We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Pousada Colonial
Ranked #4 of 40 Sao Luis B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We arrived on Sunday evening from Manaus and we hoped to be welcomed by the warm atmosphere of a nice pousada. Nothing of that. The receptionist was watching a football match on tv and seemed to be annoyed by our presence, the room was too small and not cozy at all. We asked for a change and luckyly they gave us another room, wider, but as gosthly as the previous one. At least clean, we must say. We do not know the level of accomodation in São Luiz, but this is a place where you cannot spend more of one night!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saracura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 10 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

I have booked this place based on the ratings here on trip advisor. After staying 4 nights in this place I am quite disappointed with this place. Either it has been overrated or there was a decline in quality recently. The mattress of my bed was worn out and way too soft. After half a night my back hurt and I had to switch from the king size main bed to the other single bed in that room. TV is not a great alternative on a rainy day, because there is no cable TV. My TV only had an aerial antenna with only one or two channels in a viewable quality. Wireless Internet exists, but is rather slow and breaks down several times per day. The quality of the breakfast is poor. Few choices and watery juices with little flavour. Cleanliness of rooms was also not to great. On a positive note the prices of the drinks in the minibar were fair.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street are quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wbranco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

As all the guides say, a really clean place. Authentic colonial flavor that honors their name. Very nice staff! Quite good breakfast. And location is perfect, inside the ancient "Centro Histórico". Price is also very correct.

Room Tip: High ceilings make long stairs. But the street level does not have nice rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martinribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Old Town (Centro Histôrico) of Sao Luis is much more abandoned than I would have liked it to be, with lots of buildings remaining in ruins and many more without residents. The same kind of fate could have fallen upon any of the buildings in the area, so the simple fact that Pousada Colonial is so well kept and positively clean and beautiful is a small heroic feat. The staff were helpful and well-informed, making it a very convenient place to stay. As the Colonial is located at the edge of the Old Town, you need to walk four or five deserted blocks to come back from the center of action every night which surely is a bit eery in the late hours, but we didn't encounter any real danger after all. The rooms themselves are not special at all, but the well-ventilated public areas are what make this hotel very pleasant.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms only have windows facing the patio, so it's a privilege to stay in the rooms f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keisuked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The inn is located at Sao Luis historical downtown, although pretty run down, many buildings are being restored at the moment.
The location is good, staff friendly, and ok breakfast. Clean and spacious room at a nice kept building. I would recommend it, though a bit pricey I would say.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anaduran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Hotel Pousada Colonial is a beautiful old building centrally located in the historic district. Rooms have A/C, fridge, free wifi. One day is enough for São Luis.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NathanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I always wanted to go to São Luis and Lençóis Maranhenses, so I decided to stay at this hotel because it was located at the historical center. When we arrived, I was really frustrated to discover how abandoned the historical center were. The receptionist warned us to avoid walk around it since it was Sunday and it could be dangerous. Since we’re from Rio de Janeiro, we thought he was over reacting. They weren’t - we felt unsafe and it was even hard to find a place to have lunch.
The hotel is almost like the historical center itself, with a huge potential, great historical heritage, but abandoned.
Breakfast was good, with traditional cakes and juices. Hotel staff is very friendly and helped me to find an “arraial” - it was the last day of June, when they celebrate the Saint John’s party with typical dance (bumba meu boi).

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MLvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Luis hotels
Praia Mar Hotel
#19 of 33 in Sao Luis
258 reviews
Pousada Portas da Amazonia
#12 of 33 in Sao Luis
461 reviews
Ibis Sao Luis
#2 of 33 in Sao Luis
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada Ludovicense
#23 of 33 in Sao Luis
18 reviews
City Center
Grand Sao Luis Hotel
Grand Sao Luis Hotel
#9 of 33 in Sao Luis
690 reviews
Pousada Maramazon
#2 of 40 in Sao Luis
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pousada Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pousada Colonial

Address: Rua Afonso Pena, N0 112, Sao Luis, State of Maranhao 65010-030, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Maranhao > Sao Luis
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Sao Luis
Price Range: $39 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Pousada Colonial 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Pousada Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pousada Colonial Sao Luis, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing