We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose some other place...”
Review of Praia Mar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Praia Mar Hotel
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Sao Luis
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Choose some other place...”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The hotel is well located - to give you an idea, the hotel's backyard is the beach (although it is a polluted beach, as are all other beaches in the city). However, the hotel desperately needs to be refurbished. There is mold growing everywhere, huge "water bubbles" on the wall due to the elevated humidity, old and stained porcelain in the bathroom, and the cleanliness of the rooms is quite questionable, to say the least. The sheets and towels had big yellow stains. It is really a pitty, because the place has potential, but it is definitely not worth the rates they charge.

Room Tip: Don'y choose any specific rooms, choose another hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan_FLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    103
    62
    21
    13
See reviews for
84
60
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

We (a couple) expected much more from this hotel, since it belongs to an international hotels chain ("Best" Western). Our room was spacious, the bathroom was OK, except for the little cockroaches that lived inside the bathroom door (as you can see in our pictures) and the space for bathing was tiny, even for a small person. The sink used to choke and the water coming from the tap in the early morning was dirty (slightly yellow). The furniture is old-fashioned and the wardrobe door used to jam. The safe was very old just like its key system, but it worked. The TV set was OK. The best thing about the room was the view (there was a balcony facing the sea).
The breakfast was good, with many options of juice, bread (including a delicious cheese-bread), cakes, etc, in a restaurant in front of the sea (nice view). The room service was good: fast and helpful. By the way, the staff was very good. Lunch was very nice, too: nice food, in taste and quantity.
The location is nice: in front of the beach, and close (by taxi) to good restaurants, malls, others beaches and other points of interest (historic centre). But it is a good idea not walking around the hotel alone (night and day).
The fitness centre was a disappointment: the equipment was old, noisy, with no maintenance. The swimming pool was clean, with a good size for the available space, but some updating of the accessories is needed.
In general the hotel needs a modernization, since it has a good location, space, staff and service. And, of course, it must get rid of the cockroaches!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrazTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sao Luis hotels

Frankenmuth, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2009

We arrived and were serviced with a smile, the staff was excellent at check in. The room was not quite what I would expected but It grew on me becaus of the price per night. The hotel is on the beach and the exterior of the hotel is aged. the interior lobby is updated and clean. The pool was great! Perfect for small childern and adults. The Pool bar staff were also very nice. Morning breakfast was great, I was used to 4-5 sar hotel breakfast bust for the value the buffet was great. (earlier to breakfast the better). I ordered room service one day, and something did not agree with me. Can't say it was the food, but the dish was beef with many mushrooms...I woud stay away from that dish if you are not use to rich food. The Room's were tiny, I had a triple 1 double bed and 2 singles, with luggage and all your stuff it soes get cramped. The hote rooms on the website does demonstrate some features.. The better rooms I am sure are more expensive ans limited. The cleaning maid did an OK job, but you need o wear you sandles/flip-flop always in the room or in the sower. The bathroom is very small and could use a reform. The water from the shower was very hard and metal smell. We had to move from the third floor to the second due to heavey rain and a small roof leak. they were very accomidating to make the move. Some of the rooms have updated Air Condtioners, I prefer them because you can control via remote. All and All the over all stay os fine for the price and I would reccomend staying in you plan on saving some money. They have a Salon and Massage, I would say it was ok for the price... 2 stars.. hotel I would rate 2 1/2 stars 4 Stars for the Price.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddavisusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

We arrived in Sao Luis without a hotel, we went to a B&B and left immediately it was so horrible, we went to an internet cafe and found the BW and booked it.

We arrived at the hotel and while it was light years better than the B&B we had been too we were disappointed. It is old, run down and out dated.

The room was ok cleanliness wise, but sparse and not at all "comfy". The beds were hard and the sheets rough. The pool was ok, but small, there is basically nothing available for lounging by the pool, the 3 lounge chairs they did have were very uncomfortable and awkward and one wsa broken. They supply absolutely nothing to sit on the beach, and the hotel is not located on the best part of the beach.

This hotel was NOT worth the money they are charging.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank shannipantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sao Luis hotels
0.4 km away
Veleiros Mar Hotel
Veleiros Mar Hotel
#17 of 33 in Sao Luis
237 reviews
1.2 km away
Brisamar Hotel Sao Luis
Brisamar Hotel Sao Luis
#6 of 33 in Sao Luis
509 reviews
3.4 km away
Costa Atlantico Hotel
Costa Atlantico Hotel
#21 of 33 in Sao Luis
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Litoranea Praia Hotel
Litoranea Praia Hotel
#5 of 33 in Sao Luis
235 reviews
1.3 km away
Premier Hotel
Premier Hotel
#4 of 33 in Sao Luis
435 reviews
1.1 km away
Soft Inn Sao Luis
Soft Inn Sao Luis
#16 of 33 in Sao Luis
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praia Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praia Mar Hotel

Property: Praia Mar Hotel
Address: Avenue Sao Marcos, Quadra Comercial Number 04 s/n | Ponta da Areia, Sao Luis, State of Maranhao 65073-310, Brazil (Formerly Best Western Praia Mar)
Region: Brazil > State of Maranhao > Sao Luis
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sao Luis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Praia Mar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Praia Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sao Luis Best Western
Praia Mar Hotel Sao Luis, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing