We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and great views”

Meat Cove Campground & Oceanside Chowder Hut
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Meat Cove
Cuisines: Canadian
Description: Meat Cove Campground is a rugged camping experience with tenting sites and cabins overlooking the Atlantic Ocean in Northern Cape Breton. Check out the many hiking trails nearby, swim at our popular beach, strike up an evening bonfire, or go kayaking and whale watching anytime during the camping season. Enjoy our free showers and WIFI.
Restaurant details
Description: Meat Cove Campground is a rugged camping experience with tenting sites and cabins overlooking the Atlantic Ocean in Northern Cape Breton. Check out the many hiking trails nearby, swim at our popular beach, strike up an evening bonfire, or go kayaking and whale watching anytime during the camping season. Enjoy our free showers and WIFI.
Reviewed November 12, 2016

I cam here 20 years ago when the road from the Meat Cove to Aspy Bay was all gravel and so It was a surprise that most of that road was paved now. Not as isolated as before we came here for a lunch meal of fish & chips and watched the sea and enjoyed the weather. The last time I was here in August 1995 I caught the sight of a pod of 50 whales in the bay below and saw a blue whale moving through the water off the bay, Not so lucky this time but this place brought back fond memories. Service for food was fast and the fish was delish!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank KidLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 104 of 251 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2016

We did not actually camp here but it sure would be a dream to! We just drove past during our visit to Meat Cove. Amazing camp sites on the cliff's edge, with stunning views. Waking up to that sunrise every morning would just take your breath away. The day we visited the winds were ideal and Meat Cove was protected but I'm sure with a sudden wind shift it's probably quite blustery but that's the gamble you take to adventure out into the wild like that. Incredible location at the most northern tip of Cape Breton.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank briiidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 4, 2016

My husband and I were in Cape Breton for 9 days and many locals suggested going to Meat Cove....so we did. We were looking forward to doing some of the hikes up there, witnessing the spectacular views everyone was telling us about, and also to having lunch at the much talked about Chowder Hut. The views were beautiful, but when we looked around and couldn't find the Chowder Hut, we asked some folks that were cleaning up the area with heavy equipment where the Chowder Hut was. Much to our surprise the owners said that we were standing where the Chowder Hut used to be, as it had burned down 3 days before. We got to see the views, which were beautiful, but we were very hungry so we didn't stay very long to enjoy them. We also didn't get to do any of the hikes as we had to travel pretty far to get a bite to eat.

For those that were thinking about visiting the Chowder Hut....it is no more, but the owners did mention that there would be a new restaurant up by next year. So those planning to visit the Cabot Trail in 2017 will have the opportunity to visit the new Chowder Hut (assuming it will have the same name). We really loved Cape Breton, so I hope to return someday and have better luck eating lunch at Meat Cove. In the meantime, those visiting Meat Cove should just pack a picnic before heading up and eat while viewing the amazing scenery.

Date of visit: September 2016
2  Thank deezee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 29, 2016 via mobile

It was a great way to make a detour on the Cabot trail, and not have to rush. Only thing with this campground, if you want a tent site, they don't reserve, it's first come. You are able to reserve a cabin, we did. No electricity, no big deal. Mattress is as hard as the rocks on the beach, lol. They don't sell beer for drinking at your campsite, if you want it at the restaurant, you drink it there.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Recgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 28, 2016 via mobile

One of the most beautiful places you will ever see. We loved every minute of our short trip to Meat Cove. Thanks Justin for making us feel welcome!

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Katelyn_y24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Meat Cove Campground & Oceanside Chowder Hut also viewed

Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Whycocomagh, Cape Breton Island
 
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
North Sydney, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Meat Cove Campground & Oceanside Chowder Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.