luis is much more abandoned than I would have liked it to be, with lots of buildings remaining in ruins and many more without residents. The same kind of fate could have fallen upon any of the buildings in the area, so the simple fact that Pousada Colonial is so well kept and positively clean and beautiful is a small heroic feat. The staff were helpful and well-informed, making it a very convenient place to stay. As the Colonial is located at the edge of the Old Town, you need to walk four or five deserted blocks to come back from the center of action every night which surely is a bit eery in the late hours, but we didn't encounter any real danger after all. The rooms themselves are not special at all, but the well-ventilated public areas are what make this hotel very pleasant.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms only have windows facing the patio, so it's a privilege to stay in the rooms f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keisuked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

The inn is located at Sao Luis historical downtown, although pretty run down, many buildings are being restored at the moment.
The location is good, staff friendly, and ok breakfast. Clean and spacious room at a nice kept building. I would recommend it, though a bit pricey I would say.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anaduran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Hotel Pousada Colonial is a beautiful old building centrally located in the historic district. Rooms have A/C, fridge, free wifi. One day is enough for São Luis.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NathanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I always wanted to go to São Luis and Lençóis Maranhenses, so I decided to stay at this hotel because it was located at the historical center. When we arrived, I was really frustrated to discover how abandoned the historical center were. The receptionist warned us to avoid walk around it since it was Sunday and it could be dangerous. Since we’re from Rio de Janeiro, we thought he was over reacting. They weren’t - we felt unsafe and it was even hard to find a place to have lunch.
The hotel is almost like the historical center itself, with a huge potential, great historical heritage, but abandoned.
Breakfast was good, with traditional cakes and juices. Hotel staff is very friendly and helped me to find an “arraial” - it was the last day of June, when they celebrate the Saint John’s party with typical dance (bumba meu boi).

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MLvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

This pousada is so popular that they don't even ask for a deposit to book the room. It was enough to send an e-mail and the room was booked.
I loved the colonial style of the building and its interiors. The room was quite big, the equipment basic, but all clean and comfortable. Nice view from the window. Breakfast OK.

The receptionists were helpful, gave us city maps and advised about touristic places to see in the city + trip to Alcantara, which I had planned to see. I don't know if they speak English as I communicated with them in Portuguese. However, there are many foreign tourists in the pousada, mainly French people, so I guess they have to communicate with them somehow :)

It is very close to historic centre and best restaurants in the city, just few steps away. Location is really good.

We liked the pousada very much and would surely choose it again if we go back to Sao Luis, which is fantastic and very safe city.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brasilka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

We had high expectations based on reviews online and their website. However, even if we had done a reservations two months in advance, we were bumped to a tiny room with no window. The hotel was pretty noisy and, while well located, there is nothing in the area. On the other hand, the receptionist was extremely helpful and there is a delicious breakfast. Poor service for the cost paid.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpainSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We went there because it's often highly recommended in web forums or tourist guides but we don't thik it deserves it.
Building it's very fascinating, in colonial style but we were really disappointed about rooms, really small and unclean, expecially the bathroom. We also changed one room , but almost nothing changed, same level of cleanliness and same awful sleeping quality with a really noisy air conditioning and noises from cars / workers in the streets.
Location is quite good, it's at walking distant from the centre and to every attraction place (except for the beaches, but the best are far away from Sao Luis centre), only at night streets are really empty, so walking from the centre to the hotel (5-10 minutes) with absolutely no one around can be quite scary.
Breakfast was ok and staff was helpful, even if they don't speak English at all.
Negative thing: internet is free only if you have a laptop/smartphone, the rate to use hotel's computer is far higher than the computers downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giuraus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Luis hotels
Praia Mar Hotel
#19 of 33 in Sao Luis
258 reviews
Pousada Portas da Amazonia
#12 of 33 in Sao Luis
461 reviews
Ibis Sao Luis
#2 of 33 in Sao Luis
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada Ludovicense
#23 of 33 in Sao Luis
18 reviews
City Center
Grand Sao Luis Hotel
Grand Sao Luis Hotel
#9 of 33 in Sao Luis
690 reviews
Pousada Maramazon
#2 of 40 in Sao Luis
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pousada Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pousada Colonial

Address: Rua Afonso Pena, N0 112, Sao Luis, State of Maranhao 65010-030, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Maranhao > Sao Luis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Sao Luis
Price Range: $39 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Pousada Colonial 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Pousada Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pousada Colonial Sao Luis, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing