We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
22
44
26
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
44
26
10
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 106 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have booked this place based on the ratings here on trip advisor. After staying 4 nights in this place I am quite disappointed with this place. Either it has been overrated or there was a decline in quality recently. The mattress of my bed was worn out and way too soft. After half a night my back hurt and I had to switch from the king size main bed to the other single bed in that room. TV is not a great alternative on a rainy day, because there is no cable TV. My TV only had an aerial antenna with only one or two channels in a viewable quality. Wireless Internet exists, but is rather slow and breaks down several times per day. The quality of the breakfast is poor. Few choices and watery juices with little flavour. Cleanliness of rooms was also not to great. On a positive note the prices of the drinks in the minibar were fair.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street are quite noisy
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wbranco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2013

As all the guides say, a really clean place. Authentic colonial flavor that honors their name. Very nice staff! Quite good breakfast. And location is perfect, inside the ancient "Centro Histórico". Price is also very correct.

Room Tip: High ceilings make long stairs. But the street level does not have nice rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martinribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Old Town (Centro Histôrico) of Sao Luis is much more abandoned than I would have liked it to be, with lots of buildings remaining in ruins and many more without residents. The same kind of fate could have fallen upon any of the buildings in the area, so the simple fact that Pousada Colonial is so well kept and positively clean and beautiful is a small heroic feat. The staff were helpful and well-informed, making it a very convenient place to stay. As the Colonial is located at the edge of the Old Town, you need to walk four or five deserted blocks to come back from the center of action every night which surely is a bit eery in the late hours, but we didn't encounter any real danger after all. The rooms themselves are not special at all, but the well-ventilated public areas are what make this hotel very pleasant.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms only have windows facing the patio, so it's a privilege to stay in the rooms facing the street. Ideal for taking postcard-like pictures of the cobblestone street.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keisuked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The inn is located at Sao Luis historical downtown, although pretty run down, many buildings are being restored at the moment.
The location is good, staff friendly, and ok breakfast. Clean and spacious room at a nice kept building. I would recommend it, though a bit pricey I would say.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anaduran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Hotel Pousada Colonial is a beautiful old building centrally located in the historic district. Rooms have A/C, fridge, free wifi. One day is enough for São Luis.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NathanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews